Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A warm welcome awaits at the Royal

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: It's nice to stay somewhere that's not part of a big chain as it makes it quite quirky in some ways.
Cons: updating on the decor over time could benefit both parties as they could easily raise their rates inline with the completion. Bags of potential here.
Location: Absolutely brilliant location, 2 mins walk up to castle & and set within all the shops & restaurants.
After reading some negative reviews we were not expecting much when we decided to take a risk & book this hotel for one night as we had an event at the castle. Ok it's not the ritz but we got a warm welcome on arrival & found our rooms to be comfortable & clean. Yes the decor is dated & some of the wallpaper may be peeling but you're not sleeping on that or eating your breakfast from it. The bed linen was crisp & clean, bathroom was nice & clean with a very good shower, all the usual tea making facilities, hairdryer, iron & flat screen TV. We have to give them praise for the breakfast as although we had a bit if a wait for our Full English it was lovely & the sausages & bacon were good quality ones, there was lots on offer in the continental selection so we could happily munch away whilst waiting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Ok hotel close to train station and city centre

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Very good location, i'd recommend it only if you find a good deal and don't care too much about the hotel itself as it's quite dated
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Dropping room key to reception every time we left the hotel was inconvenient
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Staff very friendly. This is my 3rd time here.. They're like friends now :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, England.

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The really old lift. The warm welcome. Powerful shower. Comfy Bed.
Cons: Bigger Cups in the room.
Location: Very good location. Great for the town centre, pubs etc. 5-10 min to bus station, 5 mins to rail station. Plenty of pubs nearby.
I found this to be an acceptable hotel. A warm welcome from the young lady on the reception, with all the main points of the accommodation explained. The hotel is not exactly the Ritz, nor does it claim to be, but if its just a roof over your head that you are looking for, you cant really go wrong. Its more than acceptable. I found the hotel to be a little dated, and a little worn in places, but this didn't really affect my stay. I personally found it more than acceptable and a pleasant stay. I'd give it 8/10.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Great value accommodation in centre of Lancaster

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Great value for money - clean and conveniently located.
Cons: The décor is in need of improvement, but this would probably push up the price of the rooms
Location: Great location, close to city centre where there are plenty of cafes and restaurants. The city tourist sites are also a short walk away.
The hotel is conveniently based right in the centre of Lancaster and has some car parking available. The rooms are clean and reasonably sized. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The price is very competitive and reflects the fact that the hotel is old and in need of refurbishment. We didn't have the hotel breakfast, instead we headed close by where there is a vast range of excellent cafes and restaurants. Overall it represented excellent value for money and we were pleased with our choice - if you want better and more modern accommodation then you would need to pay considerably more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value right in the city centre.

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, price.
Cons: Needs a major aesthetic upgrade.
Location: Get on/off trains in minutes, hit the shops in less than a minute, all on foot!
It is a building that has seen better days, and the rooms could do with a make-over. However, the rooms are spacious, the location is fabulous (2 minute walk from the train station, and right next to all the shops), and the staff are really nice and helpful. For the price I paid, it was brilliant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Did the job

Posted Sep 1, 2016
OK the place has seen better days, but there was lots to be happy with. All staff were exceptionally friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. The decor was faded and the bathroom institutionalised but at £40 you can't complain. I booked knowing it would be like this and it you do then you won't be disappointed. I was only there one night and just slept there. If that's what you want this place is ideal. Great location. Great value. I'll be going back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Endroit charmant et très accessible, particulièrement près de la gare. Quartier tout à fait agréable à découvrir à pied. Parfait pour un transit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Close to the station

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The Character of the place. It's old, it has history and no disco noise like others in the city.
Cons: OK, it needs a refurbishment. It's old and a little faded. But that is reflective in the price.
Location: It's in Lancaster so work it out.
Within walking distance of the railway station and even closer to the city itself. Pity the castle had scaffolding or the view would have been good as well.