Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HONG KONG

員工非常友善,十分鐘到沙灘

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: 員工非常友善,總是笑面迎人
我們在Ambong Ambong住了三晚。這裏的房間在熱帶雨林的山頂上,安靜隔離地和被大自然包圍的地方。房間簡單舒服,小廚房有烤箱、微波爐和冰箱,在入住時給的手提電話可以隨時請酒店司機接送上落山或幫忙召喚的士。唯一的缺點是每天沒有refill淋浴露。早餐雖然不是自助但是可以靈活地點餐,簡單但非常好。員工非常友善,總是笑面迎人。服務一流,如果有機會的話,我們肯定還會再來的。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pakistan

Posted Aug 15, 2016
It is an absolutely out of this world experience staying at this resort. Perfect blend of nature and luxury. Hats off to everybody involved, including the management, the staff and the designer, whoever that genius was!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harderwijk

Prachtig resort in de jungle

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: De ligging, het personeel en de persoonlijke sfeer.
Cons: Zou het niet weten.
Location: Langkawi is niet groot, dus heel dichtbij kun je een auto huren voor weinig geld en overal naar toe rijden. De Cable car is leuk en een mooi uitzicht.
Wij hebben het ontzettend naar onze zin gehad bij Ambong Ambong. En dit is zeker ook mede te danken aan het personeel. Zij doen werkelijk alles om het je naar de zin te maken. De weg naar de studio's is behoorlijk steil, maar ze willen je altijd met de auto halen en brengen. Ze zijn altijd vrolijk en bijzonder vriendelijk. Het ligt prachtig tegen de berg aan en je hebt een prachtig uitzicht op zee! Dan natuurlijk de natuur. Alles is daar behouden gebleven. De apen die 's morgens op je dak springen, de vogels en niet te vergeten de prachtige bloemen en planten!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Picturesque Hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Location: Located not too far from the main drag. Staff would offer to give us a lift to the shops if we needed. A few restaurants in walking distance.
My wife and i stayed here for the last two nights of our honeymoon. It was an absolutely fantastic experience. The rooms are nice, modern and spacious. We really loved the soaking tub on the balcony. The view from the balcony at sunset was absolutely stunning. The hotel is situated on a steep hill. It's so steep that the hotel has a 4WD to take you up to your room (or you can suck it up and get some exercise!). We stayed on the highest room on the hill which had a balcony that opened out to an amazing view, and was surrounded by treetops. When we stayed there, the hotel outsourced its room service to a nearby restaurant. So if you wanted food, you had a full menu in the room to order from which the hotel would order on your behalf and then deliver to your room. The food was actually really nice. Breakfast was complimentary and western style - left in the fridge for us to make at our leisure in the morning. The staff were really nice and made our experience all the better. They were easy to engage in conversation with and would surprise us with random drinks etc. I highly recommend this hotel. It was by far the best place we stayed at during our honeymoon, would have stayed longer if we had the time! Looking forward to coming back one day!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Restful slice of paradise

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Pros: The staff in a word is exemplary. They give new meaning to customer service delivered with genuine care and not overbearing.
Cons: Absolutely nothing. Its perfect
Location: Its at the quieter end of Pantai Tengah / Jl. Teluk Baru. Walking distance to stores and restaurants, etc There is a public beach access as well.
Came here for 4 nights as a break from the chaos and bustle of our south east asia jaunt. This resort did not disappoint. Set in rain forest where rooms are on hill - have excellent views out on the beach/bay. Clean and well appointed rooms with balconies. The staff is what sets Ambong Ambong apart from all of the other resorts, they are friendly, greet you by name and accommodating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from China/United States

Unique experience

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: Location on the forest hillside with fantastic views.
Cons: Nothing to improve
Location: Secluded but local beaches and restaurants easily accessible by hotel drivers or taxi.
By far the best staff ever encountered, anywhere. Up and down the walkways to the higher rooms can be a challenge for those not in the best of shape. No problem due to the available transport up the hills. Great change from our normal beachfront locations close to all the action.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and lovely

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Very pleasant place to stay. Was great to meet with the owners over drinks and nibbles. Also breakfast was brilliant with great views and monkeys in the trees. Really enjoyed our stay and having a car was advisable to go see other parts of the island. Not suitable for those looking for a big resort on the beach and there are cheaper options on Langkawi but overall a lovely place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing views, great personal attention from staff

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Location and the great attentions of the staff
Location: It's worth hiring a car (the hotel will drop you off at a local rental place and there is parking onsite) to explore Langkawi.
This hotel is just beautiful. From the moment you arrive in the cafe, to the amazing views from the room (including the shower!) you cant stop looking at the view and the design details. Ambong Ambong makes the most of it's peaceful and pretty surroundings. It is quite far from the main part of town (a good thing) and you can always get a free ride there if you need. There are restaurants within easy walking distance though - particularly recommend the Japanese restaurant at the bottom of the hill and also fat cupid, a short drive away. We ate well, relaxed and had a great time thanks to the staff here who went out of their way to make us comfortable. Addi's cocktaills were superb and Raji gave us a guided tour of the gardens that taught me a lot. Couldn't ask for more!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Views

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Staff View Monkeys
Location: The beach is a 5 min drive down the road, as is the main town. Parasailing is there too and the views are amazing.
Although the trek to the top is long, the hotel provides a driver who is fantastic and available from 8am to 12pm, to take you all the way to the main beach once you call. Hotel has a great view and you are close to the wildlife. Monkeys are around and so you really feel like you are in the jungle which is fantastic for nature lovers. Overall friendly staff made the stay amazing, the room was really clean and due to the trek they provide breakfast in your room which is really convenient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mouldy room - not worth the money! Stay away!!

Posted Dec 27, 2015
I would not stay here again and would definitely not recommend this hotel! For the price we paid we had definitely expected more! Our room was located at the ground floor and the view was not very good. The worst thing about our stay was the terrible smell of the room, so that we didn't want to stay in our room. The location was also not very convenient, however they had a driver service. The only good thing about the hotel was the friendly staff.