Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denmark

Right where everything happens!

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Its position in the middle of it all, yet withdrawn. And the staff seems well trained and motivated, which is good for the visitor.
Cons: We think it all worked very well. However, a pool would be nice, once we bring our grandchildren!
Location: Being able to stay in the middle, with easy access by foot or by taxi to other sights in Kathmandu.
The location of KGH is superb. Even if in the middle of noisy Thamel, KGH is withdrawn from the noise and has a lovely garden, from where it is easy to switch betwen tranquility and all the noise and business of Thamel. We found it all very charming.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Banff, AB

Great Oasis in Thamel

Posted Jun 7, 2016
I first visited the Kathmandu Guest House in 2008 and found it a welcome respite from the hectic pace in the streets of Thamel. On my return in 2016 I found that renovations conducted to address earthquake damage have significantly improved the feel of the hotel. The new lobby is lovely. The garden cafe remains a great place to read or write post cards while sipping mint lemonade, masala milk tea, or a beer. The rooms are spacious although still have that backpacker feel with twin beds and a shower that sprays into the bathroom. The staff were uniformly friendly with good English and I definitely will stay there on future trips.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good CP value

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Pros: 1. Room has view of the courtyard and its great! 2. Abundant perimeter living function (supermarket, restaurant, currency exchange, travel agency, shop...). 3. Staff is nice and helpful. 4. They provide two HUGE bottles of water each day for each room. 5. There is nightly musical performance (Nepal style) in the courtyard and quite enjoyable. Cons: 1. Most TV channels have poor signals. 2. Fridge and hair dryer are not provided on checking in. You need to call Housekeeping to deliver them to your room. 3. Not enough universal plugs in the room. 4. WiFi bandwidth is small. Network speed is slow. 5. Sound proof can be further improved.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful in the city

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in the heart of the tourist area but very peaceful with a large garden courtyard. Our room was very old, however, and needed serious updating. The bathroom had one dim bulb and when we asked them to change the burnt out tube light over the sink the repairman just shrugged his shoulders and said he couldn't. That light hasn't worked for many years I'm sure. Also, although the electricity was on and almost everything else ran, the fan went off and never came back on. I would have preferred the fan over the television, and there was no AC. Still, I think I might stay here again, mainly for the garden setting.
4 out of 5
by Jaromir from Praha

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
Podruhe v KGH, tentokrat ve stadnartnin pokoji. Paradoxne v mnohem hezci stare budove, pokojik v hlavnim kridle. Celkova atmosfera hotelu skvela, pokoj ale silne prdrazeny. Cca 50 usd, malicky pokoj bez klimatizace, hodne jednoducha koupelna. Nebyt to KGH, tak se da podobny sehnat v Thamelu za polovinu. Clovek si plati to ikonicke misto.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was super friendly and helpful and the location couldn't have been better, especially for a single foreign lady. I felt completely safe all the time and really enjoyed the neighborhood. The only negative is that the fans aren't connected to the generator so sometimes in the middle of the day the room was a little warm, though this wouldn't be a problem most of the year since it's not usually hot!
5 out of 5
by xi from 广东深圳

非常好的酒店

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
非常好的酒店,地方不大,但在闹市中一抺绿地,阅读、休憩,放松。50年历史的印记,看出酒店的精心管理,值得去住住。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TOKYO

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: Breakfast is good.
It locates center in Thamel, but you can enjoy quiet life there. Garden is well-maintained and big. Hotel often offers entertainment in the garden, i.g. Nepalese traditional music. Staff are well-mannered and give us charming smiles whenever they see you.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2016 by KGH, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. We at KGH definitely believe in service with a best smile. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

カトマンズゲストハウス

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
冷房はなく、ファンのみ。値段相応だと思います。 近くに日本食屋も数件あります。
4 out of 5
by Amalie

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
Kathmandu guest house is a perfect place to escape the crazynes in khatmandu. The garden of this hotel is perfect to relax and have a chill day or two. Would recomend spending a bit more money and stay at a delux room. The differens to standarroom as huge... Breakfast is good and staff is great!