Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Beautiful views over the lagoon and golf course

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Overall pretty good. Food in snack bar fair Trouble with electronic entrance keys not working We feel if you are staying st the hotel they should reserve some tee times for residents
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Setting and facilities. Room size was great.
Cons: Service.
Staff were poorly trained - I understand there was a strike at the time and students were covering for the normal staff. However, these students were in no way prepared for their tasks. Room service was non-existent and waiter/serving staff had no idea of how to take care of guests, let along get the orders at the restaurant correct.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautiful hotel in a lovely setting

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Location, grounds, pool facility, natural setting. Rooms had great views.
Cons: Food service
Location: Lots of nature and beach-related activities nearby. Top golf course.
This is a beautiful hotel in a very lovely natural setting. The overall facilities are lovely as is the golf course. The staff was kind and helpful. The only issue is that the food is quite average. I would have expected better from this facility. The breakfast buffet was ok but the dinner was really trying too hard to be very fancy and failed in this respect. We were looking for good family food but the restaurant could not deliver on this. We had dinner and then had to order simple room-service food to get what we were looking for. Overall, I would return to this hotel but would not use the main restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: i like the spa and the restaurant.
Very good experience and rest. Staffs is very kind and professional . thank you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Close to Hermanus. Indoor and outdoor pool.
Cons: Dinner
Location: We went quad biking in Hermanus. And visited Hermanus
Everything at the hotel was good. I feel that the supper was a little mundane. We had extremely noisy and drunken neighbors
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very pretty, odd mix

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Looks very pretty, well-maintained grounds, a bit strange though - clientele are a curious mix of golfers and spa-users, as well as families with kids
Cons: Quality of facilities is not 5* e.g cheap cabinetry. Hotel and expedia made a mix up of our dates and lost our booking, but Expedia sorted it out.
Location: Location 20 mins outside Hermanus, whale-watching haven, and retirement village/holiday resort. Stunning views along coastline from Cape Town on R44
Expedia confirmed our booking but somehow Arabella had us down for the wrong dates and classified us as a no-show. Eventually sorted out the error, and Manager Michael was helpful. Very inconvenient though as we had to accept a lower grade room than originally booked for one night, (Expedia refunded the difference in rates). Lots to do for young kids - attractive pool, zip line. Hotel and holiday chalets share the facilities including golf course, which leads to a slightly odd mix of hotel guests, but ensures there is a buffet for every meal, which can be convenient. Separate a la carte restaurant on site.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lost confidence in Expedia!

Posted Feb 28, 2014
We received confiramtion of our reservation from Expedia by email. We were not contacted by the hotel to let us know the hotel had in fact been sold out to a group and would not be honoring our reservation. We had to scramble to find alternative accomodations. Either Expedia, the hotel or both are ressponsible for this mistake. We have not received any explanation or compensation for our inconvenience. I would most likely not stay at this hotel in the future. At a minimum, I would not use Expedia to book my reservation. This experience has really soured my opinion of Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vanessa from Los Angeles, California

Great setting - disappointing service

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Location of the hotel was perfect and we enjoyed the the property and surrounding areas. Arrival experience was not seamless, with the Front Desk Agent insisting that we booked a "paraplegic room". It was not until I produced the confirmation that they moved our room allocation however this required the intervention of a manager who immediately started speaking Afrikaans to us without determining who we were or what country we were from. On the day of departure, it appeared that the Front Desk team were preparing for the arrival of a large group as they were completely disinterested in assisting me when I stood for close to 7 minutes waiting to check out. All heads buried in computer screens and no eye contact or acknowledgment regardless of the fact that I was one of only 2 people in the area. When approaching the Front Desk for assistance during our stay, it was met with a stare rather than any form of acknowledgement. Both staff members that we interacted with waited for us to say what we needed without so much as a greeting upon approach. Besides the lack of service levels demonstrated by the staff, the overall hotel was enjoyable, views beautiful and an enjoyable experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melanie from White Plains, GA

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: It was beautiful and so well run.
Cons: nothing
Location: We drove to Betty's Bay to see the penguins and dassies and went great white shark cage diving in Gansbaai.
The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful and the hotel was just beautiful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by alan from leicester engla

golfing in comfort

Posted Feb 9, 2012
Pros: golf course
Cons: lack of restuarant choice
Location: exellent ,set in beautiful countryside
WE enjoyed this hotel especially the golf course which was in exellent condition.Ther was a lack of service arond the pool especially in the afternoon.The biggest disapointment was the closure of the fine dining room which meant that only a buffet or alimited a la carte menu was available.This seems short sighted in a hotel of this class with no available outside restuarants locally available