Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF,CA

just don't..

Posted Aug 25, 2015
We booked this hotel because we wanted to go to Lake Tahoe and didn't realize how far it was from there. There's absolutely nothing to do in gardnerville, that had to be the most depressing town I've been to. We arrived a couple of hours early and they wouldn't let us check in until 3 because according to them they hadn't cleaned our room yet, when they did, we walked in the room and noticed huge stains on the carpet, a big bump on the floor that squeeked when we walked on it, and smelly bed sheets. We stayed there for 2 nights and our room was never cleaned, the coffee maker was dirty and had old coffee residue in it. the rooms looked way better in the pictures, but don't be fooled! If you are planning on going to lake Tahoe spend the extra money on something closer and nicer with things to do! Also they hold $100 from your card for incidentals so don't use a debit card I had no lunch money because of that!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overal not bad but with some problem.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
It had a kind of Horrible breakfast. It was actually nothing! The Wifi was not working During our visit. The carpet was so dirty but other things was clean. Room design was nice and warm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale Az

Out of touch with 2015 accommodations

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Lousy front desk...not friendly. Hotel is dark and smells. Not really clean...no phone or wi fi in rooms. Inconvenient to drive in and unload. Noisy at night...not good insulation. Dreary. Historical but that's it for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aruba

Excellent hotel.

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Excellent hotel. Quiet neiberhood. Small park close bay. Only the carpet had marks on it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Old town, Gardnerville

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The lobby was so pretty.
Cons: CLEANING
Location: The town itself is very clean decorated by many flowers. 30 min. drive to South Lake Tahoe.
First when we enter the room, there was a strong odor of a air freshener or a deodorizer. However, we can still smell the odor they were trying to get rid of. (maybe a pet odor or cigaret odor) We found a piece of hair in the refrigerator, a greasy dried green onion in a ceramic mug which suppose to be clean because the other mug was clean. The individual coffee pack was set with MANY decaffeinated pack with one of each of regular coffee. When we open the packet to brew some coffee, the coffee filter was already wet? It was not just one packet, four packets were already moistened in the packet so we had to throw them away. Very strange....
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2015 by Deb, Hotel Management
I am so glad you liked the lobby and feel. Gardnerville and the whole Carson Valley is definitely a wonderful place with lots to do! I am so sorry about your housekeeping issues. I hope you reported it to the manager at the time of your stay – that is unacceptable, and we will use your review to train the staff and improve. Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you were affected this way. It is NOT our standard. We do have decaf coffee – it is at the front desk, upon request. Not may use them and we like to keep them fresh. We are amidst a flooring replacement and it is about 1/3 complete – we are so excited to have new, recycled state of the industry flooring coming in. We hope you will allow us to host you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2015
They placed us in a handicap room. The floors were stained, a few bugs literally in each corner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Nice hotel, very quiet even on a holiday. The staff was very accommodating as we had to extend our stay due to car trouble. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Lake Tahoe nice drive

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Service was pathetic, room was not clened. No room service for one day. Not safe place to drive in the night
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ugly carpet room

Posted May 28, 2015
2 stars for the lovely town and the awesome friendly hotel staff. Where this hotel majorly dissapoints me is the carpet! Its spotted, dirty and i can tell that sime pets have peed on it! As soon as i enter the room from outside or bathroom, there it is the pee smell!! I have my own dog here and she is extremely well potty trained. I am worried that my pet would get the smell and go on the wrong track. For all these reasons i wanted to stay just one night and cancel out second night but they wont refund! So i have to stay in this smelly stinky room because this place is quite pricy!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Motel not Hotel!

Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
At first we thought this would be a lovely boutique hotel. the clerk was professional but not friendly. We had requested an upperfloor. Rooms were facing the parking lot or street. Our room was facing the street and traffic was very loud starting at 5am. The hotel itself was clean but the carpet was badly stained and very dirty. We wore socks and sand stuck to our socks, then got on our sheets. We will not stay here again.