Ratings based on 1,868 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Central location is a plus. It's good to be near restaurants and the beach. The location next to the bridge is a minus.
Cons: Kill the cockroaches. Keep the water running.
Location: Great beach walks just across the street.
The room we saw on the Lighthouse Inn Web site and the room we got were far different. The actual room was much smaller than the room the Web site led us to believe we were getting. What's more, the room was facing the Matanzas Pass Bridge, the one bridge every single vehicle coming to Estero Island must use, and with the constant sound of traffic was possibly the noisiest room in Fort Myers Beach. And the noise of the motorcycles and muscle cars was not the only sound we were barraged with. It was either the bar around back or one or more of the guest rooms that cranked out tunes until nearly sunrise. We had to deal with constant racket, and there was no way to get a full night's rest. We awoke early to watch the sunrise. We had no running water, which was insulting enough. A big fat cockroach added insult to that injury. We swatted the cockroach into eternity and threw its carcass into the unflushable toilet. We paid a buck-eighty for this disaster. People were telling us that in the REALLY busy season that dump of a room would cost even more. Is Fort Myers Beach really THAT great that people will overpay for rooms such as ours? The pool around back was small but pleasant, and despite the unfortunate location next to the Matanzas Pass Bridge, the Lighthouse Inn IS centrally located. Great beach walks just across the street. I wouldn't recommend this place. If you want to do Fort Myers Beach, then find a place that may be a few steps off the beaten path but is quieter.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Worse than expected.

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The bed was comfortable.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Near the beach, shopping and bars/restaurants.
We didn't expect a four-star hotel since it's an older place and across the street from the beach, but we also didn't expect that the room would be so worn out. The sink and bathtub were rusty and chipped, there were tiny bugs all over the kitchen sink area (I know this is Florida and bugs are hard to control, but I've never seen them in other places we've stayed) and the "tiki bar" next to the pool blasted music until well after midnight. Unfortunately for us, our room was right by the pool. After the music finally stopped (around 2:00am), the motorcycle gang that was frequenting the bar started revving their engines for several seconds to make sure that anyone who had somehow managed to fall asleep during the music portion of the evening, could now be awakened by their childish behavior. None of this seemed to be a problem for management. On our first night there we went to that bar to try to get a drink, but the bar tender ignored us and continued to talk with a group of people and count her money at the end of the bar. After standing there for several minutes, we finally just left. The bed was okay, but there was only one small mirror over the small counter area of the bathroom sink, which made it very difficult for two people to dress in the morning. Overall, this place was not a good experience for us, but if you want to be near the beach without having to pay exorbitant prices and don't mind a loud, obnoxious bar on top of you, then this is the place for you!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fargo, ND

Could Have Been Good

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Clean - good bed - good location
Cons: Bathroom updates, water pressure & sink- the French door and full length window next to it in our room had blinds that let way too much light in.
Location: It is right next to the main bridge crossing onto Ft. Meyers Beach so easy to find. Close to main area for shopping and beach.
The staff seemed friendly at check-in. However there was no electricity, so we had to lug baggage up a stairs and then down a stairs to get to our room. It was early so we went out walking around the area. When we returned there was still no electricity and had to go to bed with the light from our phones. I was just getting to sleep when the power came back on so I had to get up and turn everything off. Woke up enough to not sleep until nearly 2 AM. When we checked out the next morning they asked how our stay was.....really? I said it was okay except for no electricity. I realize that it was not in their power to change that they had no electricity for 2/3 of the property, but they could have at least compensated with SOMETHING - if only a complimentary breakfast or an apology. On the plus side the room was clean and the bed good, but the bathroom had nowhere to set anything with having a pedestal sink. That is why I rated my stay "disappointing" - I'm sure others had a more pleasant experience and if everything worked I would recommend the Lighthouse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the beach!

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Everything! Spacious room!would have like a better view when having our drinks on the tables outside our room.thr palms would be ok
Cons: Would have enjoyed a better view of the action in the time bar....remove all trees but the palm
Location: Times Square...beach .....buses are east to use and the drivers very helpful in getting around. Lots to do!
Nice relaxing time. Lots of things going on. Fishing, Seadoo's, a ton of shopping, many restaurants with great food and service. Soft white beach sand, lots of drinks and nite life!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Choose a different place to stay

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Contacted this hotel twice about our horrible stay and received no reply. Our stay was awful there. Loud, obnoxious drunk people ALL night mixed with staff slamming bottles and trash in the dumpster while also being loud and laughing. Our wake up call at 7:09 was the same, staff throwing garbage and bottles in the dumpster directly below our steps. The lights outside were so bright that I even tried to hang towels since there was no curtains and it cut straight through the blinds. I have pics and video of all this. It was a terrible no-sleep night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach Resturants and shops

Posted Jan 28, 2017
We have stayed at light house several times because we like it so welll
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Close to the beach

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Confusing finding your room location Checked in late the map wasn't good Great staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Reasonably priced , walking distance to restauran

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Great food around the corner at beached whale , great fun at tiki bar on site .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

NEEDS UPDATING

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Tiki Bar was fun.
Cons: Updating of rooms and property.
Location: Right across the street from the beach. Close to restaurants and shopping.
Clean but needs updating. Could be a nice hotel if updates were made .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carlisle, PA

Good location to beach

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: The room should be updated to improve on comfort and security.
Location: The location was close to the beach, pier, and Times Square.
The room definitely needed an updating. We stayed in a two-bed suite; unfortunately, the room was located pool side and above the Tiki lounge. The live entertainment until the early morning hours made sleeping a challenge. We ran the microwave vent fan all night long to block the party noise and the noise from the room next to us. The bathroom was oddly arranged, and a pocket door should have been installed to keep guests from opening the door and hitting each other- if one person was coming out of the shower area and another was at the very small vanity. The hotel room itself didn't feel secure as there was no safe and the door had such a gap that an external plate was added to prevent others from using a tool to open the door. We did enjoy the close proximity to the beach and to Times Square.