Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stanhope, NJ

Disappointed. 2 overall rating is being kind.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
What was expected to be a relatively simple, single night stay at a 3.5 star rated hotel (per expedia), ended up being a major let down. Upon check-in the lobby was clean and actually quite nice looking. Was never told my credit card was being charged for a deposit during checkin which I found to be strange. The first room my wife and I found ourselves in, 275, was decent. The bed was okay (somewhat springy) and the tv worked, with a very limited cable menu. The other furniture in the room seemed in good shape despite the obvious age. Bathroom was clean and room was stocked with all hygiene products. Air vents were dirty and there was a nonworking fireplace for whatever reason. Room definitely needs some updating. We get ready to head out to visit with family and our room doesn't lock. Standard key card entry, just not working. So we called the front desk and asked if someone could quickly stop by the room to see if the issue was reparable, and if not, we could switch rooms. Took 40 minutes for the guy to show up, by which time I had already gone to the front desk and asked for keys to room #2. Room #2 was a real gem (room 234). Carpet completely removed from the floor boards from obvious water damage, creating a ripple effect almost bad enough to make you trip and hurt yourself. Mildew odor and just strangely humid room. Would have switched rooms again but had no time to waste. Felt dirty when I woke up. Simply put, your money is better spent elsewhere. Don't do it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms need to be updated

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The carpet felt dirty and was all buckled up, the sofa and chair seemed old an worn, bathroom was small and outdated. Over all didn't feel clean and had an old musty smell
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and a perfect location

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Cons: Bar service was slow at best. Seemed almost an inconvenience. But the drinks ultimately were good and it was on the late side, so not a big deal.
The front counter staff was so nice. They lent me a phone charger and gave great directions to restaurants etc. They are all a great addition to your hotel and create a good first (and last) impression.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay in LI

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The hotel was clean and spacious and the staff were very friendly.
Cons: Some sort of parking reserved for hotel guests. One night there was a large event in one of the ballrooms, and we had to wait to find an open spot.
Location: It seemed to be in a remote area of Long Island, with mostly industrial parks nearby. It was only 20/25 minutes to the Bay Shore and Sayville ferries.
My experience at the Upsky was very pleasant. My boyfriend and I were looking for somewhere relatively inexpensive to stay and travel to Fire Island each day, and this hotel was close and very comfortable for that purpose. The check in was very quick and the staff was all very friendly and accommodating. Our room was fairly large, with a king bed, and it was very clean. The hotel has a cafe (Cafe Pronto) with Starbucks coffee and baked treats for breakfast, and our room also had Starbucks coffee for the coffeemaker. The parking lot was large, and we were able to find parking easily on most days. One comment is that in the three days we were there, there were a lot of events going on, so one day the parking lot was at capacity.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY NY

decent place, in the middle of a remodel

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: common area lobby.
Cons: TV! go HD, and get more channels.
Location: not too much, but cool stuff in other towns not too far away.
the staff were nice and friendly and the lobby type areas looked amazing, however the hallways and rooms and some of the facilities either need a remodel, or are in the middle of a remodel. the TV channels sucked, and most weren't HD.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Lobby definitely sells the hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2016
It was fine, not clean... but doable. Hotel staff was nice. Fight broke out in the lobby while we were trying to work, so we had to leave. The bed was comfortable. You don't get free coffee or tea.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jul 7, 2016
We had a good experience, hotel was nice. Accurately described.
5 out of 5
by Sam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Marne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
I like the restaurant in the hotel for convienence. However the hotel is pretty dirty & run down.