Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated, overpriced hotel

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Not much to be honest - food is OK!
Cons: Needs a desperate refurb - rooms are still in the 50s
Location: A taxi ride away from the old city - 50NIS each way
On the surface the hotel looks great - lovely reception and pool area but the rooms are in a terrible state. I was staying on the 1st floor - my room had holes in the ceiling, shoddy workmanship everywhere and to top it all off, got an electric shock on plugging in the TV. Room was not as pictured at all! Poor chambermaid service - quick bed make and thats it. Also, make your complimentary bottle of water last your whole stay - it is not replaced. There is also no minibar or room service despite the description. Maybe Israel is just very expensive but for the price paid (over £160 per night) I expect a lot more - have stayed in far better Travelodge hotels! The staff at check-in were rude and on trying to check out, had to wake the night staff up (sleeping on the job)! Stay somewhere else or expect a shabby room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff attitude were bad!

Posted Apr 27, 2017
When i check out, i asked about deposit release, and the staff said, he cant check for me because i check out 30secound ago. The reason i requested bout it, b/c they took two time deposit, but he said it was not from them with out check with accountant. And he said he is professional so he knows and yet I insisted him to check with accountant and he found out i was right and yet he didnt admit he was wrong and his unprofessional attitude toward me. I paid $190, and yet their sevice worth only $1.90!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view and amazing breakfast!

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Cons: better Wifi!
Location: bot really walking distance to old city but it is a short cab drive.
We enjoyed our stay at Dan Jerusalem. this hotel has the most amazing view. Get the breakfast buffet, excellent!!! My only complaint is the wifi. It is terrible.
5 out of 5
by Martha

Extraordinary Hospitality

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great experience at this hotel are only complaint was that the air conditioner did not work in our room and it was very hot. I guess other guests had the same complaint because they ran out of fans the first tonight but we did manage to snag one for the next nights. The breakfast was absolutely amazing. They truly know how to make their guests feel at home at the start of the day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Electrical issues in our room marred an otherwise excellent stay. Breakfast was brilliant....as usual
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Fine place but not that comfortable for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Very good service, the rooms are a little old

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location
Cons: There was no plugs to charge the phone in the bedside table and the room smelled like cigarettes
Great service at the spa, but the hotel is a little old
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boca raton

I'll stay somewhere else on my next trip.

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
They were having some air conditioning issues and we went through about five rooms before we found a room with air conditioning that worked. I had requested a high floor room which they did not give us despite the fact that I had ordered a suite and spent a little extra to get something nice. Unfortunately the room with air conditioning that worked had no view and was three levels below the reception area. Probably about 1/2 the hotel is 1/2 underground.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

This didnt live up to the promotional material !

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
This was a family pool holiday with young children so the pool was really important. However, the photo was deceiving and the pool was not as grand or as nice as the photo made it look. Also the pool was in need of repair with the tiles in the pool coming away and for some reason they had not grouted the titles properly so they were sharp on your feet and very uncomfortable. The Life Guards were really overzealous with laying down the law with rules that were not published. This made it a very unwelcoming experience and put a damper on the main holiday activity. I had to complain. The food for a 5* hotel was average. The room although the beds were made was left untidy. Also the hotel is way out from the main centre so taxis were expensive for trips although we eventually found out there was a tram nearby and that made trip much more reasonable. 2 days before we left they decided to close the cafe and lounge area and rip up the carpet which was strange. The next issue was leaving and asking reception to book us a return taxi to the airport. The hotel instead of providing a service to their guest wanted to rip them off by adding on a 100-shekel admin fee to the taxi fare which I complained about and they eventually retracted. We have stay in a number of hotels in Israel and this is meant to be a 5* hotel - really it is a low 4* and only gets their star rating because they provide facilities - however are the facilities up to the standard of a 5* hotel not in my opinion.