Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by KEITH

NEEDS A MAINTAINANCE REVIEW

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
If this was a 3 star it would get v good, it was once an VERY GOOD hotel but has not been maintained, carpets stained/worn, curtains stained--even stained bed linen on the bed. The staff are helpful but clearly do not know how to set table,although menu is fine --poor breakfast selection. GOOD location and amenities are good. It appears that occupation is low and therefore budgets cut to the bone and this results in this no longer being a 5 star
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017
Good Day! Thank you for your Feedback. I will investigate this further to ensure that we can maintain a 5 Star Establishment, as that is what our goal is. Hope to receive a booking from you again in the future. Many Thanks & Kind Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017
Good Day! Thank you for your feedback Many Thanks & Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PMB

A serene experience.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Loved the decor and wonderful paintings. Breakfast was great.
Cons: More items on the supper menu, especially the vegetarian dishes.
Location: Being close to OR Tambo International Airport was a bonus indeed, as it gave us more time to relax and enjoy the facilities at St. Andrews.
A beautiful and well maintained hotel with lovely gardens. The hotel overlooks a lake with lots of birds. Loved the big paintings, almost everywhere to be seen. Breakfast was a treat, though the range of the supper menu could be expanded on.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Boutique Hotel, convenient for golf

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Disappointing compared to previous stays. Hotel was almost empty and staff seemed to have gone to sleep! Still a very nice place to stay though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North America

Definitely not 5 star

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: Location. Close to the airport, shopping and highways. The reception staff were pleasant and tried to be helpful. Pleasant room cleaning staff.
Cons: General upgrade in interiors, maintenance, food variety and safety, better trained staff in the restaurant, consistency, gate security.
Location: Shopping and restaurants at Eastgate Mall, Bedford centre, Village View centre in Bedfordview.
Location. This is the only reason the hotel worked for me. It is located in a quiet area, familiar to me and close to where I needed to be. At first glance the property looks great. Unfortunately, this does not follow through. The room was just ok, could benefit greatly from an upgrade. Sparse dated interiors, worn stained carpets and upholstery. Poor plumbing. No in room WiFi. Not consistent in replacing toiletries, water etc. Restaurant was hit and miss. Breakfast was on occasion a buffet. Continental breakfast consisted of cereals, fruit, cold cuts, cheese and yogurt. The food and drinks were not kept chilled or properly covered, often visited by flies. Service was practically non existent. The runners on the tables were always dirty, attracting flies. The staff tried to be helpful once asked but, it seemed they could not cope. The restaurant was never busy, especially dinner time. I can see why. I had to wait 40 minutes one evening for the menu to be printed and another 30 minutes to be served. Sad. This hotel has a lot of potential but it is just not functioning properly in any areas. The pool was empty due to a leak and the roof in the hotel was leaking. The shower faucet in one room sprayed all over the bathroom except for inside the shower. There was often no bottled still water available.
1 out of 5
by Christopher from Johannesburg

Stay here at your own peril

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
We found that this hotel was anything but a signature Hotel & Spa. We are not quiet sure how it qualifies to be a 4 star hotel. The walls in reception have cracks, the furniture is scuffed and dirty, the grass outside was long and uncut, the pool was green and their were broken tiles in the restaurant. The room provided had old and very used linen. The attitude of management was unaccommodating in any way. I can honestly state that our experience was not great. I would definitely recommend giving this place a miss.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wigan, UK

A friendly home from home experience

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: The receptionist was so helpful and caring. The food was delicious
Cons: As a wet shaver I found the bathroom lighting not quite as good as it could be
Location: Just 20 minutes from the airport
I had experienced a frightful journey by Air France from Paris and was so tired that I could hardly stay awake as I registered at this delightful hotel. The receptionist understood and had noticed my delayed flight on the web site. She told me to get straight off to bed and have a meal whenever I woke up. The dining room staff were delightful and the food was made to order and among the best i have ever eaten. I love this place! The bedroom and bathroom were huge and well fitted out
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds, attentive and courteous staff

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
Great for leisure, perhaps not the greatest for business. The WiFi unfortunately left much to be desired, but the attentiveness of the staff, the service provided, and the beauty of the grounds were enough for me to recommend this hotel to family and friends traveling for leisure in Johannesburg.
4 out of 5
by Manuel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels