Ratings based on 4,008 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel but not What I expected

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: The hotel lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas.
Cons: The room I stayed was next to housekeeping. Loud talking, banging of doors, rolling of carts. It was not a pleasant stay & didn't get much sleep.
The front desk was pleasant but not helpful enough to ensure that I get a good room to stay. He didn't seem to be more helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

My DTLA

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: I love its history, and, built in 1923, it has décor that reflects its place in the Los Angeles community.
Cons: A hotel bathrobe might have been fun, but I got on just fine without it.
Location: Central Library. Caravan Bookstore. 71Above Restaurant/Bar. Grand Central Market. Architecture. Bradbury Building. La Pitchoune! Bottega Louis.
I have been to Downtown Los Angeles many times over the years, as well as the Biltmore; having worked there, I fell in love with it in not time. But this is the first time I have stayed longer than several hours, and I loved it. The Biltmore is gorgeous, very well maintained, and the staff is most gracious. The more I'm there, the more I am hooked!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2016
VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE CONDITION OF THE ROOMS BASED ON THE PRICE.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nicely upgraded historic hotel..

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Beautiful, wonderful amenities, great personnel, room service with good food available.
Cons: The only thing I can think of is a little more cabinet space in the bathroom. There was no place to put your toiletry items.
Location: We actually drove to Hollywood but the location in town would be appreciated by many.
Hotel is absolutely gorgeous ! It has been upgraded but still has the lovely, traditional historic decor. The sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, and swimming pool were very nice amenities. Personnel helpful, friendly, and knowledgable. Would definitely recommend the experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful grand hotel fully modernized

Posted Nov 22, 2016
We stayed here while visiting the auto show at the LA Convention Center. Our visit started out very well - I had booked a king bed but preferred two doubles and they were pleased to accommodate. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. The lobby spaces are gorgeous. I have stayed in a lot of older "grand" hotels that are supposedly restored or renovated and often it is a disappointment. Make no mistake this one is authentic and really beautiful. Lots to explore in that neighborhood: if you walk towards the subway station it is mostly homeless people and hustlers. In the opposite direction (towards the convention center if you choose to walk) there are lots of good bars and restaurants. Overall felt safe outside. Bonus: there was a studio shoot outside our building one of the days.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY metro

Faded elegance

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Great old architecture but needs revitalization and better lighting to compete with all the new build downtown. Musty and dark. Rooms on exec level need to be spiffed and certainly need better electrical/wireless and counter space/fixtures in bathroom. Gym layout awkward but they do have hard to find air pressure resistance exercise equipment which is cool, and a classic art deco pool.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sofia, Bulgaria

Nice hotel in LA downtown

Posted Nov 18, 2016
A bit too loud sounds from window - may be the window frame was old/ with poor sound isolation. Staff is very good. Room was tidy overall, but I've found a sock under my bed...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, United States of America

Convenient Location in downtown LA

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Bustling, commercial hotel just a few blocks down the hill from Disney Hall, the Dorothy Chandler Pavillion and the Broad and MOCA contemporary art museums.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointing, Terrible!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Loved the inside architecture, lobby, mural ceilings. That's about it!
Cons: Room was terrible. I made this reservation months in advance and I know I reserved for a room that was bigger (500sqft.) because I was expecting 2 more of my sisters to join us from SF. When we arrived to check in, the man at the counter (not the friendliest), handed us the keys and that was that. When we got to the room I was shocked, it was so outdated! It was so tiny.... probably not even more that 150 sqft! There's nothing to look at on the walls, almost bare. The windows were so filthy we could hardly see the awful view of next building's roof and wall. The shutters were missing a knob on one. The beds were hard & uncomfortable. I know they were sold out, but did they give our room to someone else? Then they charge $45 a night for parking!so altogether we paid almost $300 a night for a terrible stay and very humiliating to my sisters. Thank God the other 2 didn't show up or they wouldn't have had any place to sleep on, not even enough space on the floor!!! Terrible.......very dissatisfied!
Location: Nothing good about this hotel, very dissatisfied!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with lousy service

Posted Nov 7, 2016
The front desk is one of the most important first impressions a hotel can make. The guy who checked us in was not friendly, ignored my questions, seemed annoyed with us and did not even give us directions to the hotel elevator to get to our room -mmkay - probably the worst check in experiences I've ever had. Went to the bar to get a drink, couldn't get the bartender to look our way. The hotel gift shop was on break or closed early both times we went to get something. I don' think anyone that worked at the hotel smiled once besides the valet guy who took our car. This hotel clearly doesn't train on friendliness. $45 parking fee on top of bad service. This hotel while beautiful decor was pretty much a depressing bummer!