Ratings based on 438 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Luxurious hotel on the volcano

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: The rooms were so spacious and luxurious.
Cons: Expedia included a $35 spa credit in our package which was not honored.
Location: The hotel has a fantastic animal sanctuary. The nearby Hanging Bridges are interesting, and it was great to see animals in their natural habitat.
The hotel and the amenities were amazing. The food was good. The hot springs were fun. The staff was conscientious and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Paradise

Posted Dec 10, 2017
What makes the Springs is the quality of staff and attention to detail. We had an amazing trip. When the arenal volcano is in sight, the pure immensity makes for a breathtaking experience. The staff was incredible. I loved the hot springs; the fact that they do not smell like sulfur is a plus. Go to club rio and ask for Oscar if you go horseback riding- it will be an experience you won’t forget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the volcano from everywhere

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Would love to come back for more days Food was very good Staff very attentive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, AB

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Hotel is absolutely gorgeous, the food is great, the hot springs are breathtaking, the staff goes above and beyond and are so friendly. The club is very well organized and have great activities to do. It does rain a lot at this time of year, but it doesn't deter from the experience at all. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Unbelievable hotel! Fabulous views, Awesome staff

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Awesome building with views!
Cons: nothing
We had a fabulous stay at The Springs Resort and Spa. Everything was perfect, check in was seamless, staff was friendly and helpful. Views were amazing. We enjoyed the many thermal spas, don't miss the Monkey Slide. There are numerous activities the consigner can book for you - rafting, tubing, zip lines, etc. We ate several meals at the hotel. The breakfast buffet was very good as was the sushi and food in general. Costa Rica is a fabulous country, the people make it wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Views

Posted Nov 18, 2017
What a fantastic place! Staff was great and the views were spectacular
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful location with the view of Arenal volcano

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Excellent view of the volcano from the rooms and from our terrace/balcony.
Location: Location is excellent: they have hot springs on the property in addition to the lagoon style pools. They also have Club Rio which a lot of activities
Quick check in, and, as we arrived late the restaurant was closed, however, there were sandwiches waiting for us in the room as well as a bottle of wine. Staff was very nice and courteous. The rooms were very spacious and well appointed. Lots of activities available through Concierge on and off the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Sublime

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Maximum satisfaction out of facilities, view, staff quality and attention to our needs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Awesome resort & hotel!

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Staff was lovely. Rooms were luxurious. Food & drinks were great. I loved walking around and seeing exotic birds, monkeys and other animals.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Remote location which is 2-1/2 hours from San Jose airport. Zip lining, white water rafting, and other activities nearby & easily accessible.
The rooms are beautiful-each with a view of the volcano. Due to the rain forest location there is on & off rain, which didn't bother me. Carry your light rain jacket. Staff is excellent and helpful. Activities are great. I particularly liked the white water tubing, bird watching & the tour of the animal rescue reserve. The food, drinks and amenities are superb. Just imagine yourself having a cocktail in one of many hot spring pools in the middle of the jungle at the end of a long, fun hiking day. Wi-fi service is intermittent, which was a plus for me, but others may not agree. The staff is universally lovely & knowledgeable. If you want to be in the middle of nature and enjoy some luxury, this is your place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent resort

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Beautiful resort. Spacious room with an incredible view. Wonderful hot springs for guests to enjoy. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Lots of activities to do at the Club Rio. Will definitely be back.