Ratings based on 377 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bahamas

Clean and affordable

Posted May 27, 2017
Stayed at hotel 5 days for a nursing conference. Staff was extremely helpful, pleasant and showed great concern for our safety being out of town guests. Assisted with shopping, transport and dinning options. Displayed excellent teamwork.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Anishka, thank you for being our guest and taking the time to review your experience at Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - Greenway Plaza. Our goal is to provide our guests with exceptional service, so we are thrilled we were successful in doing so during your stay. Your comments have been shared with the team, and they were very appreciative of your recognition. We look forward to your next stay! Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Rooms smell, very low water pressure

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Bed was okay
Cons: Have management stay in one of the rooms on occasion, so they understand the complaints themselves.
Location: Usual restraurants that you find near most hotels; acceptable
Entered first room assigned and as opening the door this unknown smell overwhelmed me. Asked for a room change, opened the next door same smell but much less. Since I figured tollerable for over night I didn't ask to try for another. The wayer pressure was awful. Very noisy from inside ad outside noise. There was more but I don't intended to list them all.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I was disheartened to read about the problems you experienced, and I hope you will accept my sincerest apology for what transpired. My team and I are taking steps to ensure future guests do not encounter the same issues. I truly hope you will give us another chance to prove that we are committed to providing outstanding accommodations and service. We look forward to having you visit again so we can provide you with a better experience. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sf

Posted May 6, 2017
The hotel room was dirty, and service would not even bring toilet paper. They advertise breakfast and have nothing.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
First and foremost, I would like to offer you my apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. Your concerns in regard to cleanliness and service will be shared with the respective teams in an effort to improve our future guest experiences. I hope you will give us another opportunity to have you as our guest. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to medical center

Posted May 6, 2017
not very good customer service, room was a little dirty
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you had an overall nice stay and liked our location. However, we are disappointed to know you were not pleased with our service and are sorry for the inconvenience caused. Your satisfaction is important to us and we continually work to make your experience a great one. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Works in a Pinch

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: It was inexpensive, accepted pets, and had rooms available.
Cons: The sidewalk at the front entrance could use with a good pressure-washing to get rid of the stink.
Location: Located near Montrose and relatively close to downtown.
My husband and I recently had our air-conditioning die on us and were looking for an inexpensive hotel nearby that allowed dogs. Our options were a bunch of $200+ hotels in downtown or Extended Stay America, so we opted for Extended Stay. When we arrived, I walked up to the entrance, past a foul smelling exterior trash can (think "dumpster smell", but from a smaller trash can), so that wasn't great. The employee at the front desk was pleasant and welcoming, though, and the lobby was clean. We got into our room, and immediately something smelled odd: kind of spicy, but not disgustingly unpleasant. While my husband got ready for bed, I hunted around for the source of the smell, and finally found it: a trashcan beneath the kitchenette sink filled with the previous occupant's styrofoam take-out containers. Our dogs were fascinated, obviously, but we were exhausted so we ignored it. I took a shower before bed (again, our house had no AC all day, so showers were required), but the shower-head lacked pressure: the bath faucet never completely stopped running when the shower was turned on using the pull-up shower diverter. Again, we were exhausted and gross, so we shrugged it off and went to bed. The sheets and bed linens were clean, at least. I wouldn't use it for a vacation, but it worked in a pinch!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Megan, thank you for being our guest. It's nice to know you had an overall pleasant stay and that you liked our front-desk associate and the value we offer. However, we are sorry for the cleanliness issues you encountered during your visit. I am working with my housekeeping and maintenance teams to make sure all procedures are being followed so this does not happen again. We appreciate your feedback and hope the positive aspects of your visit will bring you back to our hotel in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not that great of a stay

Posted Apr 26, 2017
The rooms were small, breakfast was a granola bar or a muffin and when the coffee was gone they would not refill it. Underneath the beds there was pepperoni under one, and there was a plastic cup under another. Obviously they don't clean their rooms like they should
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations in regard to the cleanliness of your room. We strive to ensure a comfortable stay for all our guests, and we are sorry this was not your experience. We can assure you what you reported is not acceptable by our standards, and we will take steps to provide a more satisfying experience going forward. Thank you for the feedback as this helps us improve our service to future guests. It was our pleasure to have you here, and I hope you will return so we can make it up to you. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More cheap than good

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Only 2/4 of the lights in the room worked, no outlet near bedside table. Their minimal breakfast (instant oatmeal packets, packaged muffins and granola bars) was out of muffins 2/4 mornings reasonably clean, and having a decent size fridge and microwave was helpful, but I'll choose a different hotel next time I'm in the area
3 out of 5
by John

Basic hotel room

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Location is great, rooms are basic and clean, with small kitchens. Food is nonexistent but lots of restaurants within 1 mile. Always nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room.
3 out of 5
by Gerald

Probably won't return

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Tub and sink had large worn areas with no paint. Toilet flopper had to be manually operated. Bed blankets were not comfortable. Morning coffee and grab-n-go breakfast were good. Staff was very nice. Appreciated the free parking.
4 out of 5
by Terri

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels