Ratings based on 614 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

10 stars

Posted Oct 6, 2016
From the moment you are greeted at the door by a member of the Mansion's fabulous staff, you'll recognize how fortunate you are to be there. The grounds are beautiful and the amentities plentiful. The hotel is exquisite, filled with history. The rooms are relaxed and spacious. Children are welcomed as well as pets. No matter the reason for your stay, business or pleasure, it will be enjoyed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hit or Miss

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Nice historical building turned into a hotel and that might be the issue. The rooms can be a hit or miss. Most of the rooms are old with very poor drainage in the showers. Air conditioning can be annoying. Carpeting throughout most of the hotel is dirty and smelly. Especially, going down the stairs to access the 2nd floor (if you could call it that). Staff is very nice but some at the front desk could be better. Customer service is where the strength of any hotel business lies. Arrogance towards your customers could cost you money. The grounds are well kept but the basketball courts are worn out and the hoops falling apart. Has a nice charm to it but could be much better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint Cloud, FL

A wonderful hotel like you've never seen before.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Class. The staff was friendly and made sure every part of my stay was perfect. I WILL be staying here again.
Cons: Nothing. Small renovations going on during my stay but no one bothered us and this didn't interfere with my stay.
Location: Very nice area of Long Island. Plenty of places to eat within 2 miles.
You pull up around the fountain in the circle driveway and expect to see 1920's movie stars stepping out of their Rolls Royce motorcars. This hotel is like nothing you've ever been to in normal life and travel. You enter the grand foyer and see a sweeping set of double stairs straight ahead. You turn to the right to enter the reception area and are greeted by a friendly staff member (rare in most hotels now days) and are welcomed. From this point on you are no longer in the 2000's but have stepped back in time. This hotel has class! The carpets, the woodwork, the crystal - everything. It is like an old time movie. Now on to the room and the rest. My room was very clean, air conditioned, had plenty of towels, the beds were made crisp, the linens all bright and clean. The bathroom had the standard features and was a normal size for most hotel rooms. The room itself was over-sized and had a nice flat screen TV and plenty of closet space. The outdoor pool was closed due to the weather but the inside pool was a nice temperature and also had a hot tub right next to it. The locker rooms featured both a steam room and a sauna. There is a fitness center that was fully equipped. Capping off the night was the upstairs club lounge that continued the romance of the early part of the century.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Juan, P.R

Beautiful place

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Despite the fact that the hotel was under renovation, the hospitality, cleanliness n views were great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phila

Nicer than the chains

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: the pool is nice
Cons: office chair would not adjust height
Location: convenient to my meeting
It's a nice place but be aware that you stay in a modern addition, not the mansion
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Old outdated hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Old musty room. The hallways felt like we were staying in a college dorm. Hotel had a very run down feel to it which was not at all what we expected. Indoor pool was cloudy, couldn't see through the water at all. Outdoor pool was nice, but information in our room said outdoor pool opened at 7am. Kids were up early to go, only to find out it actually doesn't open till 10! Overall a disappointing experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great expectations but fell short

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: the name
Cons: everything
Location: Beach
When we book this hotel we were very excited, never stayed in a Mansion. Driving to the hotel was nice and pulling into the property was exciting going down the long driveway. But all the high expiations and excitement quickly went away when we got to our room. As it turns out there are no bedrooms in the Mansion. In the 70’ this mansion was turned into hotel by building a separate hotel behind the Mansion. These building have no resemblance to the construction style of the Mansion, In fact it reminded me of college dorm buildings. Just brick blocks. The is also an addition to the back of the Mansion. The Mansion is used for business and weddings. The hotel room we had was very worn out. For some odd reason the door was open an inch when we go to the room for the first time, I thought someone was already in it. The carpet had stains and the linen was worn. The bathroom was worn too and had mold around the tiles. The toilet was very small, like the size if you were living in a camper. The first day we left the room about 9am came back at 3pm and the room was still not made up. There was a safe in the closet but it was left locked. I asked at the counter for them to fix it. They said they would do it right away. We waited around, no one every showed up and for the two day we were there it never got fixed. Minimal landscaping for a mansion. No flower gardens or tennis courts. There was an indoor pool, and small night club with live music but no food when we were there after 11
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mansion confusion.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: The grounds and the original Mansion it self.
Cons: The lower levels in the connecting buildings are in need of new wall paper and mold removal.
Location: We went to the local beach. The hotel provided a free pass.
The actual Mansion is great. The grounds,dining room and pool are great. The connecting building in the lower levels have a mildew smell. The wall paper in our room around the air conditioner and under our window had black mold and was falling away from the wall. The service was great. The layout of the hotel is confusing. I would go back and stay in the original Mansion building.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Grandios appearance but lots of things didn't work

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Beautiful lobby, cleaning staff was super helpful but some things were not up to par. Our phones didn't work:( beautiful pool, fantastic breakfast, nice workout room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hote,l very clean , gym is a little old .

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The property is real nice. Would be a great place to have a wedding. Beautiful dining room with glass all around. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. I would also go back the next time I am in Long Island.