Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Paradise

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Gorgeous tiny island with friendly efficient staff, fantastic activities, great food and well maintained rooms. Loved it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's a small island in 2 acre land. There is no AC

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Our experience at this island was terrible. Over all the servers were not bad. There are lot of hidden charges which they don't tell you at the time of check in. We took a spa package the lady told me the package was $215 for both for me and husband but at the time of check out they charged us $290 each . We both could say anything but felt cheated. We were charged $592 besides the hotel stay for the boat which brings you back and forth to the island. There were mosquitoes , and lizards crawling iand ants in the room. Over all I have one word to say that they are cheaters
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The island is beautiful, the burns are great, food is delicious, and the staff are absolutely wonderful!
Cons: I have absolutely no complaints. Everything is great and I would stay there again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

PARADISE

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff. It had everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Best tropical island we have been to. Great snorkelling, lots of activities. Visiting the nearby village was a wonderful experience.
A beautiful island, very tranquil and calming. Fantastic staff, Incredible food. Lots of activities or great to just unwind. The Toberua serenaders were great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Small resort on a tiny island

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros:
We just came back from 8 days at Toberua Island Resort and had an enjoyable and relaxing holiday. We would have preferred more info and more balanced reviews initially (hence making the effort with this review). We won't be back, as there are many better island holiday options, providing better value for money. Pros: 1. Small intimate resort (only 16 villas) on a tiny island - tranquil setting with good views 2. Friendly and helpful staff 3. Proximity to the main island, which makes for a quick transfer to the island. The resort provides shuttles 24X7 using their own boats 4. Pretty island, but not stunning 5. The visit to a local village on a neighbouring island was a highlight 6. They provide a range of activities: paddle boarding, kayaks, fishing and snorkeling trips, trip to a secluded island, etc (all trips at extra cost). Cons: 1. The food: well below standard for a resort and there are no alternatives on the island. Many guests complained about it. Rather pay by meal than per day - we skipped many meals 2. Half the villas are on the windy side, which has a strong wind virtually all the time (can't use your verandah). Book on the restaurant side, which is protected/quiet. Amazing difference. 3. The island does not really have a beach. That may be why they call their villas "oceanfront" not "beachfront". On an island holiday a good beach is a big priority for us 4. There is little privacy between villas 5. The showers alternate between scalding hot and freezing cold.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Piha

Holiday Bliss!

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Toberua is the perfect size, with only 16 beautifully crafted bures. Loved the gorgeous tropical garden setting.
Cons: I noticed just a few teeny things, e.g. plug in bathroom, door catch etc but overall our actual holiday was perfect!
Location: So much fun snorkelling, sup-ping & sailing on the Hobi Cat. The staff were so helpful. Nothing was a problem. Loved the trip to Picnic Island.
We had four fabulous days on Toberua Is. We loved the island, the delicious food, the facilities, the activities and most of all - the staff. We can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Toberua - Slice of Heaven

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Everything !
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Plenty of free activities, short day trips are worthwhile and the cost is reasonable. Snorkelling, a local village and Eco trips.
A fabulous holiday. Words are REALLY not enough. The current rating is absolutely true and on the money. The facilities are great, modern, clean and spacious. The management is professional, friendly, efficient and proactive. The food exceeded all our expectations. We looked forward to every single meal with anticipation - especially the lunches and dinners - amazing. Even the breakfasts with the home made hash browns were a highlight. The staff are so friendly, yet attentive. Willing to help and meet any need we had and pride themselves on great service. All the staff were fantastic - in the restaurant, in the bar, the housekeeping ladies, the maintenance guys, the activities staff and the musicians. (and they have a very good sense of humour and fun- once they get to know you). The location, the views, the lack of TV, the serenity, or - if desired the activity are the perfect holiday that we wanted. If you like fishing then it is great for fly, game and lure fishing. There are plenty of trevally, barracuda and other small athletic fish - including some Coral species of trout and grouper. The Island is small and away from ANY hustle and bustle. There is no 'kid's club' ! The photo opportunities are endless and the snorkelling is super ! Absolutely perfect - a magnificent getaway from a busy working life. There is NO question - we will be back to visit Toberua Island - as is the phrase 'It's your Island' - it is mine now ! We would go back next week if we could.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Unforgettable experience

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: We liked the food, the lovely music every afternoon and evening, the personal attention, the staff, island lay-out, the roomy and elegant buses
Cons: no improvement points
Location: Tuberua lies just off the coast of Suva with lots of activities incl. village visits, kayaking in the mangroves, diving, snorkelling, island picnics
We stayed at Toberua with our 3 young children for a week in April. It was an unforgettable experience - not only is the island lovely but each day was amazing from the activities organised, to the great staff, the wonderful food. The team of Toberua made us feel very special and well taken care off - they paid attention to every detail (such as their own Toberua farewell song when you leave, the seating in the restaurant along the beach, meal requests). The island is a nice size and when you want, you can find places where it feels like you have the whole island to yourself but also places where you can mingle. If you like to eat well, Toberua is a definitely a great place to go. Definitely some of the best food i have had on the islands in Fiji. Our time at Toberua was very special and we hope to return one day to this wonderful place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

A touch of paradise

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Wotif
Our second trip to Toberua was, one again, magical. You will never feel more spoiled or relaxed, never be as well fed or pampered and never meet such incredible staff. Great facilities, incredible location, the world's nicest people.
5 out of 5
by Camilla from Burry Port

Best ever

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
The most perfect place run by the most perfect hosts. I have never been anywhere like this before. The place is paradise! The staff are AMAZING and so friendly. Thanks to Maggy and Zach particularly for making our stay one we will never forget (and hope to repeat next year!)