Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Laura

great

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
our stay was amazing! it was more a house than an average apartment, really comfortable, and the staff was so kind! my family and I loved our weekend, and totally would go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Inside of condo was clean but aged. Tub in second bathroom had large split gap between it and wall. Landscape workers started very early AM and were quite loud. Outside property was well kept especially considering claenup from damage from huuricane
5 out of 5
by Arun

Large condominium

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Very good vacation - peaceful, quiet, plenty of shops/restaurants
5 out of 5
by Shengwei

Good for family vacation.

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
WIFI was unstable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

second visit - different but equally great

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Personnel, quality of accommodations, very nice facilities, lovely grounds, location
Cons: Do unplug the phone if you do not wish to receive a (charming) request to learn 'all the benefits of being a timeshare owner instead of a guest'.
Location: Close to beach with private access (yet maintains intimate feel vs being touristy), grocery, restaurants and childrens museum. Everything is bikable.
This was our second stay at Shipyard in the space of 3 months (see previous review by me for more detail on the place). Shipyard actually contains about 6 different resorts. Last time, our condo was in the Carolina Club, which had a very large jacuzzi and was very close to the outdoor playground. This time, we ended up in Egret Point, which is where the outdoor heated pool is - as well as the Health Club to which weeklong access can be obtained for a truly minimal fee. The condo was newer, fancier (granite countertop for example) and had a somewhat better layout with a jacuzzi tub in each bathroom (although slightly smaller). The view from the master was unparalleled in beauty, especially when ~100 egrets descended on the lagoon to explain its name. The dryer went out the night before thanksgiving, yet we did not suffer even a day's delay in its replacement - a lifesaver because we have a toddler in cloth diapers! The personnel were truly wonderful, in spite of the holiday, and went above and beyond to get a new unit installed and otherwise help. We haven't a complaint and cannot wait to go back (again)!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vidalia, United States of America

Great weekend

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Bike paths
Location: Next to beach.
Second stay here and again we had a great room and good service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Orbitz
A relaxed stay, nice resort facilities (heated pool, hot tub, tennis courts, club house).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfectly situated and comfortable

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: It was comfortable and well-equipped without feeling pretentious or like we had to be overly careful of 'mussing' things.
Cons: The drawers in the dresser have a penchant for falling out onto your feet. The front on one broke off after a fall, but maintenance was quick to fix.
Location: An excellent children's museum - the Sandbox - was mere blocks from the condo, and highly bikable, as were a number of wonderful restaurants.
We booked this hotel with a complete ignorance of Hilton Head based on a whim to take our daughter to the beach 'one last time' before winter. We wanted a space where we could do our own cooking sometimes - easier with a toddler than always eating out - and have easy access to the beach. The condo was spacious with generous amenities, include a large shower in the master with strong water pressure, a nice jacuzzi and full-sized washer & dryer. There were also 2 cruiser bikes per condo for complimentary use, which appeared of very good quality. (We packed our own bikes so did not try them out.) The development is gated with very friendly security/admissions personnel. The entire development was lovely with several large ponds complete with sunning turtles and gators, a well-groomed gold course, pools, and well-kept playgrounds. There were bike paths throughout the development, that were enjoyable to ride, and also direct beach access, though that stretch of beach is currently undergoing 'renourishment', so not ideal for biking. The local children's museum (see below), wonderful restaurants, a nice supermarket, and the main public beach access were all easily bikable. We plan to stay here again in future and highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place, but not what we were promised

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Our #1 concern was that the condo be all on one level as one of our travelers has cancer and is unable to handle stairs. I expressed that concern when making reservation and hotels.com rep called resort to confirm before I made reservation. When we arrived at check in desk (at 1:00am thanks to tropical storm) I asked again about the accessibility and no stairs. She said it was fine. However when we finally arrived at the villa, all bedrooms were upstairs. We had to make the best out of a bad situation, but was very upset that we were given bad information.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Once we found it, we loved it!

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Private and quiet, these villas are nestled in with single family homes and it feels very homey.
Cons: The check-in experience. I was staying with my sister for the first couple of days before the wedding, & I did a "pre-check" w/ the desk still wrong
Location: It's second from 278 and across from Wexford--in the heart of "old Hilton Head" and golf views.
Our check in was the worst part of the trip. They couldn't find our reservation through Expedia. Then they had the wrong number of days for our stay; one less than we booked. We had to pay an additional full day charge (more than the Expedia price!) and spent time wrangling with the staff to rectify it, ugh. Don't know if Expedia dropped the ball or Spinnaker did? HOWEVER- the Expedia price were best on the net and we really liked to whirlpool bath (big enough for two) and the spacious living area within the Villa. We'd book it again.