Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worked for me as a single traveller - good deal

Posted Dec 2, 2016
The hotel is clean and the staff friendly /attentive and it is in reasonable decorative order - it suited my need for a base whilst visiting friends on the island and is in a good position overlooking the bay - the only negative that struck me was is if there were two of you as the double bed was 'small' and against the wall which gave the impression of space but would make getting in and out of bed difficult and the room a bit cramped although I appreciate it is an older building with many constraints - the fitted furniture makes it impossible to move the bed to gain access on both sides however it had a very good shower and hot water which overshadows this observation in my view :-)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Clean light & bright hotel.

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Room was quite small but clean and comfortable. Bar staff on one occasion were terrible but I did get the impression he was new. All in all a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very poor bar staff did not listen to your order

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: listen to your customer do what YOU PROPOSE TO DO CUSTOMER SATISAFACTION
I ordered a pear cider the barman gave me a standard bulmers cider he did not know the difference or did not care. I ordered two large rums with ONE piece of ice in each the barman put in TWO pieces of ice he did not even understand or consider how he had spoiled our drinks. No manager was available due to a wedding reception taking place so as a couple we were of no consideration, Do not ask me to recommend the hotel to my work mates or family as you do not care
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC, Canada

Best Hotel on the Promenade

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Very good buffet, full English breakfast. Good dinners. Great location in the center of the promenade. Close to transport both ways.
Cons: Insulation between rooms, easy to hear other guests/hallway.
Location: Middle of the promenade, close to the horse carriage, electric railway one way, steam railway the other way. Close to the ferry terminal.
Helpful staff, quick check-in. Was easy to move rooms to one with a better view.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gibraltar

Seafront hotel 10mins from the centre of Douglas

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Location and price
Cons: We found the rooms too warm for our liking and were hot despite opening both windows.
Location: Douglas town centre 10 mins walk. Spar shop 5 mins walk. Plenty of bars and restaurants all along the Prom and in town.
Nice, well maintained hotel. Competitively priced within easy walking distance of Douglas town centre. We had prior dinner arrangements with friends but the restaurant and bar prices here were extremely competitive for those wishing to dine in. Our particular room (standard double) was quite small but had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Centrally located , friendly staff, nice sea view and good food.
Cons: Toilet seat was loose and was the wrong size for the the pan
Location: Centrally located on the promenade so only a short walk to shops, electric railway, horse drawn trams
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from devon

very welcoming

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: very friendly
Cons: The beds and the lift was never in a hurry.
Location: It was on the flat and near the pubs and shops.
the bed was a bit small if your both on the large side. A friendly greeting every morning at breakfast which was really nice and nothing was to much trouble for the staff.It was lovely having a drink looking out to the sea.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Location excellent for all the public transport and the ferry
Styed in a sea view room and you will not be disappointed. Real bonus to have the sports channels as well
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Much better than expected

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Much better than expected. Much better than expected.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.K

A popular hotel in a prime position.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: The restaurants offered a very good choice of menu. The bar area was lovely and the pianist who was there most evenings was excellent .
Cons: A working extractor in bathroom.
Location: Ideal location for the wonderful Trams, beach, town centre and all amenities.
We booked for 7 nights in a standard double. Hotel looked lovely and is in a great location. Our room was very clean had nice TV, tea and coffee and comfortable bed. Just disappointing in that there just wasn't enough storage for a weeks stay . It had some sort of extractor outside which came on fairly early and many would find it too noisy . Our extractor in the bathroom wasn't working and didn't get fixed during our stay although we did report it. We asked to move/upgrade and although the staff were very apologetic they were fully booked most of the week and it would have been too much upheaval to change . The room they did eventually offer didn't sound any different so we stayed put and to be honest we were reasonably comfortable. Think next time we would definitely pay extra for a sea view .