Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food is good and the staff are friendly and welcoming.
Location: A quiet countryside location. Only stayed one night so no chance to explore the area, but the Forest of Bowland is only a short drive away.
Friendly, efficient check in and welcome. The hotel is set in a quiet location with extensive grounds. I stayed only one night on a business trip, but would definitely consider going back for a weekend break..
5 out of 5
by Jonathan from Glasgow

Great time at a lovely hotel.

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: Staff, food, bar and grounds.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: The location was ideal, quiet and close to travel links.
We stayed at the hotel for a single night and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the food was superb. The only downside was the lack of a bath in our bathroom. However, the other facilities were great. We would definitely stay there again if we were in the area.
5 out of 5
by tracey from billingham

Bartle hall - lovely hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Lovely location very quiet and rural
Stayed there for a wedding Room with four poster bed and bathroom was down a few stairs Stunning room Hotel staff very friendly as well as professional Would definetly recommend
5 out of 5
by steve from sutton Coldfield

Business Overnight

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: It's a lovely old manor house in spacious grounds, so noise never a problem.
Cons: See above
Location: Convenient for Blackburn, Preston and surrounding towns.
I have stayed before, but quite a while ago and chose to come back as I wanted to be in a cosy, comfortable, quality hotel. It lived up to my memory, it is a lovely place to stay, with great food, it's not cheap but you get what you pay for. My one reservation about my room was the carpet was in need of replacing or refitting at least.
5 out of 5
by Maureen from Essex

I want to move in!

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: free wifi, no charge for room service, decor, rooms - everything
Wow! I stayed in Goosnargh, which had a lovely double bed and separate work area. Sockets were plentiful, a nice work lamp (I hate hotels with dingy lighting), balcony (not useful in November admittedly, but lovely nevertheless!). The wifi was free and worked in the room; there is no charge for room service and a 24 hour menu should you so desire. The communal areas were beautiful - a traditional country house feel. I had a two course meal for £20 which I thought reasonable. The breakfast was cooked to order and the staff could not have been more helpful. I was praying to be 'snowed in' so I could stay another night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you like 'older' Hotels ........

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: The Staff were GREAT !!!
Cons: The Hotel itself could do with some re-furbishment / freshening up.
Let me start by saying that the staff at the Hotel were lovely, warm, friendly and inviting. Unfortunatley the Hotel itself was a bit of a let down. 1) Finding the Hotel was quite difficult at night, not helped by very poor lighting around the entrance. 2) On entering the Hotel the first thing I noticed was an overwhelming smell of 'damp'. I got the impression that the Hotel had been 'shut up' for quite some time ..... not sure if I'm right about that, but that was the impression. 3) The room was a little dated in terms of decor for my taste, but some guests may like that.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hidden gem!

Posted May 15, 2013
A hidden gem! Very peaceful country house set in lovely grounds with terrific staff and great food.
4 out of 5
by Kevin from UK

Great hotel and scenic location on edge of city

Posted Oct 25, 2012
Pros: Level of service
Cons: Food - sometimes great, sometimes not so good
Location: Nice location - wouldn't think you were in Preston. However, not much near by + no lighting or pavement on road so can't go out on foot after dark
Very nice hotel, in a remote corner of Preston (scenic location, feel as if you are in middle of the countryside). Staff were extremely helpful, room was nice and large but maybe a bit old fashioned for me. I had two meals in the hotel - the lamb was lovely but I thought the steak was very fatty and didn't taste too good. If staying in Preston area and going by car this must be first choice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Nice hotel but draughty rooms

Posted Nov 24, 2008
Bartle Hall is a very nice hotel with a very good restaurant. The rooms are very nice but a bit draughty and the staff was a bit overzealous considering it was nearly empty.