Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Want to go back!!!!

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: the decor and interior design, the facilites inside the room were great
Cons: TV didnt work well but i had no intention of letting my husband or the kids to use it, so it was not a big deal to us.
Location: Blue Mosque, SultanAhmet Mosque, Ayasofia, Gulhane park, Topkapi Palace
Stayed for 6 nights, in the duplex room which has two floors with 2 children. Spacious, clean and great decor. facilities were great they even had a washing machine in the room and plenty of kitchen facilites so you could actually prepare a meal there if you wanted to. not that we used either as there is far too much to do, see and eat in Istanbul. Its in walking to the museums / mosques and sights in SultanAhmet.The only thing that could be an issue about staying here is if you had someone with molbility issues as its half way up a hill with steps which was fine with us but i can imagine this could be an issue for some visitors.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad hotel, very dirty room

Posted Nov 4, 2014
This hotel is located in very dirty area, this does not worth the mony I paid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2014
its good some thenk but he s need more servis in more to cear for custmoer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Fabulous Apartment in a rundown residential area

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Excellent value for money
Cons: Cooking facilities were a bit basic, however we did not use them with so many different restaurants nearby.
Location: Everything in the "old" city was within walking distance. Little Aya Sophia, Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Basilica Cistern
Hotel was very consistent to description of it on internet. Rooms were clean with enough room (just) for 2 Adults & 2 teen children. Location was great, 5 minutes to Grand Bazaar & Tram line. 10 minutes to many & different eating establishments. Local residents extremely friendly even though they did not have much English language.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maxes from York, UK

Good apartment, excellent view in old Istanbul

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: The view from Penthouse suite
Cons: Softish bed
Location: Excellent for old city sights
If you want an authentic experience of old Istanbul with a superb view of the Blue Mosque (Penthouse suite) and the Sea of Marmaris then this apartment block is for you. If you're upset by relative poverty, dirty streets and a different cultural approach to life then stay in the modern area across the Golden Horn. We loved it, the apartment had a lift that worked, air conditioning and was equipped well enough to prepare some basic meals. There was a small supermarket and other shops nearby and it was a great location for all the historic / tourist sites i.e. Blue Mosque 10 mins walk, Grand Bazaar 5 minutes. It was located in the shoemakers district which is run down in places but we felt perfectly safe whenever we were out and about. The bed in the Penthouse suite was a bit soft (but enormous) and the bathroom a little tainted with a damp drainy smell but that's part of the deal for staying in a very old part of a city like Istanbul. However, we were personally greeted and the Turkish lady who did it was on hand as she lived across the road. The associated hotel was on the end of a phone in the apartments lobby and our transfers were very efficient. We loved Istanbul and this was a reasonably priced option in the heart of the key visitor area. Will return again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aussie from Sydney NSW, Australia

Istanbul is a place to Visit

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: WiFi, AC, Kitchen
Cons: Beds, Basement
Location: 15 minute walk to Blue Mosque and Hygeia Sophia, Grand bazar
I stayed with my family, 4 adults, we were given garden apartment, which is a basement, there is no view, window from the bed room shows half the street and the view is people feet & cats. Being the basement facing the main street, it is noisy, add to the fact that this building is in the middle of the shoe factories, these guys start work early and work back late evenings. This particular street is very filthy, lot of rubbish, dumpsters on the corner adds the rubbish pile and it is picked up every night 1:30PM. you got to put up with the rubbish truck noise. Hotel itself is converted from old terrace to nice & tidy level of apartments, these are done well, clean inside, small little kitchen, plates & spoons & utensil are there. Beds are not very comfortable, there are two AC that is needed in Istanbul, because the temperature 29 to 34C is common in June, July. Caretaker does not speak English, but she is willing to help and making all the efforts to understand your needs. Over all this hotel is in the middle of bubbling neighbourhood, I got on with the neighbours and made friends, If I return again to Istanbul, I will stay there, but on a different level not in the basement. Because it is only few minutes walk to tourist attraction. Telephone number listed on the website is owners numbers, once you are in Istanbul, you have deal with locals, and they are pre-programmed. WiFi works well and esy to use.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In Ordnung

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Allgemein inOrdnung. Sauberkeit gut. Central gelegen. Fazit : Befriendigend bis Gut.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Falsche Beschreibung + fehlleitende Expedia-Bilder

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Nichts. Null.
Cons: Expedia sollte nur Hotels auf die Liste, die selbst mal getestet wurden.
Location: Schlechteste Gegenden. Gebäuden im schlechten Zustand. Expedia-Bild zeigt eine Illusion. Panaroma-Bild mit anderen Gebäuden wäre besser.
Die Hotellage ist sehr schlecht. Sehr laute Umgebung. In der Umgebung werden Schuhe hergestellt und man hört permanent das Hämmern und Pfeifen der Maschinen. Nach einer Stunde im Hotel haben wir das Hotel noch vor 18 Uhr verlassen. In der Beschreibung wird von 65 Quadratmeter berichtet und von einem Garten ist auch die Rede. Der Wohnbereich ist definitiv keine 65 Quadratmeter und einen Garten gibt es auch nicht. Der Hinterhof ist betoniert und das wird als Garten bezeichnet. Expedia sollte sich die Objekte genauer ansehen, bevor dafür Reklame gemacht wird.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denmark

aldrig aldrig prøve har jeg oplevet noget lignende

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: ingen ting
Cons: Ja have mere detaljerede og troværdige oplysninger ang overnatting
Location: Beliggenheden er tæt på beyazit , istanbul university og grand bazar. Det er en del af det gamle istanbul fuld med gamlebygninger og en slags industri
Ascot House har virkelig utrygge begivenheder. kvarteret er en gammel del af istanbul,. Vi overnattede ikke engang. vores reservation lød på 6 dages overnatning. Men det blev til ingen overnatning. der var ingen varme på hotel og da vi ringede til receptionen fik vi at vide at de ikke kunne gøre noget og at vi måtte overnatte udenvarme, som ikke var muligt da det virkelig var koldt. heldigvis var jeg den heldige og havde familie, som hentede os kl 02. Så heldige vi igen var fordi han var advokat og kendte til vores rettigheder, så vi fik vores penge retur. og fandt et andet hotel 3 væk fra den blå moske(sultanahmet). Et hotel jeg har været virkelig tilfreds med sidst jeg bookede. Historie Hotel. Historia hotel har en virkelig god beliggenhed, virkelig rent ekstrem gode personale og service, for dens pris !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Oslo, Norge

Sentral beliggenhet

Posted Oct 8, 2012
Hotellet ligger i et området som ikke er særlig rent - består av gamle forfalne boliger som huser arbeidere i skoindustri. Veien til selve hotellet egner seg ikke for biler, og man må gå opp en brå bakke med bagasjen. Beliggenhet er allikevel meget gunstig for å besøke de flotte severdighetene, og selve leilighetene på hotellet er komfortable. Leilighetshotellet betjenes av en eldre dame som snakker dårlig engelsk, men som er hjelpsom. Det er lett å få kontakt med manageren dersom det trengs, og han kommuniserer på flytende engelsk. Leiligheten i underetasje er dårlig belyst, og rommene kan ikke luftes. Heldigvis fikk vi byttet de siste 2 nettene til "penthouse" apartment som var lys og luftig. Ser man etter ren komfort, burde man velge et annet hotell. Ascot House tilbyr ett ekte inntrykk av Istanbul for de som har eventyrlyst og er åpne for nye impulser. Vår familie hadde et flott ukelang opphold i Istanbul.