Ratings based on 1,206 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Lots of construction and noise during our stay.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: beautiful view
Cons: construction
Location: taco loco
Room and staff very friendly, too much construction going on. Mislead on what is included in all-inclusive no matter how you ask, answer was always yes over the phone, not so.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellingham, WA

My home away from home

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Staff, location and amenities are all fantastic.
Cons: The room decor is a bit dated but everything works and how much time do you spend in your room anyway.
Location: Located on the best beach in Cabo. Although you can't swim it is within walking distance of anything you want to see or do.
This is our go to place in Cabo. The staff, the location, the people you meet here are always excellent. We have endured the creation of the Grand Solmar next door. While it is a top notch, 5 star place in Cabo we love the original little place we call our second home. The rooms are dated in decor but clean and have all the amenities of much more expensive places. You can't beat the location which is right on the beach. Crashing waves and walks in the sand are one of its more desirable features. The food is good and the pools are excellent, especially the main pool with the swim up bar. It is close enough to downtown and the marina to walk. What can I say this is my second home. See you next October.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

The Solmar Resort was an average place to stay.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: You had to walk about 1.5 to 2 miles to get to the marina where the restaurants and markets were located. Or you could pay $8 USD for a taxi there.
This hotel was good but not great. You could not swim in the ocean at the beach for Solmar because the rip tides were too strong and dangerous. Therefore, you had to find transportation to get to a swimmable beach or you had to walk. Also the A/C in the room did not get cold enough and you could not adjust the temperature yourself. You had to call the front desk to get maintenance to come to your room to adjust it for you. The humidity was terrible during the beginning of October... so it would have been nice to have a cold room. The pools were nice and kept clean each day. The food was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Construction ongoing. Food just ok.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Fishing, tc.
Needs work, lots of construction and noise at pool most of day from workers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Pleasant surprise

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Pretty good location to Downtown and the Marina area.
Very nice hotel, very spacious for one bedroom deluxe. Hotel staff is friendly, location is a bit of a walk to downtown but very doable. The beach area is breathtaking, but be warned you cant swim in that particular location. But the medano beach is a short taxi cab away. Hint hint, if you don't want to get bombarded by folks selling stuff head to the right rather than to all the restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Fish
Enjoyed the staff. The food and the booze. The room had a nice view. Very dated
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Very relaxing. Staff was very good at keeping my drink glass filled at the pool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Great resort right on the beach.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Being on the beach
Cons: They are working on the little bit of damage from hurricane Newton.
Location: The marina is in walking distance of the resort
I truly loved my stay at Solmar Resort. From the pool, the view, the staff and, being walking distance to the marina are all great reasons to stay there. I cannot say enough good things about the staff, they all were friends with us by the end of our stay. Our house keeping friend Lina is reason enough to go back to Solmar, she was just a wonderful person and took such great care of all our needs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel close to beach

Posted Sep 29, 2016
It was the perfect location for us to skimboard at Solmar beach, the hotel is great for a peaceful stay and its close to the marina easily walkable. Nice pool with a bar and great room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Very nice smaller property. Quaint and more private than others with an amazing beach walk. This area is definitely not swimmable but the crashing waves are amazing. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The food was really good for our all inclusive pkg. No top shelf liquor included but all the beer and fruity drinks you can want. The property is quieter with more locals than foreigners but we were also there in Sept. a quieter month just after the last smaller hurricane. Our rooms overlooked the pool and had a couple noisier nights but they ended by 10. Nice location and close to the restraiunt and pool. We did walk to town from this property but used a taxi at night. (8.00 usd to go down to town). Taxis are high there!!! Be sure to schedule a shuttle from the airport. No big deal. 42 vs 80+. Be sure to follow airport instructions and just go outside to find your shuttle!!! Inside they are so tricky. OMG. If you have the all inclusive and wear a wristband - all the locals will pretend to have met you at the Solmar and want to be your best friend and sale you the world. If I would have known, I'd have found a bracelet to cover my wristband for excursions. Great vacation!! We were there 7 nights. Adios