Ratings based on 1,393 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Elsinore, CA

Perfect location

Posted Jun 26, 2017
The Standard was great. The staff at valet, check in and everyone else we came across was very nice. The room was clean and had everything we needed. Very stylish and LA vibes
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel has a rooftop with a pool.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: rooftop
Cons: the customer service. they need to be nicer to guests.
there was only one desk person at the front desk. it took half an hour to check in. we had trouble getting in the rooftop night club. this hotel was not great. the customer service was horrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Overall pleasant stay

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Awesome décor and great location if you are there for business downtown. Great pool and bar areas.
Cons: Better TV and remote. Coffee pot in room. Better ironing board and iron.
Location: Again, great bar and pool/lounge areas. Room service was great and very nice.
Hotel staff was very helpful, but if you are looking for a 'brand new' hotel this is not the location. Awesome décor and place to hang out. Room was nice, but missing a higher-end feel to the finishes. Clean and useful, just missing a the stepped-up feel of other Standard Hotels.
4 out of 5
by Sarah

Chaotic, but accommodating

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
I have stayed at the Standard DTLA one other time. Maybe because it was a holiday weekend, this time was a bit more chaotic than I remembered. The room was nice and all the amenities are great, and the price I got was definitely worth it. That said, the party started at 5pm when we arrive to find a group of drunk guys huddled around their friend who was projectile vomiting into a plastic bag. Part of the interest in staying at the Standard is having easy access to the hotel pool and rooftop bar. Unfortunately on weekends a third party vendor has taken over the roof and even guests have to wait in line, get their and stamped and then wait in line again to get carded before they are allowed up on the roof. This has been going on for about a year, but for some reason last time I stayed there I didn't have to go through the hand-stamping process - so this inconvenience was a big surprise. When I took my complaint to the front desk however, they were very nice and offered to comp some of our drinks for the trouble. I left the hotel feeling that the staff was nice, but that they have some logistical problems to work out before I would stay at that location again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from New York City, NY

Millennial Heaven

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Cons: Add a microwave to the facility. Lower the valet parking rates.
Location: The Westin Hotel 2 block away
Very expensive valet parking - cost is twice more than a daily car rental rate. Amenities: cool to see a room with 3-4 ping pong tables and a lounge. Roof top pool, lounge and beergarden - accessible to anyone staying at the hotel
5 out of 5
by Justine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay, parking is the only negative.

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
I love the area the hotel is located in. The bed is without a box spring, so if low beds aren't your thing this hotel isn't for you. The tub was huge and could comfortably fit two people. Lots of great places to eat and drink were easily within walking distance. My only problem is parking is $45 per day, but with come and go priveleges.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Rude staff when I checked out. Toilet malfunctions loud, noises heard from my room 50% of my stay there. Also if you want to use the pool as a guest it's only open 12-8.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of a refresh.

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Mod pod design must have been hot a decade ago but now appears tired. Poor acoustic separation between room and adjacent stairs. Stains and dirt within room did little to help its appeal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretentious Chic Motel of Downtown LA

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
The Standard is like the motel of upscale downtown hotels. It had a modern chic feel, but it lacked the most basic amenities. I've never stayed anywhere that didn't provide soap by the sink! What is that? Like 50 cents? The glass bathroom is also very impractical. Why do I need to be exposed in the shower? Even if I'm alone, it doesn't feel right. The shower curtain also doesn't make sense. It blows towards you while the shower water is on. Whoever designed it never took a physics class, or didn't bother turning the shower on to test it. Space and view and OK. I thought the rooftop pool was an infinity pool - I was wrong. It's also part of the rooftop bar so don't think you're gonna take a dip in it just for fun. It's for decoration. For $250/night, it's cheaper than other high end hotels in the area. But if you just need a place to crash in the area, go for the motels. At least they'll give you soap.