Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Very pleasant stay.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: Good location for central Duglas
I thought the hotel was more on the lines of a guest house, but it was very clean, pleasant, helpful staff and in a good location. Breakfast was vey good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but too many stairs and no lift .

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Breakfasts very good and just the right size.
Nice hotel and staff but too many stairs for older people or those with difficulties. Quite a hill up to hotel from front.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Nice clean older hotel. Very good full English breakfast. Friendly staff. Quiet Neighborhood location a few blocks from beach promenade.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Moniaive Scotland

Very nice hotel.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Good location to the town
Cons: A bigger hand basin would be nice.
Location: On this I can't help due to the stay in hospital.
Unfortunatly I was taken ill during the night but the owner of the hotel was so helpful . She arranged for a doctor to see me and I was taken to A&E and then admitted to hospital for two days. During this time she upgraded my room and transferred all my belongings. Although I only really spent one night there I shall return again, Excellent hotel and owner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

A good hotel convenient for the TT paddock.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Good hotel within walking distance of the TT paddock and Douglas town centre. Dining room doubled as lounge and bar, open for breakfast and again from 6pm until late. Rose, the owner, was most obliging and the other staff were also good. Breakfast was of a very good standard with good choice. The room was clean and spacious with en suite shower room. No lift. Outside terrace at front of hotel. Overall very acceptable. There was free on street parking, but it was not made clear that Mon-Fri it was limited to two hours during the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, England

Nice apartment away from the bars on the front

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Location, Welcome and overall value.
Cons: A little TLC with regards to oven display, wall paper etc
Location: Quiet, away from front but close enough you can be there within 5 mins.
I stayed in one of the ground floor apartments and was very happy with the accommodation. It takes approximately 20-25 minutes from the ferry terminal on foot. However, at least 5 of those minutes are up a decent sized hill! If you've got a lot of luggage or struggle to walk I'd recommend a taxi. Checkin was the most simple I have ever encountered (you check in at the hotel which is at the end of the road then walk up (2 mins) to the apartments. The apartment was well furnished and like most victorian houses had good height ceilings and a nice decor. Unfortunately there were some signs of age (some wall paper starting to split, a little mold in one corner of the lounge) however, nothing you wouldn't expect to find in any building of this age, certainly nothing that made me feel unsafe or uncomfortable. The bed was comfy and a good amount of bed linen was provided. As I travelled solo I didn't require a washing machine (had enough close to last) but some of the apartments do have one. It was a little tricky using the oven as the time display has started to fail so you couldn't tell if the timer was on and if so for how long. Thankfully it wasn't hard to stay near by to keep an eye on it. The view is also very nice as you look out over Hutchinson Gardens (appt 1 at least) which are quite peaceful. The surround area is quite and feels safe. All in all very pleasant and I would be happy to visit again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Probably wouldn't stay again

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
This was the only hotel available when booking. Staff were mostly friendly and helpful when you could get hold of one. Hotel was dated and in need of a good update. Room was very basic, carpets were not hoovered the entirety of our 5 night stay. Water took a long time to warm up and the shower was almost unusable. Breakfast was very good. Wifi was good too but didn't work at all for two out of the five nights.
4 out of 5
by Dan from Courtenay, B.C.

The Owners are Amazing

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
The best part about this hotel is the family that runs it. They were so helpful right from the start allowing us a very early check in (due to our flight being bumped up 5 hours). Rose gave us directions and recommendations and then accommodated us again with a room switch on our last day. She also helped us out with an anniversary gathering for one of our couples. Their daughter, Frankie (sp?) was a sweetheart at breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yeovil Somerset

Nice family run hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Comfortable and clean,though a little dated,room,bathroom clean and very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Parking would be nice,but it would be physically impossible to provide any
Location: Just a few hundred yards from the centre point of the Promenade. Turn to the left for the Electric Railway and to the right for the Steam Railway
Would have got 5 stars except for parking which on street in a 2 hour limit zone. One has to drive a couple of streets away to get out of the zoned parking area. Just a nuisance really.