Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel, right at the beach

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Polite and helpful staff. Would go there every time I holiday on the island again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Richard, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. While we appreciate your valuable feedback with reference to our team members, location, restaurants & our beaches, we are a bit disappointed to learn of the shortcomings you experienced which resulted in not meeting your expectations and have already taken steps in Upgrading and resolving each matter as it relates to your comments . We apologize for the inconvenience caused as we pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service. We and hope to see you back some day Richard Michelin
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel is trying just misses the boat.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The staff and the cleanliness of the beach.
Cons: Fans in the pool side bars. Ice machines. A clean gym/spa.
Location: Close t shopping and restaurants.
First night had to put up with noisy broken AC unit which sounded like a phone receiver off the hook. Second night, new room, had a leaking toilet all night. No water sports offered. No beach food and drink service. Gym was gross with old rusty equipment. Whirlpool and sauna unusable due to construction and paint fumes. No ice machines, we had to go down t the restaurant for ice. The positive... All the regular staff was amazing, friendly, repsonsive and very helpful. Water and beach were very clean. Location is good for restaurants and shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Richard, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments which have been duly noted. We sincerely regret that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay. We were in the process of upgrading the Spa and gym during the period you were staying with us and do apologize that the work we were doing was disruptive to your enjoyment. We are happy that you found all the staff to be friendly responsive and very helpful and that you enjoyed the beach and our location. Best wishes Richard Michelin
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad and Tobago

Excellent beach location for a holiday.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: On the beach. Efficient, friendly room service. Comfortable room and lots of space in suite. Did not feel locked in.
Cons: More 110v outlets needed in the suite. There was just one set in the living room area. An ice machine on the floor needed. Earlier breakfast start.
Location: Ideal location on Rodney bay. Restaurants close by. Quiet streets for jogging.
Efficient and warm welcome. Friendly reception and room service staff. Sought to make stay comfortable. I was on business so I did not have the time to fully enjoy the facilities. Breakfast was tasty, especially the local fare. Could hav started earlier but staff were attentive. Remembered that I drank tea after the first day, and got that for me on the second day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Beverley, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. We are pleased to read that your room accommodation and our facilities were to your comfort and satisfaction, and you were also pleased with the customer service received from our team members. We have noted your comment with reference to having more 110 outlets in the rooms, ice machines on the floors and earlier breakfast time and you can rest assured that we are currently addressing this to ensure that we improve on this. We look forward welcoming you back next year.
5 out of 5
by Carlos

great experience

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Location and staff are its best attributes.

Posted May 22, 2017
My sister and I stayed here for St Lucia JazzFestival. The location was superb! Right on the beach, lots of restaurants and bars nearby and only a 10 min water taxi ride away from Pigeon Island. The hotel staff is also excellent. Kendall stands out in my mind, as he greeted us by name every day, and just an overall pleasant and upbeat demeanor. Breakfast offerings were a nice balance of local cuisine and your standard breakfast options (bacon,eggs, pancakes, etc). The hotel itself needs a major refresher. It felt old and dated. The patio furniture's paint was chipping and couldn't really be used unless you wanted paint all over you. And the pool loungers also need an update. Our room was clean, spacious and nicely located near the pool. However, I didn't particularly like the flowers that were placed everywhere upon check-in. They were on the bed, on all of the towels, on the tables- just overkill. Had to basically clear all of those away before we could get comfortable. Also I had an allergic reaction. My pillow smelled of mildew and had to be replaced. Overall an OK experience. However despite the great location on the beach I don't think I will stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Erin

Perfection in paradise!

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
We absolutely loved our stay at the Royal for our honeymoon. Everyone there was so friendly, and the property is gorgeous. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Delicious breakfast, and the hotel was located on the best beach in St. Lucia, but walking distance to many great restaurants and shops too. Couldn't have been happier with our choice to spend our honeymoon here!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Checks all the boxes

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Everything. Seriously though, from breakfast to the beach to the pool to the room- I couldn't expect much better.
Cons: The bathrooms, while nicely appointed sacrificed function for aesthetics. The curbless shower stall leaked and the vessel sinks were too big.
Location: Rodney Bay location is perfectly situated close to many great restaurants and walking distance from town should you need to go to the grocery store.
My wife and 11yo were extremely happy with our choice to stay at the Royal. We had a clean and spacious ground floor suite that opened to the nicely manicured courtyard about 100 feet from Reduit beach. The pool has a swim up bar and covered cushioned cabanas seen at those $$$$ high end luxury resorts.The staff was very friendly and accommodating (thank you Franklin & MacLauren) and the complimentary buffet breakfast had more to offer than you could sample all week. Situated within walking distance to many very nice restaurants in Rodney bay you won't feel isolated if you prefer to tour but is also buffered enough so that you may enjoy some secluded quiet if you wish. The beach is beautiful, the water is clear and there are many activities so you won't ever be bored. In speaking with a more seasoned St. Lucia vacationing couple the gentlemen affirmed our feelings that the Royal "checks all the boxes". I don't know why you would spend any more and If you did would you still receive all the same great amenities? I probably wouldn't even bother looking for another resort if we were to ever visit St. Lucia again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by sales manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We do try to set ourselves apart by providing consistent, friendly customer service. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we are pleased that we can be your destination of choice for future stays in St.Lucia. We really appreciate all feedbacks, and we can assure you that we will be looking into the comment you have made about with reference to bathrooms and vessel sinks and you can rest assured that we are currently addressing this to ensure that we improve on this. Your comments will certainly be passed on to our team members especially to Franklin and MacLauren who you have personally mentioned. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for the recommendation on the Royal and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back next year.
3 out of 5
by Jennifer

Not worth the price per night

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
It was ok
3 out of 5


Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was very poor. Not particularly welcoming staff except the bell boy. Were told that they do not accept AMEX, despite the in-room guide advising they accept all major credit cards. This did cause a lot of problems as was the only credit card we held. Arrived at 14:30 and room not ready at 15:30 despite the hotel being, in their words, under occupied. We were advised about the many restaurants on site later finding out that some were closed as they were in the sister hotel next door that was mysteriously closed down. First evening meal we were herded rather than directed to our table with general table service being somewhat unfriendly. After the first day the service levels improved a lot so maybe a staff rota change helped. on the 3rd 4th day the water in the room stopped working, on one occasion mid shower. Reception did not answer when we called so got no resolve. On the last day we asked for a later check out by a couple of hours as we had a night flight. They very kindly obliged but when we returned to the room from the beach to shower and pack we, again, found there was no water supply. We called to reception and were advised someone would call back, they didn't! This happened 2 more times. It took over an hour to get showered leaving us no time to have lunch before our cab arrived. Overall, great location, junior staff very pleasant and helpful, room lovely, great potential but to put it in St Lucias top 10 hotels is bonkers. We would give 3.5 stars at best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017
I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests in maintaining our high standards and exceptional customer service, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. We will look into each issue that you have noted and all areas of concerns in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies and will take all steps to ensure that this will not happen again to our valued guests. We thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and would like you to know that we appreciate your business. We hope that you will give us another chance to prove that we can provide a better experience.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Tons to do and a great breakfast buffet to get your day going.