Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hôtel but food in restaurant poor.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Lovely hotel especially for the price but the standard of the restaurant food was very poor- quite pricey but overcooked and dry. Staff however were delightful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Hayley - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was delighted to read that you found the hotel lovely and our staff delightful. I note your comments regarding the food served in the restaurant, I will share your review with our Head Chef and his team. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes
4 out of 5
by Jeff

Went the extra mile

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Travelling with a 95 year old for a family wedding the hotel provided ground floor rooms, close together and an early check in. Very friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by D E

No morals, customer service zero

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel over booked and moved us to another hotel. Not great customer service when instead of informing me in person, they asked a friend of my to pass on the message. They messed up a rare occasion where a long lost childhood friend came to visit from Miami. No apology received, disgusting.
5 out of 5
by Sue

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Location, room size and decor.
Cons: The system for charging your room for facilities/items ordered, and speed of staff
Location: It is a countryside hotel with good access to road network
Stayed here to go to a wedding at the nearby Samlesbury Hall. It was easy to get to from the motorway in a quiet countryside location so it was easy yo get a peaceful sleep at night. The room was spacious, modern and clean (aside form the bogey on the ceiling and the wall beside the dressing table) The staff were pleasant but very slow and you need to be careful about charges to the room because most people in our party were charged for something they had not ordered ourselves included. But I think this can be ironed out because I was informed that this was a new system put in place recently so we can allow for teething problems. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend
4 out of 5
by fiona

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Bob from Cyprus

3 night business trip

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
Nice
4 out of 5
by Mark

Business visit to BAE

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Ideal hotel for visit to BAE but it is let down by the failure of housecleaning to vacuum under the bed for months. My bathroom was cold as it has no means of heating. My comment card detailing this and asking for a email has been ignored - not good customer service.
2 out of 5
by Hazel

Hotel nice - pity the lack of hot water!

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
When in the area I always like to stay at the Samlesbury Hotel but was deeply disappointed. When I arrived and full of the cold I went to have a hot shower before going out. The water was cold. In the morning I went to have another shower and again the water was cold. There was no hot water even from the tap.. When checking out I complained but advised there was no hot water for any of the residents as the boiler was playing up. I feel I should have been advised of this when I checked in as it obviously wasn't working. Nothing. Deeply disappointed as I really like the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Hazel I am so sorry that there was a problem with the boiler during your stay, although it is of little comfort to you, I can confirm that the problem has now been resolved. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Samlesbury Hotel in the future. Best wishes Hayley .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good.....but cold

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely staff, great food, decent gym....however my only issue was the room I stayed was really cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining in our restaurant and using the gym and that you found our staff lovely. I am so sorry that your room was cold I have asked my maintenance team to look into the problem. Best wishes Hayley Hotel Manager