Ratings based on 705 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A second visit, not as good

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Quiet location, good breakfast
Cons: Weekday breakfast later than 0930; it's only a buffet after all! Requires a deep clean all round. Get rid of the impersonal check in. It's awful.
We used this hotel last year and were impressed with the room we had with one of the most comfortable beds we'd experienced in many a year. The hotel itself we felt was a little tired and needed a refresh but overall acceptable. Our latest visit did little to dispel this view. The corridors are still tired with old liquid stains notable on the carpets. The first shock was the check in. We arrived late (as planned with a fully pre-paid room) but rather than someone to check us in, the person we spoke to just directed us to a computer screen to 'DIY'. Whilst this was easy to deal with, I was immediately disappointed with the lack of service from we had previously experienced. This time we were allocated a different room style; maybe due to our booking route. The bed was not as welcoming from what we'd experienced before or expected. It was clean and competent but didn't give the extra buzz we'd anticipated from our previous experience. The breakfast was as before, full English and nice but the queue for the toast machine was excruciating. People waiting 10 minutes; and then when you got to it, it took 4 passes to properly toast a piece of bread. I gave up finally! I really think a top class hotel can afford a decent toaster! Checkout was quick as you just put your card in a box, very impersonal again. Another obvious cost cutting exercise which reduces headcount but reduces the service to customers and is noticed! This is not what I expect from a premium hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kilmarnock

Plenty of Facilities

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: A separate entrance for people for golf - a lot of muck on carpets and staircases. Room décor is very dark and depressing and there isn't a lounge
Location: Near the zoo. A bit out of Blackpool but nice surroundings
Self check in won't suit everyone. Breakfast staff at the weekend were more interested in chatting. Victory pub meals were good but could be noisy - more like a sports bar. Lovely surroundings
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016
We were especially pleased with the check in via the app all went very smoothly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Ok hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
We arrived and found the hotel location ok , parking was good .The hotel itself was ok nothing special the room was ok only 5 channels on our television the view was terrible from the window .We had no bottle water in our room .The coffee and tea facilities were poor .The noise from the wedding was unbearable all night till early hours then when we did get to sleep there was furniture been moved early hours in the morning waking us up again .The breakfast was ok the plates were cold ? cold plates are unacceptable and food is soon cold .So overall not a brilliant stay won't be going back not worth the money we paid out for 1 night .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent

overall hotel and facilities, staff very good

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: good breakfast
Cons: air conditioning
Location: all Blackpool attractions close. Also good for golfers, on site course, and fitness facilities.
All was fine except the room was very hot and no means of cooling except electric fan. The window had limited opening, and faced a noisy vent from another part of the building, why did the exhaust face the bedroom windows of the bedrooms rather than away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Nice hotel, pricey food 2 mins from attractions

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Nice but pricey. Nice staff. Room clean but found old plasters and huge spider within the towel. View of window was not good. Lots of overgrown weeds and spiders webs and view of the roof. Restraunt was so called italian american however its still the same vague menu with 4 pasta dishes on. Safe to say we dined out elsewhere on the 2nd night for some form of variety and choice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good hotel shame about the extra charges

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
good hotel with good leisure facilities but be aware if you do not book direct with them they charge £5 to use the leisure facilities!!!! a bit of a cheek
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hartlepool

Hotel a bit tired looking, room was warm.

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
This is the second time I have stopped here, the first was when it was under the de'vere brand, seems to be a bit tired looking now, and last time I stopped the gym and breakfast was included. This time they were extras, room was warm although a small fan was provided, also the view from room was poor. Would expect a little more when paying £99 per night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice enough hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
I stayed here to attend a wedding which was done beautifully in the hotel start to finish lovely grounds and helpful staff