Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burleson,TX

Convenient

Posted Nov 6, 2017
It was close to the restaurant we had reservations at,and Billy Bob's and shopping. When we checked in the front desk lady was on the phone speaking in a foreign language, stayed in the phone talking laid a paper on the desk for me to fill out. Went back to her desk continued to talk on phone, finally got off gave us our key. Has already processed my credit card didn't verify any information. Very unprofessional and not friendly. Went the next morning at 8am for Continental breakfast was only coffee, barely any sugar,and no one in site for any assistance. We went back to the room got our stuff, left key on desk and left. Will probably not return!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Watauga,TX

Nice but noisy

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Get rid of the rude lady at the counter and replace the TV;s with new sets that you don't have to have a "magic touch" to get them to work :-)
Location: Right in the middle of the Stockyards and all of it's nightlife and eating places. Walking distance to Billy Bobs and Stockyards Coliseum rodeo
I really wasn't expecting much after reading the previous reviews, but I didn't want to spend $250-$450 for the other hotels in the Stockyards. After getting past the rude lady at the counter, I went to my room and was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. The carpet looked new and everything was very nice, clean and well kept. The TV was an old tube type and works like an old cable TV...you have to have it on the correct channel, after you turn it on, to get a picture. The only problem with this hotel, and it is to be expected, is that it is right in the middle of numerous night clubs and the Whiskey Girl, next door has outside speakers cranked up until 2:00 AM. It's not really too bad, but there are window units and the music penetrates the room through the A/C units. Nice hot shower. All in all, a nice weekend stay during the Red Stegall Cowboy Gathering weekend. Would stay again. Be sure and have a hamburger at Hooker's Hamburgers, right next door. GREAT FOOD! Old style greasy spoon hamburgers and excellent fires with a great staff!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gonzales,tx

Great location

Posted Oct 30, 2017
It has gone way down hill and run down. Middle Eastern operators and lack of maintainable. Is a shame for an historic place in its location to be that way.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmond, OK

Worst Hotel Experience

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Fire the woman at the front desk and hire someone who has customer service training
Location: Stockyards
This was the worst hotel experience my husband and I have ever had. While the hotel looks quaint in the picture, it is really just old and run down. The best I can say is that the window unit air conditioner worked. The woman at the front desk is rude and talks on the phone all the time, making you feel that you are interrupting her. When I called to ask a question, she grunted an affirmation and then hung up on me as I was saying "Thank you." The ceiling fan in the room was missing the globe with the light bulb exposed. The paint was peeling. There is a bar/honky-tonk next door that plays extremely loud music that you can hear in the room until around 1 in the morning keeping us awake (it was a Saturday night). About 3AM we were awakened by a man and woman across the hall from us yelling at obscenities at each other for over ten minutes (we assumed they had been at the bar next door prior to returning to the room). When the cab driver dropped us off she warned us repeatedly not to go any further than the street the hotel is on because the neighborhood is unsafe. While it is convenient to the Stockyards, I would advise you to book somewhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Great Location
Cons: If they were to do a little updating, it would be a great place, but the prices would go up too.
I read all the reviews before staying, and I was not sure what to expect. The location was great, the price was great. The young man that checked us in was very nice. (the lady, not so much, but we didn't go there to make friends) The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean. We took our own coffee pot. There are no frills. We were only in town for one night, and I would stay again (for one night).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 9, 2017
It is by no means a fancy hotel, but it was comfortable. The rooms are small. 3 hooks on the wall to hang your clothes. Kind of gives you an old days nostalgic feeling. It is located within easy walking distance of all the shops and activities we enjoy. The nexdesk clerk was a bit crabby and distracted, but I'm sure she is a good person at heart.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will not stay here again...

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is in a great location but the customer service at this hotel is horrible. The lady at the front obviously does not like her job and was completely rude.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location; smallest shower ever!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The proximity to the Stockyards is AWESOME!
Cons: The front desk friendliness could be improved.
Location: Once I arrived from Dallas, I left the rental car parked for the weekend and walked everywhere I wanted to go: Stockyards, Billy Bob's, and the Rodeo!
The location of this hotel is AWESOME if you are spending all your time at the Stockyards! For the location alone, I would consider staying here again... but ONLY if I'm travelling solo again. This hotel had the smallest shower I've ever seen. It was even smaller than any cruise ship shower I've ever seen! I'm a slender gal, and I had to shut off the water just to shampoo or lather. It was rather comical for me, but a larger person would not have been amused. I parked my rental car on the street (for free) next to the hotel, and it was fine just sitting there all weekend. The front desk staff was less than friendly, but I knew to expect that based on reviews I had read prior to booking my stay. Everyone else in Fort Worth was exceptionally welcoming, so I was fine with the less than friendly reception. The room was very small, but the bed was comfortable and my sheets and (small) towels were clean and plentiful. There wasn't a dresser to put anything away in, but there were two night stands. Since it was just me, that was fine. There were 4 pegs on the wall to hang stuff up on, and there was a bench at the foot of the bed (which was perfect for all my boots). Honestly, it's the location that made the stay worth it. Plus, it was less than half the cost of the big name hotels nearby. Since I really just flew in for a concert at Billy Bob's, the room was completely tolerable. With the right attitude, one might even say it was cute and quaint!
5 out of 5
by john from Austin

vacation stay

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
was great
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels