Ratings based on 1,095 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Not as bad as the reviews

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Not gonna lie, I was nervous when I arrived at the hotel because of all of the bad reviews that I read after booking. I do agree that the hotel is dated and could desperately use an update. My room was very clean, we inspected the whole room when we arrived, I saw that people complained about the beds and the pillows. I thought that the bed was very comfortable and we loved the pillows and wished that we could take them home with us. I will say that some of the front desk staff members were rude and unhelpful. I did speak to a very nice guy on Sunday morning who helped me check out over the phone. When we checked in my friend asked the women about the Christmas events at Dutch Wonderland (which is right across the street) and the women knew nothing about it even after saying she lived there her whole life. I think that they should be aware of what is going on nearby so as to better help their guests. On that same note, we saw a group of gentlemen coming in for a business event of some sort and there were approximately 8 staff members standing in the lobby and they all just shrugged their shoulders when they were asked what room their meeting was in. The staff should be informed of all events in the morning (in my opinion at least). I also thought it was weird that there were no phones in the room. Other than that, Yes, I would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Hotel from 1990

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: hotel should be rebuild from scratch.
Location: great location for 0.0001 star hotel
One would expect more, from hotel that is known to be resort and that claims to be the largest conference center in the area. Room was in a "good" condition with carpet, beds , mattress (thanks to which i have terrible back pain), tv (barely worked), heating system (that made lots of noise but that was the cost of having heat and would only work once ON switch was turn on. Thermostat was there as decoration), sink and toilet ( with running water not in places where one would expect) all from 1990 that have NOT been serviced since. In addition we were placed in D wing and for the duration of our stay we were the only ones there. This is because it was a GHOST section of the hotel with empty rooms (rooms with no locks on doors) . Security of the hotel is very questionable. This hotel should offer 25$ rooms and not 200$ per night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

In the heart of Amish Country

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Location: Lots to do in the area with Amish farm tours and buggy rides, shopping, dining and around Halloween time the Field of Screams was awesome.
Very disappointed in this hotel for the cost. The lobby and conference rooms were very plush and beautiful but the rest of the hotel seems to be very dated. Our room was on the second floor and the carpeting in the hallways was very worn and there were many water stains on the hallway ceilings. The room itself was clean but the beds and pillows were not very comfortable and to get hot water took a long time. Being on a golf course would be a plus for many people.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delaware


Posted Oct 19, 2015
No hot water, no heat in room, not one ice machine in hotel that worked, little tiny pillows, and the mattress was like sleeping on a wooden board. Won't ever stay here again, and Expedia should be ashamed to even advertise this place as a three star hotel!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Olean, NY

Not handicap friendly and accessible

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: It needs to comply with ADA. Breakfast should be included. Rooms were noisy.
Location: Location was fine. Close to activites.
Very disappointing. This place is definitely NOT for anyone handicapped or disabled. There are steps everywhere. It is literally impossible to get in or out of the place without encountering steps. Getting to your room meant steps and a very long walk. Definitely not for the elderly or infirmed. It appears they have not heard of the ADA. They are certainly not in compliance. Disappointed that breakfast was NOT included in price -- not even a cup of coffee. There are tons of other motels in Lancaster to choose from. Don't choose this one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Find somewhere else

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Went for an on site event, arrived very late. Just went to bed, in the morning noticed hair all over the room including in the shower and on the bathroom door that wasn't ours...grosss. chipped peeling paint everywhere, dirty carpets. Find something better. This cost way too much for what it was.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hackettstown, NJ

Never Again

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: The people were pleasant and professional.
Cons: The whole hotel needs a major facelift.
Location: All of that was fine.
The A/C was an On/Off switch; the beds were not Queen but double beds; the ceiling in the hallway throughout had water damage and the panels went un-replaced; there were no vending machines on the floor, and in the lobby, there was 1 vending machine that offered candy and chips, but no soda or water vending machine. Many of the door locks were sawed out for some reason making the place look like a coke den. The television had a picture tube and the clock looked like it was from the 60's; I couldn't figure out how to set it. The bathroom had a cracked sink and the vent fan did not work causing the mirror to fog up when anyone took a shower. We were 4 adults, but they only supplied 3 towels and 2 soaps.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Dog Friendly - great place to hold a show

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Dog friendly, clean & great staff
Cons: Just a face lift. New carpet & some fresh paint would do wonders.
Location: Great location if you want to shop the outlets
DOG FRIENDLY - Stayed 8 nights with my dog for a show which was also held at the hotel. Rooms are dated & could use a face lift. However, rooms were clean. The staff was wonderful. Food in Legends (resides in hotel) was good. Would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible experience!

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Horrible experience, from the hole in the ceiling to cracked eroded/tub surface peeled away exposing the surface below tub, the shower rod/pipe exposed outside the wall surface with rust and a tag on the pipe, tube stained, the sink with cracks and what appear to be flea like flies floating in stopped sink water. Indoor pool would require wet suit to swim.. secondary to the extremely cold water, lamps without light bulbs, lamps without mechanism to turn on/off because it is taped in place. This was disgusting and the rooms should never have been rented, NO one should stay in these rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Extremely dated hotel in need of major renovation.

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Nothing. In the interest of fairness I did not seek out the amenities to determine the condition of things like the pool, etc.
Cons: Everything! Most dated hotel I have ever stayed at. Ceiling tiles missing in halls and falling, etc.
Location: Lancaster location was good - very close to Dutch Wonderland, Strasburg Railroad, Outlets, etc.
Booked through a "mystery deal" on expedia which promised "BRAND NAME" hotel at a 3 start level for "up to" 40% less then advertised prices. As I have never used expedia before I decided that it was likely discounted as a result of last minute inventory (I was looking 4 days before my scheduled trip) and since they promised "BRAND" names (and listed "comfort inn" and "holiday inn" as examples) I decided to take a risk on what brand hotel I would get. I googled 3 star "brand" name hotels in the area and there were several comfort inn's, etc. so I went ahead and booked the "mystery room." AFTER I paid I was notified the hotel was the Lancaster Host. A hotel that is clearly not a "BRAND" under anyone's definition and clearly outside the scope of the description that enticed the purchase. After looking at reviews on "trip-advisor" and seeing that the hotel was clearly not a decent one (almost the worst hotel rated on their website) I attempted to talk to Expedia about what I believe was false advertising and misleading information. As you can imagine - that lead to no result. I was advised that if I lived in Lancaster then it would be a "brand" known to me - the obvious false logic of that statement needs no discussion for if I lived in Lancaster I would not need sites like Expedia! Anyway, as the money was spent I went to the hotel as planned (with my own bed linens) and it was awful as expected - ceiling tiles missing the hall, etc. Clearly would not rate 1.5 stars!