Ratings based on 651 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portugal

Cheaper than Gibraltar hotels and close to border

Posted Dec 17, 2017
In a run down but safe bit of town, close to the sea front and with great views of the bay and the 'rock'. When we stayed the lounge, bar and breakfast areas were closed for refurbishment. A subset of breakfast items was served in a bedroom with insufficient room; I think the hotel could have done better. The rooms are spacious and well equipped though there is only one English TV station on the TV (CNN). WiFi is slow and coverage was patchy in our room. Good value for a Gibraltar shopping trip and a very pleasant town centre with numerous tapas bars and restaurants within walking distance
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Walking distance to Gibraltar

Posted Nov 8, 2017
The location and price is fine for a visit to Gibralter. The neighbourhood the hotel is in appears sketchy at best...staff advised us to avoid the local streets and stay on the coast road if walking to Gibraltar (20 mins) or take a taxi. Would not recommend if you have children with you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

The hotel was situated in a good position

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: The position near to the waterfront and Gibraltar.
Cons: The service in the evening for the bar (which could open earlier) and the restaurant.
Location: It is easy to walk from the hotel to Gibraltar to visit the Rock and also for Gibraltar Airport.
The hotel is just of the main road along the waterfront. It is within 20/25 minutes walking of Gibraltar. The hotel check in was efficient. The room had a leak in the bathroom and so we were allocated to another room which was fine. We had a small balcony with a good view of the waterfront. The room was very quiet at night so we had a really good night's sleep. The bar and restaurant do not open until 8 p.m. and the service for this seemed a bit vague and the restaurant prices were expensive. Luckily about a 10 minute walk from the hotel we found a buffet Chinese restaurant which was very good value for the food and the drink. The buffet breakfast was very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, parking, service and cost.

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Location, cost & service
Cons: Needs a full reno.
Location: Only a 30 minute walk to Gibraltar boarded.
Great staff, location to Gibraltar, great Mediterranean Room view. however the hotel needs a full reno. Bathroom was old with some mould and laminate floors with gaps and looking pretty bad. New mattresses also needed.
4 out of 5
by Bryan

Mid week break

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
good hotel and good facilities. Excellent and friendly staff. Stayed here many times but this time found that it needs a little bit more TLC, as the rooms are becoming tired. Bed wasn't as comfy as it has been in the past so a little more investment is needed. Good views and location to Gibraltar, 20 mins walk along the front.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bicester

AC Marriot La Linea

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Well located for Gibraltar, excellent base point to explore surrounding areas, Alcadeisa, Estepona, Marbella, Tarifa, Cadiz, car hire recommended. Hotel was good, my only complaint was that you could only get Tea, Coffee at breakfast or free until 7.30pm, could do with either vending machine or facilities to make in your room. Staff excellent and helpful
4 out of 5
by Joyce

Sorry, can't recommend.

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel has been updated and clean with a hot breakfast, but it is a very non-descript, plain hotel and not up to the usual Marriott chain standards we expected. It is located too far from Gibraltar which is the only reason we were there. The neighborhood is not good and very run down.
3 out of 5
by Russell

Value for money Hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel is in a run down area but the locals are fine, the staff at the hotel were very helpful and very good English speaking, there is free coffee in the afternoons Monday to Friday but not at weekends, This is the first hotel I have stayed in were there is no bar, there is cans of beer and soft drinks for you to buy if you wish, we asked for a sea view and we got one and it was a great view of Gibralter and Spain harbours, the walk to Gibraltar boarder took 25mins, the hotel would order you a taxi If you need one, overal a nice hotel, clean and friendly, plenty of free street parking and half the price of a Gibraltar hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester UK

good hotel, slightly tired.

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Convenient to beach
Cons: As stated above
Location: walking distance of beach, town and restaurants
Pleasant stay, room is tired, bathroom grout missing, mould to some tiles, panels to ceiling not fitting properly. Do not understand why no bar? and why no tea and coffee in rooms. Free tea and coffee nice, but only Monday to Friday!!No chairs on balcony, only one in room can fit on balcony - double room!!