Ratings based on 279 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bogota

Nice Hotel, lovely experience!

Posted Feb 27, 2018
Pros: The food, the breakfast, the view from the eating area, the bed was super comfortable
Cons: Room smelled wet a somewhat and people seemed to be a little bit pissed off at the fact that we were demanding quality from the place and that strange
Location: Great Location, there are many restaurants. It cannot really get better, this is a place to go and rest, if u want better go to top (Machu Picchu)
Machu Picchu is definitely amazing, the hotel and the food at the hotel was great. I would love to come back and stay longer
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Best choice for Machu Picchu

Posted Feb 23, 2018
Awesome restaurant, really awesome chef. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, nothing to complain, so perfect.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Excellent, clean, nice stuff,

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Super clean, excellent ubication , very nice stuff, excellent food, excellent location ,
5 out of 5
by Richard

Posted Dec 17, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous views, and unparalleled customer service. They couldn't find enough extras to give us, and it felt like someone was throwing us a party. Wonderful facility with great location.
5 out of 5
by Marylou


Posted Dec 10, 2017 on Hotels
Sumac staff were very helpful. They arranged an exceptional tour guide for our experience at Machu Picchu.
4 out of 5
by Javed

Good for Machu Picchu, but very pricey

Posted Nov 24, 2017 on Hotels
Considering most of the hotels I heard about in Machu Picchu were a total dump, I had little expectations and was pleasantly surprised that the hotel was not as bad as others in the area. I was happy to learn that breakfast and dinner were part of the room rate, which made me feel better since the price of the hotel was very steep. The hotel is old, outdated, has no AC and is equivalent to a 3 star back home. However, the service made up for it. We were met at the train station by the staff who hauled our luggage to the hotel which is about a 10 Min walk from the train station. I was disappointed that the room was not ready when we arrived at 9:30am, especially considering how much we paid for the room. The hotel is a stickler on this. Checkout time is 10am, but our train did not leave until 4:12pm so the latest they allowed us to check out was 11am, not noon as we requested. The breakfast was decent but the dinner was top notch with an appetizer, main course and dessert which was a 10 out of 10. The room was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable with short comfy pillows. No AC, but the hotel gave us a fan which helped. I was disappointed with the shower. After a long day at Machu Picchu, all I wanted was to take a hot shower, but the water temperature would fluctuate; one second it was warm, then super hot, then immediately ice cold. This happened numerous times which also aggraved my four year old and one year old as the water would become boiling hot.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
hotel condition is excellent . staff is well trained and very nice. the room is large and the bed is very comfortable. the only concern is the location. paved street ended before reaching the hotel so be prepared to get mud in rainy days. the rail road tracks are right by the back of the hotel, so it is very noisy (but the last train passes at 10 PM) so could get a good night sleep.
5 out of 5
by Jaime

Would stay again.

Posted Nov 5, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome Hotel with great service
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Destin, FL

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Location: Perfect starting point for Machu Picchu.
Great location, professional staff and an outstanding restaurant.
4 out of 5
by Kelly

Beware if Allergies or Respiratory Issues

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
I want to start with the positives - first we are in a very remote part of the world, so don't be used to real 5 Star luxury in this area. The property itself is lovely and in a great location entering the village. The décor is lovely and the staff for the most part is very helpful. Food is great at all meals. Drawbacks: No air conditioning, no ceiling fans, and no screens on windows, so if you have any allergy or asthma issues be prepared. I was sick for 4 days after our night here. Room 2505 is very damp, musty and likely has rain/moisture/mildew damage in the ceiling/roof area above this top floor room. Couldn't sleep with the windows open because there are no screens on the windows and mosquitos are really bad this time of year. Just adding high powered celiing fans, or having mobile fans would be helpful, all they had was a humidifier which was the opposite of what I needed. Also, after spending over $800, I owed $20.70 at checkout. They took my US $20, but wouldn't take .70 cents, so we spent 20 minutes arguing over .70 cents - I finally just paid $40, got $19 US back, and incorrect change. It just wasn't worth the battle over either .30 or .70 cents. Management apologized and served us a free lunch. But again, these are just basic service issues that some staff need to be trained on. Other than Sanctuary Lodge and Eco Lodge, this is the best hotel in the area. Pay for a front room with large doors that open so you get some fresh air, and just take bug spray.