Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great bargain - great hotel on the beach.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Location, rooms, grounds.
Cons: Doorknobs were difficult to open. Needs more parking.
This place was beautiful. Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 10 nights and the place exceeded our expectations. Construction - the place was apparently under construction during our stay in early August of 2016. However, we did not see one construction crew when we were there and were completely undisturbed by any construction. Also, the place did not seem to be in the midst of any construction and was beautiful. Location - the Hilton is on the East side of Kauai. The most touristy sides are the North and the South (poipu area). We loved the East side though. The North side is gorgeous, but rained a bit too much for our taste. We liked taking day trips to the North where we could choose to go on the dryer days. The South was beautiful, but was packed with tourists. The East side is beautiful as well, and has much less tourists. The East side is filled with palm trees, has dryer weather than the North (similar to the South), less tourists than the South, and is right next to Kappa, a really great town for restaurants and bars. The beach at the Hilton is Lydgate. It is a beautiful place, but is really only swimmable in the man-made pools, which were a little cloudy for our taste. We traveled to other beaches during the day which were better for swimming, and hung out on Lydgate at night for the sunset. Rooms and Staff - Our room had a beautiful ocean view and was very clean. Also, the staff was great. Would overall recommend to a friend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

extremely nice hotel, crowded beach

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Loved the hotel, staff, room and all but the beach in front of the hotel is part of a beach park so it's pretty crowded. Kind of expensive to not include a private beach area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Very unhappy with our stay here. Avoid this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hutchinson, MN

Very close to the beach - closest to Lydgate Park

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Our ocean-view room was comfortable, except the AC could not keep up with the evening humidity (the normal trade winds had disappeared). Beds were just right - two queen beds were a plus - such seems to be far too rare in the hotel industry. The pool was lovely, and the hot tub fit the bill. The tennis court is gone (net and fence have been removed), and while the shuffleboard is painted on the court - I don't expect the Hilton maintains any related equipment (I did not ask). The restaurant was clean and decent enough, although service was generally slow (but pleasant). There was a glitch in our reservation through Expedia, but after a 40 minute wait (nothing you hope for after a long flight from the Midwest) it was resolved satisfactorily and the desk staff (Phil) was kind enough to waive the resort fees for our week. Without that generous perk, I would have grumbled all week. As it stands, I would return to the Hilton Garden Inn.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from O'ahu, Hawaii

Great Location and Awesome Staff

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Hotel staff were awesome and very welcoming. The only thing I didn't like was the bed wasn't too comfortable. I felt it was too hard. Would've been nice to get two complimentary bottles of water a day also
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Coffee and coffee lids

Posted Jul 19, 2016
When I asked for coffee lids from the coffee in the lobby I was told they were out. Then, When I asked for cups from the room cause they had lids after I just checked out and was charges $90 in hotel fees, I was told the cleaning service did not start till 730. I asked for the manager, they didn't start till 8am. I was leaving to go to the airport at that point. Then low and behold, a cleaning staff member appeared and well she got me a cup with lids. Since I left my room keys in my room cause I checked out, I could not go back to the room that was left with no cups or coffee for the kureig. It's coffee. This was a ridiculous effort to get a coffee lid don't you think?!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
The lobby area is very nice and, the hotel is quiet which is what we were going for. The bar and food are ok, nothing fancy. We did not know the pools were so small and the hotel had only 1 jacuzzi. The bathroom showers do not have doors which is how it was designed, didnt really like that. The rooms were very spacious but no balcony. I liked that the room had a microwave. There were several outlets even usb outlets available which made it really nice. The internet had a very weak signal, ended up using my own network. And the elevators and really small, made it hard to get our luggage in, even the bell hop had a difficult time. The bar located near the 2nd pool is closed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Met Expectation

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: location and lots of playground area for family with kids.
Cons: Expedia relating the information to the hotel. 3 adults means i need 2 queens with a pull out bed. I even spelled it out in my reservation.
Location: Nice waterfall 2 miles up the road with lots of scenic overlook into the valley.
My request of 3 adults in a room was never related to first hotel which is why i ended up at this one. After fumbling through the reservation, the front desk host figured out a way for us to stay in the same room for the same price. Very satisfied with the room and everything else. If i have a feedback, it will be to expedia. Please relate the informatino
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't waste your money

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Checking out
Cons: Everything
Hilton should be ashamed to admit that they own this so called "resort." The food at the restaurant was bad at best. Even after they bragged about just hiring a new "Hilton" chef, the breakfast was the same crap as before so I wasn't about to try dinner. The elevator is a tragedy in the making. The A/C in my room broke and fortunately they had another room for me. Two other families in our party had booked the bungalows on the property and on their second day they were told they had to move into the hotel as the parking area in front of the bungalows was going to be paved. Apparently the hotel knew this was scheduled yet they moved them in anyhow and made them spend nearly a whole day of valuable vacation time moving. I suggest you spend a few more dollars and book the Marriott beach resort on rice street in Lihue, that IS a resort and has fabulous restaurants close by.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Good location and price

Posted Jun 14, 2016
This hotel has had some of its rooms recently renovated. The building itself looks quite old, the elevator sounds and looks like it's about to fall apart. However the rooms inside are quite modern, neat, tidy. Basic but just what you need for an average priced stay near Lihue. Bed comfortable but some of the pillows had a slight dewy smell to them. Pool and jacuzzi nice. Restaurant small but good selection of meals and staff are very helpful in giving you suggestions of nearby eateries. One washing machine and dryer for the whole place was sometimes a nightmare (although it is free). Parking easy and free. WIFI signal too weak to be used on iPhones when we were in our room, weak signal can be picked up on a laptop. In the lobby the signal is strong and fast. The location of this hotel works well as you have easy access to the north and south. Overall a good comfortable stay, daily maid service was thorough. Hotel has good potential especially when they have finished renovations, established a concierge etc. would stay here again if visiting Kauai