Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brasil

Experiência decepcionante!

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Piscina
Cons: Educação e prestatividade do staff, limpeza e manutenção dos quartos e banheiros
Location: Boa localização a poucos minutos de West Railay
Falta educação e prestatividade ao staff durante toda a estadia. Tudo bonito por fora, mas ao entrar no quarto vimos o banheiro com vazamentos e limpeza lamentável mostrando total falta de manutenção.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Death trap balconies, dirty cockroach infested rooms, bad service
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

You're staying here for the pool + the view

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: the pool, the setting & the view, lots of young people, no families
Cons: heads up about the monkeys, door jams to deter creepy crawlys, cleanliness, staff
Location: it is NOT easy to get to, or find if you get in after dark. you will get there by boat & you will be dropped on the opposite side of Railay.
I made the mistake of not doing my research before, booked on recommendation from a friend & arriving after dark. 1. you will have to take a long boat to get here. 2. there aren't roads or alley's here so i strongly suggest arriving while it's light out so you can find teh unlit signs. 3. Only book a pool/sea view room. They are clean-er & you're staying here for the view. The other rooms are not as nice & the bathrooms are open ceilings so they are very humid & don't keep much out. My door also didn't reach the ground so I had to trap a cockroach that i watched walk under the door into my room, get it out & then blocked under the doors with towels. 4. Staff is only OK. 5. Breakfast is OK, lots of bugs. 6. LOCK YOUR BALCONY. I watched monkeys go from balcony to balcony trying to open the doors. But i will say, the setting of the pool is the best on the island. You can sewe the ocean, you're in between cliffs & you cna watch the mountain climbers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2016
The hotel is great, but they should have more affordable options to go to airport.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Very nice, affordable place

Posted Dec 3, 2015
The hotel was really nice, clean, with a big room. The only cons is the path you have to walk to get to the main street (either east or west). It is really dark, with eletricity cables hanging next to you. Still, totally worth it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ossendrecht. nederland

Schitterend gelegen hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Het hotel is onlangs gerenoveerd maar dit is niet echt super gedaan. Over een paar jaar zal de staat zeker niet meer zijn zoals nu. Wij hadden een super grote, mooie kamer, airco werkte goed. Electrisch verwarmde douche dus weinug druk. Afstand tot strand 10 min. Goed ontbijt, alleen un ongezellig restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2015
This hotel was pretty good - it was within walking distance of both the west and east beach which was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hunter Valley Australia

Great location. Good hotel but not fantastic

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location, value for money. Bed
Cons: bathroom needed renovation. Pool was dirty.
Location: Only 5 minutes to East Railay beach and not much further to the other beaches, there are lots of restaurants Hotel right beside rock climbing area.
This hotel is a 5 minute walk up a not very steep hill from the beach but for us this was a positive. The views were great and it was away from the crowds. Our room in the main part of the hotel was very good with a comfy bed but let down by an old-fashioned and rather grubby looking bathroom. This to us was the main negative of the hotel but for the price we paid it was still good value for money. There are some newer rooms that may have been better but at a higher price. The pool as others have mentioned is fantastic but during our stay it looked murky and wasn't cleaned so I didn't swim in it. Also there was absolutely no shade and no umbrellas so it was too hot to stay for long. Breakfast was just so-so with a very basic "American breakfast'. Overall our experience was positive but with renovated bathrooms and a bit more attention to detail this hotel could be so much better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Hotel Fit For Paradise

Posted May 17, 2014
Cons: There are no blackout curtains and the wall are paper thin so in the morning the room is bright and noisy from the local insects.
Location: The hotel is located between East Beach (food and entertainment) and West Beach (swimming and beach lounging) which is only a five minute walk to each
The Tawan Cottage was better than I expected. An air conditioned bungalow surrounded by tropical landscaping made for a romantic private setting. The room is broken into three parts, the bedroom, the vanity/dresser area and the bathroom. All the lights are metal in beautiful artistic designs such as a hand holding a flower or a group of flowers. Only the bedroom is air conditioned but even during the hottest month this was fine. A delicious customizable breakfast was served on our private balcony each morning, we just had to remember to order the day before at the front desk. There are dual plugs but only one outlet in the bedroom area. The staff is helpful and friendly and speaks good English.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014