Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Dinner was fantastic
Cons: Breakfast room was a bit chaotic; Room was a bit basic in terms of amenities.
Nice location; hotel service maturing - feels like hotel staff haven't really worked in hospitality industry before
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Historic Property.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Cons: Those accustom to the services / staff of a high end hotel maybe disappointed.
Chance to live in the home of one of the most wealthy families of the gilded age. A magnificent property and unbelievable restoration. Definitively take the tour which is always available to hotel guests. Our guide, Laura provided a great deal of information in a relaxed, unhurried manner. The location is excellent for visiting other historic properties is the area. Discount tickets may be available via the front desk. The hotel has a highly rated restaurant; however, there are many other good establishments nearby in various price ranges. The only minor negative was the bed was not as firm as I like.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long island, NY

A night in a Castle

Posted Aug 30, 2016
From the moment we stepped out of the car we felt like royalty. There's valet parking as soon as you drive in. There's even a red carpet ( that could've been for the wedding taking place). Although it took a while to check in and get our room keys, there was no one at the front desk, we used that time to check out the lobby area. The staircase is truly beautiful (it had been decorated with flowers for the wedding). We enjoyed taking pictures on it. The room was beautiful, what you would expect from a room in a castle. We got the standard room and it was enough for both of us. We were provided with plenty of towels and very thick bathrobes. When we came back from dinner, we didn't eat there, the temperature was adjusted and the bed was arranged for sleeping. They even put the complimentary water bottles on the bedside tables. The night wasn't that quiet due to the wedding. We were facing the valet area and could hear the drunk guests leaving the wedding (we were on the 4th floor). But after taking a bath, with the provided toiletries, we went to sleep on the softest pillow top bed. A little too soft for my boyfriend but perfect of me. The next day we woke up and got ready for the complimentary breakfast. It was nothing fancy. Some toast, bagels, granola and cereal, Danishes and muffins, and different types of juices and teas. They prepared a table for us. Later we found out we could order hot food but we were happy with the small stuff. Later we walked the gardens
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A night in a real mansion

Posted Aug 17, 2016
We enjoyed our one night stay in a lovely mansion in a spectacular setting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Lovely setting for a historic property.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Oheka castle is a unique property with a lot of history that becomes more apparent as you wander around. One of the jewels of the Long Island Gold Coast, it is much like Hearst castle in California - except that you can actually stay there. Gary, the owner, has invested significant money in restoring the property to its original grandeur - and he is not yet finished but it is still a beauty to behold, not unlike Skibo Castle in Scotland. An interesting aside is this is a residence in that Gary actually lives on the property and takes an interest in ensuring your stay is memorable. The adjacent country club is available to guests and is a very nice course - and a fair test for any level of player if you play the appropriate tees. While this is a castle with a glamorous past there is no requirement for formal wear - business casual is just fine for dinner etc. Many locals frequent the hotel's restaurant for lunch and dinner as it's a very nice spot to do either. Come to think of it, "Let's meet at the castle" has a nice ring to it...
4 out of 5
by Dr. Martin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Michiko from NY, US


Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Oyster Bay

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Pros: Great food and ameneties.
Cons: Carpet in room was worn, minor matter.
Location: Close to Teddy Roosevelt's home and Bridgeport Ferry.
Fairy tale castle with everything big and interesting.
5 out of 5
by Vincent from Hewlett

Our 50th.

Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
We celebrated our 50th. wedding anniversary at the Oheka Castle since both of our children had their wedding reception there. We liked the accommodations at the time which is why we made up our mind to stay there. We had a wonderful dinner and then went to the bar for a while before retiring for the night. The room was magnificent, the bed was so comfortable and the cleanliness was just suburb.
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2015 on Hotels