Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Celebrating Entry into Medical School

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: We liked the liveliness of the hotel.
Cons: Great as is. Maybe consider offering afternoon tea (relaxing ritual).
Location: Great location, I only wish that the water was as green-blue as at the Ritz-Carlton on Grand Cayman.
My husband and I decided to celebrate our older daughter's entry into Medical school on Amelia Island - a short trip from NYC. We had an option to either stay at the Omi resort or the Ritz-Carlton. Being that we have stayed at other Ritz-Carlton resorts in other countries, we decided to stay at the Ritz. It was a wise decision; the Ritz-Carlton rarely disappoints. We (my husband, myself and our two daughters) were all welcomed and pampered and everyone went out of their way to make our celebration special. Thanks to Dawn (Club Room), we were served an off the menu peach cobbler at Salt restaurant and greeted with champagne at Epana restaurant. We could not ask for anything more. Thank you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great setting and service

Posted Jul 18, 2016
All excellent, except for ridiculous extra cost for wifi … all hotels should provide free wifi inside & out!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Beautiful hotel - enjoyable stay

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Fabulous service throughout stay. Spotless hotel/room.
Cons: It was a great stay, but since there's always rooms for improvement, I'd say please upgrade the pullout sleeper mattresses.
Location: We rode horseback on the beach, minutes from the hotel. Had set up ahead of time online.
We had a four night/3 day getaway. Weather was perfect, which did hurt. Beach is clean and plentiful chairs and umbrellas, with attentive staff (as was the case throughout our stay). I booked a suite for myself and two older teens. My daughter and I shared the king and 6' son stayed on pullout. Pullout mattresses are always pretty bad, so hotel quickly supplied us with same feather duvet pad that we also had on the king size. Could also sleep another on a pullout in the bedroom. Was also nice to have second (half) bath. Room service was great for breakfast, lunches by the pool, and we had dinner one night in Coast and another in Eight (Sports bar). Each time, food was hot delicious and service was over the top, even room service. Lobby bar is nice escape also. Would definitely return!!
5 out of 5
by Thomas from Atlanta

Absolutely gorgeous

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
It was amazing.. The staff were super friendly and the view was awesome... I will be back soon, with my family.
3 out of 5
by Leonard from Arlington, VA

Nice hotel, beautiful setting, overpriced

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
When you arrive at the Ritz-Carlton Amelia Island, your car is surrounded by uniformed, clean cut young men wearing Secret Service style earpieces. They politely inform you that you must surrender your car to them as self-parking is not an option. The hotel is very nice, tastefully decorated and mostly well maintained (although one of two elevators was broken for our whole stay, which made for long waits at times). My wife and I went for a short 3-day escape and we had a lovely time. The hotel food is okay, but unexceptional, and pricey. (I didn't eat at the flagship restaurant, Salt, on this visit. I had previously and thought it was very good.) There's a bar on the beach, which offers incredibly overpriced drinks. We ordered two $13 margaritas made from a mix with a splash of generic tequila. The best thing about the hotel is its location, right on a beautiful, wide, pristine beach. Watching the sunrise from the beach was just sublime. There are two fantastic reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance of the hotel: Bar Zin and Cucina South. I hated the valet parking. I'd much rather walk to get my own car than stand around for 5-10 minutes waiting. The service is very good, but often obsequious. I do not have aristocratic roots and find the upstairs-downstairs thing kind of creepy. I really don't need to be asked every few minutes if everything is to his lordship's liking. (They don't actually say "your lordship.")
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: The spa was good. Restaurant was good.
Cons: FRONT of the house staff.
Room was guaranteed check in by 4. My room was not ready until 6 pm. No one attempted to contact me to tell me there would be further delays. When I finally got to check in the valet told me that they had lost my luggage. They finally found it. Paid for a COASTAL view. What a scam! I could see a small slice of the ocean. The spa was good. Restaurant was good. NOT what I expect in terms of valet and front desk service from a five star Ritz. I would not stay there again. Disappointing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Great location on the beach and friendly staff

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Great hotel the hotel was excellent , great staff and food. George, the food and bev manager could not have been kinder. Only minor criticism is the live band by the pool were too loud and quite intrusive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MD

Exceptional service

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Beautiful hotel on the beach with exceptional service. Our every need was attended to. Spa was wonderful. Only wish is for better restaurant options for toddlers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the same service we are used to from the Ritz

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Our first meal there the service was awful, they completely forgot one of our orders, could not get my water glass refilled. Our breakfast the next morning, similar issue, could not find someone to refill our water or coffee. At IHOP you can get your coffee filled up without asking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas fort worth

5 * hotel on the east coast

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Excellent location private beach very friendly staff . Stayed at the club level the service was above par and much better than I expected . I have stayed at other private 5 star hotels both on Georgia and South Carolina and I felt the staff were far more friendly and went out of their way to be accommodating . The food at the " COAST" restaurant was a bit of a disappointment and I would rate the food a 3 on a scale of 1-5 ( being the best ) Did not have an opportunity to try SALT which was apparently very highly recommended and had prior excellent reviews The pool area I felt was a bit too crowded but the long stretch of beach certainly made up for the lack space around the pool . Overall I would rate the stay a 4.5 on a scale of 5