Ratings based on 2,822 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Good location in London

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Get rid of the giant bathtub in the bathroom and replace with a walk-in shower. This would free up space for a decent sized vanity and sink.
Location: As above
This is a hotel in an old terraced building across from Hyde Park in the west end of London. Rooms are very small, bathrooms even smaller. Rooms now have A/C which on my previous visits was not the case. They have also added an iron and small ironing board where previously they only had the old fashioned trouser press. There is a safe in the room but a small fridge would be a nice addition. Best part is the location. An easy walk to Paddington station which takes you to and from Heathrow airport. Hyde park and Kensington Gardens are close by and a 20 minute walk through the gardens gets you to British Museum and the V&A. Lancaster Gate tube station is a 2 minute walk and you are then on the Central Line along Oxford Street for shopping.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

close to transportation

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Staff and convenience to train station (Paddington); the Underground station (Lancaster Gate) and bus stop (94, 274, 148,390, & hop on/hop off)
Cons: Ensure elevators are working. Have bathroom shelving and towel hook better placed. Towel hook above the door is too high for short people.
Location: Across from Hyde Park; near Queensway where Mall is located; small restaurants in street behind hotel, nice pub - The Swan - next door,
Only 1 elevator was working during entire stay. Bathroom was modern - no bath - but a shower which was awkward to use since shower was main feature (no shower curtain) so you had to walk on wet tiles to use the sink. Difficult to get into bed since space between bed and wall was no more than, seemingly, 8 inches on one side and less on the other.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

good value

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: proximity to park and tube station
I have stayed here mant times, Our stay went without problems. The staff are helpfula dn courtious. Although the rooms are small they were well kept
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Convenient hotel for a London break

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: localtion, public rooms, breakfast
Cons: lifts. Drainage of wet room
Location: Hyde Park, Oxford Street
room small, but well equipped, and bed comfortable. Wet room did not drain properly, making showering a challenge. Lifts slow, but I understand awaiting an engineer
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oslo

Glimrende beliggenhet

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Små men effektiv rom. Personell bra, utmerket beliggenhet ift sightseeing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Pete, Fl

Great location and staff

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Stayed 4 nights great location and staff especially concierge room outdated though
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There are definitely better places!

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Proximity to transit
Cons: Staff courtesy, quality of key cards, cleanliness of the room, elevator access to that basement level!!
Stayed here for access to city transit. They put us in a room in the far corner of the lower level (read basement). This is inspite of having a child with us. This multistory hotel has an elevator that does not service the level we are in and we had to lug our baggage down a flight of stairs. Room was small, carpets dirty. Bathroom was ok. Their key card wiped itself out everyday and we had to double back to the reception to get it reissued. Their explanation was that other cred cards or the oyster card may wipe it out. I have stayed in my fair share of hotels and this is a first!! Cheap paperlike airport garage parking receipts also do not erase themselves so easily. Stay here if you have no choice, else, please look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to underground railway and Hyde

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: knew its location as we stayed there before
Cons: Furniture out dated needs modernized
Location: Hyde Park for walks and pubs and restuatunts for relaxing
My overall experience was breakfast was to expensive drink was over priced stayed in upgraded room at my own expense great room
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Nice place to stay, friendly staff, terrible lifts

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Clean, helpful staff, good restaurant. very very convenient to the tube and anything in the city.
Cons: the LIFTS are terrible
Location: located in the paddington/lancaster gate area, right across the street from Hyde park. the location is excellent.
The location of this hotel is excellent, so close to Lancaster gate tube station. the Hotel is clean, lobby is nice, restaurant is good and staff very pleasant. My room was small but that was to be expected in London and was not bad at all, a tad dated and could use a refresher but clean. The only problem are the LIFTS they are so slow. on check out I waited for 15 minutes as lift after lift past my floor. they really need to work on that. but overall I would be happy to stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Lage und Frühstück
Cons:
Location: Lancaster Gate direkt am Hyde Park
Großes Hotel in toller Lage, gute Ausstattung, sehr gutes Frühstück, guter Service. Wirklich enttäuschend war dieses Mal das Zimmer im Vergleich zu einem Aufenthalt vor zwei Jahren: Wir hatten ein Dreibettzimmer gebucht, das leider sehr klein ausfiel. Es lag im Souterrain, war dementsprechend dunkel und hatte einen muffigen Geruch. Das Bad war sehr eng, die Badewanne sehr schmal, keine Handbrause, Toilettenspülung sehr bedenklich.