Ratings based on 844 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to casino

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Clean friendly, great breakfast. Pillows a bit uncomfortable but the rest good..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Inverness

Fantastic hotel, fantastic service!!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Fantastic family room
Cons: Wasn't told on check in that the car park requires a numerical code to exit
Stayed here week commencing Oct 10 for 4 nights. Having visited Blackpool for four years in a row always during October this was our first time staying at The Big Blue and it didn't disappoint!! We booked in advance and got a very good B&B deal. The family room is perfect for gaining some peace from the kids, their own little space with a TV each! Good size bedroom and clean bathroom (with the worlds most powerful shower!), we stayed on the 3rd floor and found that although the windows are double glazed they didn't seem to offer much sound proofing from the outside world, dodgy seal maybe?? Breakfast plentiful and fantastic although expect to have to wait for a table if arriving at 9am.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Going downhill!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Pleasure Beach.
Have stayed at this hotel many times over the years but this will be the last. I requested a high floor to be away from noise however when I reached the room (401) I found it to be right next to the lifts. As people gather outside the room to access the lifts do no expect a good sleep as people are chatting all night in this area. This is a disabled room (which was not requested and we were not notified that this was the case) which had a heavy sliding door to access the bathroom which was impossible to close. The room itself has seen better days, the bathroom had an unpleasant smell and was shabby, the carpet looked dirty and the single beds were lumpy. We also had a problem with flying insects being all over the walls and ceiling. There are probably better rooms in this hotel but felt completely short changed with room 401, avoid as it's nowhere near 3 star never mind 4 star accommodation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Great break for my birthday!

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Lovely Big modern hotel! We had a room facing the road originally but wanted a theme park view so they moved us
Cons: I thought the lift was very small. Not enough space as we had a pram
Location: Ripleys believe it or not is about 10 minute walk from the hotel. It is abit far from things like the arcades and restaurants
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel for the Pleasure Beach

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Location, rooms, great cleanliness.
Cons: Rooms may need to be touched up soon due to wear and tear.
Location: Lots to do in Blackpool! We went on the Pleasure Beach and up the Tower.
I stayed with my Dad and we had excellent rooms - he had one overlooking the Pleasure Beach and I had one which had a view of the sea. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really delicious and there was a wide variety of choice. The rooms were very nice and comfortable, and we each had a King Size bed. It was clear the hotel had been open for sometime as there was some wear and tear, but certainly not anything to be concerned about. I would stay again. A great place and a lovely break.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Regular user

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Apart from some small issues this is the best hotel in Blackpool. They still need to do something about the shower screen as the water just goes all over the place. Also I know that pricing keeps certain clientele away but the bar prices are a little steep. Food and housekeeping staff are amazing. Checking out was for the first time a bit of confused hassle. Also they wanted £160 for the Friday night so we tried the carousel hotel down the road and got b&b in a upgraded family room with 3 course dinner and David bowie tribute for the total of £104 for the 2 of us! Brilliant end to our week.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north lanarkshire

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Lovely hotel and brilliant breakfast. I had a deluxe room and worth the money as huge big bed . Tram stop 2 mins from hotel or a fair jaunt to the main action. Only 2 things let the room down - the hairdryer and the hard pillows but would definately stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 22, 2016
Brilliant weekend in Blackpool. We will be back soon
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ayrshire

Great location, helpful, friendly staff.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
This is our second time staying at the big blue hotel and we will be back next year. Great hotel, perfect location, good food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SM

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Perfect hotel for visiting the pleasure beach. The reception staff are very helpful and go above and beyond. We will definately visit again