Ratings based on 1,281 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena

Contemporary and fun hotel in a great location.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The view of the new and historic buildings around it.
Cons: Put a table in the room (ala room service). Also, a DVD player and robes would have been a nice touch.
Location: Great location. Walking distance to Pershing square. Lots of restaurants and historic buildings around.
The room was very modern with a great view of the local buildings. The only downside to the room was that it had no table. The pool area on the roof was amazing!! Great views. The only problem was that when we were asked to leave the pool area (it closes at 10 pm), they were out of towels so we dripped all the way to the elevators, down to the lobby, and then back up to our room. Overall, we enjoyed our staff. The hotel is also located less than a block from our favorite restaurant (Takami) and is also within walking distance of the 7th Street Metro. So convenient!! The best part of the hotel were the staff. Everyone - bar none - were exceptionally friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

easy access to downtown LA such as convention cent

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: good layout of rooms; good location
Cons: not that excited about glass enclosure exposure to bedroom- unless of course you are targetting certain characters
Location: restaurantes; LA Live; convention center
easy access to downtown LA such as convention center, LA Live
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel bad service

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice h
Cons: Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice h
Location: Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice h
Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service. Nice hotel bad service
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2016
The rooftop experience has been removed due to private events. Close at 10pm on other nights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

horrible guest experience!

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: rooms are okay
Cons: all customer service
Location: great downtown location
the first day my room simply wasn't cleaned! when i enquired, i was told someone would come to clean the room (it was now 7 pm or so). when someone did arrive, he complained that this took him off his break. my colleague was also staying at the hotel and he too did not have his room cleaned. that evening i wanted a bottle of wine from the minibar. there was no corkscrew in the room. i called the front desk and then room service. neither helped (although they said they would). i went down to the front desk myself twice, with no success. i was ultimately told that the hotel charges for a corkscrew...and did i want one? what? the hotel is in serious decline from prior years, and i strongly suggest one stay elsewhere. by the way, when i respectfully spoke with a "supervisor"...there was no engagement...no interest...no "im sorry"....no interest in any way
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't clean room

Posted Jun 10, 2016
After letting them know that room was not cleaned, I would of thought they would get done. Nopr
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trendy Hotel that still has the Vibe

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Be sure to check out the large mural of bicyclists in the hotel gym (located on the third floor). That alone is worth the visit.
Enjoyed my stay immensely and took advantage of the rooftop/pool garden, the lounge on the second floor, the restaurant and the gym. Must defend the hotel in terms of some of the reviews regarding minimalism and noise. Look, if you're in Los Angeles to take your children to the theme parks, the Standard is not the place to stay. This is a hotel for the young crowd that likes to party, and for business travelers looking for a place that is trendy. The minimalist setup in the room is part of the charm. The staff were great and friendly. I for one appreciated the hotel having security to check the key cards when accessing the elevator. The security wasn't there for my entire stay, but was there when the hotel had a scheduled event on the rooftop. Definitely coming back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2016
Amazing roof top experience Had a great time Good food. Loved that it was open 24 hours
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
Quiet room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is fair, but lacks amenities.

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: It was very quiet.
Cons: Have a band to offer some kind of entertainment.
Location: Not much to do after 9pm on a Thursday, closest entertainment, in Hollywood for music, why when there is downtown L.A. Sad but true.
While the hotel is located in a very busy environment, it does not offer much to do around it after 9pm, there is nothing to do. On a Thursday night downtown L.A., very odd not even a nightclub with music.