Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Rares

Superb hotel for a relaxing and pampered stay

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Superb location, spectacular coastline, great food, divine spa (according to my wife). Must try end rooms (like 209) with shower overlooking the rugged Indian Ocean coast.
5 out of 5
by Rosemary from Gauteng

Great stay

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
When we arrived there they had no knowledge of our stay. They were renovating and were not taking bookings. They immediately prepared a room and got a chef in to make dinner for us. The staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We will definitely be back as they once again proved that the client comes first.
5 out of 5
by Vasiliki Lilianne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Nicole from London

warm and elegant

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
The Plettenberg Park is extra-ordinary. It's one of the few places in the world with true magic. My second trip, and it was even better this year. The building itself is contemporary and beautiful, set high up on the cliffs with just the ocean roaring on one side and a nature reserve on the other. The food, delicious and prepared with love. It's the people that welcome you into their family with genuine kindness, happiness and humour that make it very, very hard to leave. This could be my favourite place on earth!
4 out of 5
by Joerg

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Great view of the sea below

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: View on a nice day
Cons: All technical issues: Upgrade the road and way of gaining entry, general maintenance inside and never run out of water!!!
Location: Hotel is far from everything in Plet, be prepared to do a lot of driving.
This is the no 1 rated hotel in Plet? Not to my mind, I'm sorry. Being situated on a cliff is only great when the weather is good, otherwise you are slap bang in the face of the wind and the rain. To ring for entry into the property you have to get out of your car (in our case in the rain), the dirt road isn't too well kept. On Sunday morning the hotel ran out of water halfway through my shower! Door lock didn't work. Food was good, view spectacular when the weather changed for the better. Staff very friendly, but technical staff took their time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Africa

An unforgettable experience!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: I was slightly disappointed with the food. It's not that it was bad, but for a hotel of that calibre, I would expect a more creative menu.
Location: The location is exquisite. It can get a little chilly in winter because the sun sets behind the mountains but the views are to die for.
The Plettenberg Park Hotel and Spa is a unique experience that you won't easily forget. The staff and setting are outstanding. The facilities are extremely well maintained and the spa must be experienced. Every detail has been considered and nothing is too much trouble.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
The veiw from our room was amazing. the staff was excellent. The Spa had no privacy. Transparent glass windows.The spa was very cold. No room temperature control and the electricity kept going off. The therapist was excellent. The let down for me was the food. I was served pork-I dont eat pork. Sadly I ordered fish. Gave my order 3 times to the waiter and he could not get it right. He blamed the kitchen staff.The hotel was very empty. I would have liked a gym facility.
5 out of 5
by Lynette from Rochester New York

Superb setting

Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful staff, beautiful setting, we would definitely go back
4 out of 5
by Charlie C. from Botswana

good room size, view fantastic of coast

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel needs an enclosed bar area to relax when weather is bad. Food menu needs to be more extensive. Otherwise very comfortable.