Ratings based on 761 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC, USA

Excellent location, superb beach, nice hotel

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: The beach is superb
Cons: Food could be improved. Hotel is a little dated. Wait staff in cafeteria would clean tables but not replace silverware, very strange?
Location: Great beach, must visit paradise cove to snorkel
Nice hotel. Nothing special. The beach is what you pay for. You can snorkel straight off the beach and the water is very clear. Food is just ok. No hot water in the evening when everyone was showering, this is frustrating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Gorgeous beaches, amazing food, friendly staff

Posted Apr 30, 2016
We stayed for 6 nights at Viva Wyndham Fortuna. Beautiful grounds, incredible food, a huge pool, gorgeous beach, and a super friendly staff are at this resort. Snorkeling is easy to do at the reef 100 feet off shore. Our only complaints would be the beds and air conditioning units need updating. Otherwise, it was an incredible trip. We will be going back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beach was very nice and resort right on the beach

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: location and proximity to activities and shopping
Cons: everything was as expected
Location: there was plenty to do and nearby things
enjoyed stayed and comfort of the room and faclities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

3 Star Hotel - 4.5 star beach

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Location - beautiful beach. They 'comb' the sand every morning with a tractor. The staff. It was fun to get to know a few of them.
Cons: Mattresses, pillows, toilet paper holders attached to the wall. THE WATER TEMPERATURE! Fluctuates drastically - potential for scalding!
Location: To the left - walk to Banana Beach - knee deep water for a football field -then reef. To the right - Margarita Villa beach bar - sand floor- fun!
Please remember this is a 3 star hotel. It is an older hotel. Yes - the food at the buffet gets a little tiresome, but you're not going to starve to death. There are 3 specialty restaurants that you play the reservation game for - and of the 3 - don't waste your time at Bamboo - that one needs to go. Buffet quality food and the lighting! Who wants to eat in a blue room? Too bizarre. The hotel staff and the entertainment staff work long, hard hours - and just like anywhere - if you are nice to them - they are beyond nice to you. There are visible improvements being made - apparently the dining room was revamped - it's beautiful. I would caution those with children on the showers - the water temperature fluctuates quite drastically - from cold to scalding. The rooms could use a little spiffing, mattresses and pillows are tired, our toilet paper holder was falling off the wall - some little things like that. There is no where to put your clothes and there are not enough hangers. I saw someone strung up a clothesline on their balcony - very smart. Our TV remote only went one direction. But we didn't care. We were there to be at the beach and relax and that's exactly what we did. The bartenders make sure your drinks are strong. They should improve their mixers - the margaritas, etc were horrible. We stuck to rum and coke and whiskey and seven. There were plenty of chairs on the beach. You can walk a long distance in either direction - it's awesome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

The beach is incredible, can't beat the view!!

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: Beach, location, staff
Cons: Cleaning of the rooms; maybe some updating; reservations for restaurants shouldn't be so difficult; food selections, healthier selections; add a pool!
Location: Marketplace; Bonfire at Tanio Beach; 2 restaurants off the beach, different directions, maybe 20 min either way, but the walk is nice; airport 15 mins
Lots of positive, especially the people who worked there. Very kind and super helpful. With that said, if you're from a fast city, like us, know the people of the Bahamas are very, VERY laid back. Nothing is rushed (not even in Customs @ the airport :) The beach is clean and beautiful, and has the most beautiful view for early morning sunrises! If you go here, it's a must to get an OCEAN VIEW ROOM, not just for the view, the the "garden" rooms are stashed away and didn't look inviting at all. Serioulsy. The rooms are "clean", but not clean clean. After a day or two, you will realize you're only getting a wipe down. I did call down twice and asked for a "real" clean, and they did it. So, my suggestion is not to be shy, just ask! Food...something is always eatable at the buffet, but it's average food. Breakfast was a disappointment as I love fresh fruits, yogurt and granola.... their variety wasn't much. If you like to eat unhealthy in the morning, you'll do just fine. Lunch & dinner were average. The other 3 restaurants you do need a reservation - they are never, ever full, but it's not easy to get a reservation. It must be staff related vs # of tables they have. The food is better than buffet with not a lot of selections, so that would be difficult if you are or have a picky eater in your group. I didn't do a lot at night, so I can't comment on the entertainment. During the day, the beach was great, only 1 pool, which is so-so. Alcohol is ok :/
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, Wi

Amazing beach, great staff, and the food is okay.

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Beach is amazing, the staff is really nice, the buffet food is okay. The reservation restaurants are very good. Bar and bartenders are great, bring your own insulated jumbo mug and tip the bartenders every time you will have a great drink. Unless your really interested in a timeshare just say no to the presentation. Taxi into town $15 leave the resort, rent a car take some tours, you won't regret it. Our 3rd time here and we love the place, for the value it's a great choice unless you are snob and expect 5 star for a 3 star price. Pay extra for the ocean view worth the money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Beautiful Beach.. "so-so" rooms.

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: The beach is amazing. Perfect for long walks. Snorkeling is fun. Hobie-cat sailing was cool, too.
Cons: Sewage smell by the solar panel area - stunk every day for an entire week... We paid extra for a "deluxe room".. not so deluxe. Feels bait-n-switch.
Location: The bars on the beach were fabulous. Really friendly folks.
For those who have stayed at a TRUE all inclusive resort, you may want to prepare yourself that this resort may not fit all aspects of an "all inclusive" resort. View of the beach was awesome and the location was outstanding. Room was satisfactory. Mini-bar was not present in our room. The bedside table in the room was literally held together by packing tape... Bathroom could have been cleaner; including the tile on the shower floor was dirty from installing a soap dish - stepped in grout dust and it was stuck to my foot.. ewww.. I showered in flip flops for the rest of the week... Food options: I caution anyone who wants to visit the buffet to check the hours it is open as it is only open for a limited amount of time during breakfast, lunch, dinner. So, if you like to sleep in on your vacations, be warned that when you wake, the breakfast buffet could likely be closed. Only other breakfast/lunch food option is to visit the small beach bar for nachos, burgers (no healthy options) or to visit one of the bars off-resort. NO ROOM SERVICE (even though it is advertised as being available - BIG disappointment!). Dinner at Bamboo: Food and service was awesome! Staff was friendly. Bar staff are far more attentive to your wants if you tip them (U.S. dollars are preferred). I was not expecting this as my prior experience with all inclusive resorts was that tipping was prohibited. So, I was pretty unprepared with not having cash on me...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Great place, great value... Better than expected..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Good Resort & Does have the Hotel Feel

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff is very friendly, the entertainment staff Always had activities you can enjoy. Or just hang out at the beach and relax. Very Clean !!!
Cons: If anything, maybe the food, however it is what it is, and no one seemed mind what they had, i never heard any complaints. No one was starving.
Location: The location is perfect, the beach is clean, there are few vendors however they respect the guest. If you want to snorkel its within reach.
I have been to this resort before, and they have improved their grounds. The Pool area is so much more inviting then a few years ago. After a long flight from the West Coast and a three hour layover in Miami, as soon as you walk into the resort you are greeted with a warm smile. We arrived mid morning. Our room was not ready, so we changed into our beach wear and we were able to relax at the beach and enjoy what the resort had to offer. When we got to our room at 3:00 pm as we promised. It was clean, the bed was comfy, and a very decent size room, and very clean bathroom. I lost a light sweatshirt i had taken, i check in with the lost and found and the bell man and no one seemed to have found it. The following day i back tracked my steps and saw a young lady who was cleaning restroom where changed into my swim wear, i asked if she had found my sweatshirt. She was so sweet she had it with and her and gave it to me. I don't know where all the negative remarks come from, However if they were looking for 5 or 6 star hotel then maybe they should have booked one and paid for that type of resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

okay stay

Posted Apr 13, 2016
First off, if you don't have a time share, you get treated differently. They try to get you to sit in on a time share talk and buy one. The hotel wasn't crowded, which was nice. The pool wasn't very full. Had many options for swimming. The rooms were mediocre. The cleaning was very inconsistent. The first day we were there, the bathroom was dirty and the sheets had big stains on them. We didn't get new towels every day either. It was very frustrating having to call almost everyday to get bath towels. The food was okay. Typical buffet food. The service wasn't very friendly, unless you tipped. Once you tipped, you got good service. Overall the experience was fair. It was nice weather and nice sitting at the pool. the entertainment staff was friendly and the nightly shows were great and entertaining.