Ratings based on 398 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
34% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Just ok

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Ok got a good deal price wise but cigarette smell in hallways. Bathroom wasn't very clean and they left a dirty wash cloth in the sink. Hallway carpet was in need of replacement.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2017
The rooms were overpriced for what you’re getting. I don’t expect much from a cheap hotel but the people who run this place appear to have stopped caring.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

GREAT Staff, GREAT Location, Inside Hotel Needs Up

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Pleasant and helpful staff. Great location to restaurants and easy access to highway.
Cons: Upgrade the entire inside!
Location: Near lots of restaurants and easy access to shopping and highway.
The staff were wonderful and very helpful with the check in and check out. The room was clean but the rooms need some serious upgrades. The location was great with an easy on and off the highway and lots of restaurants near.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to the interstate

Posted Oct 24, 2017
the room was dirty - even my husband noticed that the room was filthy. The carpet was dirty. The fire alarm was apparently removed from the room and not replaced as the wires were hanging from the ceiling. The electrical outlet did not work in the bathroom. Yuck!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Good enough

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Good enough for a weekend stay. General maintenance and repairs are needed but room and bed were clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Keller, TX

Alright

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Cons: The air conditioning unit could need updating because it was pretty loud and it looked a little old.
This hotel was just alright. Check in was fine and then I got to my room and the air conditioning unit on hi was very loud and looking old. Also there was a weird smell in the room. I didn't spend to much time in the room as I was in town to see the Kansas City Royals play and see the city. Both staff members I came in contact with were very nice and welcoming. The free breakfast at the hotel wasn't what I expected. There was just a waffle maker, muffins, apples, bananas, apple and orange juice, coffee, cereal, milk, and oatmeal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minnesota

EH

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Amber was a shining light at the front desk. She recommended the restaurant "A little BBQ Joint" and we all thoroughly enjoyed their cooking and Gail at the restaurant fed us local info on our next stop at Harry's country club in River Market in Kansas City proper. The hotel itself is in need of updates
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right by highway 70

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Felt like I chose a hotel based off of price. Which in turn made me feel like I was staying with meth heads and prostitutes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Find somewhere else - see other review for details

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable bed. Very clean room (1st night). Easy to adjust temperature control. Decent sound proofing. One very pleasant, competent desk clerk.
Cons: Old, shabby carpet, scuffs and scratches on walls and furniture, peeling paint, broken or missing appliances. Need larger breakfast room.
Location: Lovely historic town, good restaurants. Near KC with even more sites and amenities. Die Brot Pann Bakery in Richmond (50 miles northeast)
There are two rooms with accessibility features large enough for someone to get in and around in a wheelchair. Room 139 has a standard bathtub with 2 parallel sets of horizontal grab bars 4” apart, but no vertical grab bar to hold onto climbing in and out of the tub (12-18” high).Room 138 has a large walk-in/roll-in shower with a 1” threshold which should not impede a wheelchair. There is also a large and sturdy removable shower seat and a hand-held shower with a bracket just above the horizontal grab bar. Neither room has an ADA compliant toilet – the only grab bar is a horizontal one about 18” long positioned on the side wall a few inches IN FRONT of the toilet. There are no grab bars running alongside the toilet on the side wall or on the wall behind the toilet that a person in a wheelchair could hold onto while transferring. The bed in room 138 is positioned in such a way that a wheelchair can not align for a transfer except at the bottom half of the bed. If you are able to scoot up on your butt you could eventually position your head on the pillow. The bed also blocks access to the closet alcove which might not matter since the closet rod is at the standard height and not reachable from a wheelchair. Both rooms are in an annex which is three steps up from the part with the lobby and the ramp over the stairs is not ADA compliant. There are two accessible parking spaces at the door of the annex.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Would never return here

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable bed. Very clean room (1st night). Easy to adjust temperature control. Decent sound proofing. One very pleasant, competent desk clerk.
Cons: Put drawers in the dresser.Wash room floors when dirty.Need bathroom counter space.Have working TV, Wi-Fi and key cards.Replace incompetent manager.
Location: Independence: Truman and other historic sites. Breakfast at Corner Cafe. KC: Negro League Baseball Museum, Union Cemetery, BBQ at Char Bar.
Service was awful – (aside from one very pleasant and capable desk clerk). Upon checking in, I found that I did not have a TV remote. I reported it to the manager and his response was “there should be.” I told him yes there should be but there wasn’t and his response was “there should be one around there somewhere.” So I once again informed him there was not and asked for one. The competent desk clerk delivered it. This was the pattern throughout the entire stay. No acknowledgment of problems - or outright denial - by the manager. Key cards needing to be rekeyed each night, lack of housekeeping, phone, TV, Wi-Fi not working. He shrugged it all off. When the clerk wasn't at the desk, there was a line of people to the door waiting to check in (or have their cards rekeyed) and once she returned, the manager started doing paperwork rather than assist waiting customers. Neither "Accessible" room is truly ADA compliant (more details in separate review.) The floor in one room was dirty when I checked in and just got worse as my rollater tires created black streaks across the white tile yet the floor was not washed during my stay. Didn't get my invoice at check out because the internet was down, said they'd email it but I still don't have it two days later. If I were to visit Kansas City/Independence again, and Red Roof Inn was the only available hotel, I would find another city to vacation in.