Ratings based on 381 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Great hotel in Charleston's Historic District

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Cons: See above
Location: See above
I enjoyed my stay at the Charleston Renaissance. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. Each and every staff member was polite, helpful and very nice. The food in the hotel's restaurant was very good. The hotel's fitness center was small but clean and well maintained. Their pool was very small and is more like a wading pool---not for laps. The hotel is within walking distance to the waterfront, the famous open market, historic district, great restaurants and shopping.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: location. friendly staff
Location: Great restaurants and shopping
The hotel has a great location in the center of the historic district.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, IA

Great Location

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Great location in the heart of the waterfront...fantastic staff that was a great help after a frazzled day of flight delays...if you like old renovated buildings you will love this place...absolutely amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

I love this hotel! The renovation is spectacular!

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Location Design and Comfort
Cons: Better bellman service and to have hypoallergenic pillows if the reservation specifies.
Location: Love the location! We parked the car and never used it until we drove back to Atalanta. Easy to walk to CofC, Upper King, and touristy areas.
My husband and I arrived on a Thursday evening after driving 6 hours from Atlanta. We were greeted with a smile. I absolutely love the style of this hotel. Apparently they just renovated. It is modern with a quirky twist! Interesting art, colors and decor everywhere. The Bunny wallpaper was my favorite! The hotel has a pool, and parking in a deck across the street. One can choose to self park or valet. It's $20 per day to self park. The restaurant is very nice with good food. My only disappointment was our arrival. Although we were greeted with a smile, we were not offered any help with our bags. We were told to help ourselves to the luggage cart. When we arrive to our room carrying our own luggage I found feather pillows on the bed after I has specifically requested hypoallergenic pillows in my reservation....So we had to wait around for pillows to be delivered so my husbands eyes would not be swollen shut in the morning. The luggage and pillows are nit picky things to complain about......we had a wonderful stay and the Hotel is truly nice! Great design and great location!! I will stay there again for sure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Great location, barbaric WIFI, not a good value

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Location. Bunny Wallpaper. Staff
Cons: WIFI policy. Breakfast. Beds. Sound protection.
Location: King street is right next door for shopping. There are tons of great restaurants in the area. It's easy to get to the Historic Market and Ft. Sumter
PROS - The hotel itself is really nice. I liked the room (bunny wallpaper!), the staff was very friendly and the rooftop pool was fun (but small). Also, the internet TV feature was nice. The best feature was the location. It's in the middle of downtown and easy walks to restaurants, shopping streets and historic tours (like Fort Sumter). CONS - The bed wasn't comfortable, there was no breakfast, the rooms offered little sound protection, and the WIFI wasn't free. For the prices you pay here per night, I'd honestly recommend a Holiday Inn Express over this hotel (at least until they upgrade their WIFI policy).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel in the heart of historical district

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Location and vibe. Bikes available to make up your own tour around the city
Cons: Pool and pool area could have been a little more spacious but given the area to work with it was just enough
Location: Location in the heart of Historical District. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. No need for a car
Great hotel in the heart of historical district. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Hotel was clean, decor was hip with a neo-traditional vibe. Workout facility was totally adequate. Pool was just right. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Charming city, pure Southern Charm!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Good location is the biggest perk

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The rooms are pretty average. There were more negatives than positives. Charges for wifi, parking, and our room didn't get cleaned until after 5pm. Definitely not the quality of service I would have expected for the price. Also our room was on the 3rd floor and the full length windows were overlooking the pool (literally lookin directly at it, and everyone at the pool could see into our room). There has to be something they could do (like window treatments), so it it possible to have the blinds open and some semblance of privacy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Cruces, NM

Good hotel, great location

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The location was excellent, the staff was more than hospitable, especially the housekeeping staff. The breakfasts each morning were delicious.
Cons: Communicating to guests the parking situation. I did the self park and I still paid $20 a day for parking. I was under the impression it was included.
Location: Tons of restaurants, shopping and historical sightseeing. ALL within walking distance.
I returned to visit Charleston after 23 years away and it did not disappoint. I decided to vacation with my wife and two small children. We found the accommodations very pleasing. I will say that staying in a luxury hotel with small children (2 & 5) are not the best mix, but we made the most of it and the wife was happy throughout the duration.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SouTex

Great location, but...

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, service
Cons: Room service. A/C.
Perfect location for easy walking access to best of Charleston's historic and culinary treasures. No car required. Front staff outstanding. Room struggled to stay cool in summer heat. Had to request room service two of five nights - not sure why we were simply skipped. Ultimately handled when requested, but disappointing when we returned from long day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great safe central location.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The hotel itself is very beautiful and seemed recently renovated. Of couple of things that could have made it better, we requested a crib and we're provided a pack and play. This is not the same thing and had we know we would have booked a different hotel. Our room smelled like someone had smoked in there before. The heat index in the city was around 105 and our room never felt cool!! It felt like 80 all 4 days in our room! And our hotel amenities were not explained to us when we checked in. We had no idea where anything was or if we had wifi. The staff all around was very friendly though, everyone in the city was extremely friendly!