Ratings based on 1,781 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Hurricane GREED

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: Develop a hurricane cancellation policy that keeps the customer's goodwill in focus, rather than the profit margin.
For a business that sells customer experience, this was a major disappointment. Hurricane Irma was forecast to hit the area of Wild Dunes.....YET, cancellation was not permitted without penalty. Since evacuation of the island was not mandatory, you were still expected to show up or pay a night's fee. I asked if I could reschedule my reservation by that, too, was denied without a fee. So, I went to the resort. The normal 4.5 hour drive was 8.5 hours due to driving in the remnants of the hurricane and its consequential traffic. Upon arrival, the vast majority of amenities were closed. The next day I attempted to go to the beach, but since the Grand Pavilion had suffered hurricane damage, it was roped off. The area near the Pavilion was also blocked with debris. Wild Dunes does NOT put the interest of the customer's experience first. Instead, the maximization of profit is the goal. Expedia offered no assistance expect to call the resort. As a long time customer of Expedia, they should have stood by MY needs and concerns and allowed the reservation to be rescheduled without penalty. If Wild Dunes had simply been closed for 2-4 days, this would have all been kept out of the guests' experience. Will I return to Wild Dunes? NEVER. Would I suggest this resort to others? NEVER. SHAME ON WILD DUNES> SHAME ON EXPEDIA.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Hurricane Irma

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Clean Room.
Cons: A cancellation policy that puts the customer's well being and happiness first.
Hurricane Irma was scheduled to hit the area near this hotel. The hotel would not allow you to cancel a reservation without penalty (one night's fee). Expedia would not doing anything to assist the customer either. I attempted to "reschedule" my reservation, but my request was denied without penalty... Irma hit nearby Charleston putting much of the historic district under water. The location of this hotel also suffered damage. For example: the steps were ripped off the Grand Pavilion as well as several nearby homes were standing in water. Because there was not a demanded "evacuation" of the island, the hotel's rules concerning cancellation stood. Thus, I traveled to the hotel.... Because of the increased hurricane traffic, it took 8.5 hours to travel what normally takes 4.5 hours. When I finally arrived, the vast majority of Wild Dunes' amenities were closed. The next day, the beach was blocked to allow machinery to clear the damaged areas. If the property had simply been closed for the week, NONE of this mayhem would have been experienced by the guests. Instead, the priority was keeping the profit margin in place. What kind of a "first experience" could a person possibly have in this situation? Will I return? NO. Will I suggest this resort to others? NO. SHAME on Wild Dunes for forgetting about the customer. SHAME on Expedia for not supporting its customers either. Enough said.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Excellent place

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Amazing customer service! Clean room, good food and worth the money. It is the type of place you want to keep coming back to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Cockroaches and unconcerned staff

Posted Sep 8, 2017
We highly recommend Isle of Palms but not necessarily this hotel. At check-in, they offered us an upgrade to a king bed because we're Expedia gold. I had already booked a king bed. We received the exact room I had booked. Next, we went to the valet and asked for directions to our hotel. He said, "Your elevator is in this parking garage but it's valet only. I'll let you park there since it's raining." NO offer to valet our car or help with luggage, despite the woman at reception saying they offer these services complimentary (perhaps she's wrong?). Later that night, when I tried to turn on the shower, I had to fiddle with it because it wouldn't switch to the shower head from the faucet. The bathrooms are old and the drain didn't work well. And finally, cockroaches. I even killed one in the bathroom and showed a picture to reception. Her exact words were, "they come in when it rains", shrugging off the issue. I grew up in South Carolina and I've stayed on the beach every year for decades. This is the first hotel where I've found cockroaches on my bath towels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Pricey and very remote

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Facilities are nice but expect to be up-charged for a lot of things. $5 for a bottle of water in your room. $60 to rent 2 beach chairs and an umbrella....for 1 day. That's not a misprint. We arrived early and were told we would get a phone call once our room was ready. No call. We booked tennis courts in advance, showed up at our time and found out the courts were too wet for play...would've been nice to get a phone call before we got dressed and headed to the tennis center. Food was average but super pricey. Room service options include a $16 charge for a blueberry muffin, coffee and juice. Insane. This place is being run by 90% college aged kids who couldn't care less if they provide you outstanding service. Taxis are almost non-existent, so if you want to go anywhere, you have to Uber and they are scarce as well. $19 to go 6 miles one way. I don't typically ever complain or write reviews, but this resort isn't worth the price you'll pay. Find another spot on the beach unless you love burning cash for average service, food and amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, Tn

Great resort

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Very well maintained
Cons: More ocean view rooms would be nice
First time stay at Wild Dunes but loved it. Everything was very clean and beautiful. Room was large, quite and beds were very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Frank F., General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay at Wild Dunes Resort! I appreciate your 5-star review! We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but over prices

Posted Jul 3, 2017
I paid way to much for this place. 1400 for three nights for a one room bedroom/kitchen combined. The. They said I owed $6 when I got there. Kinda tacky. I thought I was getting a bigger place for the price I paid. My fault for not looking into it better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Frank F., General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to write a review of your experience. I do apologize that we didn't fully meet your expectations in some areas. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and leave you with a better impression. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance. Thank you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Hotel on IOp

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Resort was clean. Bed was comfortable even though I booked a king and got 2 queens. The pool was clean and beach staff were great!! Food and drinks were pricey and the quality of food was just "ok". The barbecue restaurant was not good at all.... so don't waste your money!! The Dunes Deli was the BEST for breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Michelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Lisa

Needs improvement

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
We have been a few times, level of service has gone downhill since our first visit several years ago. We ate at the beachside burgers on the resort and the food was edible. Disgusting !!! Need some better mid price range eating options !!! Also did not appreciate being precharged on my credit card $100 per day for amenities.