Ratings based on 321 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Needs Maintenance and Outside Lighting.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: The room was clean. The beds were cheap but comfortable. The view of the Bridge and Mackinac Island were Beautiful.
Cons: Clean exterior. Update interior lighting. AD lighting to the outside. Repair & clean balcony. Ad security locks. Replace Dirty & Torn Drapes.
Location: The location good. Need a car to get to restaurants etc. The view was wonderful. We took the Ugly Anne History Tour at 5:00. Excellent.
It was a shock to see the condition of the exterior. Needs Maintenance. My main concern was the lack of lighting in the parking area. No light by the outside of the door. The entrance and all the other units by mine were ALL DARK. No security locks on the inside of the doors. Two doors, one to the parking lot and one to the balcony. The balcony's ALL needed to be maintained and cleaned. The beach front and all of the grounds needed to be cleaned.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Hotel deserves no stars

Posted Sep 15, 2017
This hotel deserves no stars. The room was filthy and in dire need of repairs. Management should really consider investing in the upkeep of this hotel and make rooms pleasant and presentable for guests. Would not recommend this hotel at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockford, MI

Room was Lacking

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Lake View & view of the bridge at night was nice and kids loved the "Indoor Water Park". Could see the bridge and Mackinac Island from the room.
Cons: Cleanliness, repairs and updating.
Location: About 1.5 miles south of downtown for shopping, and about 1/2 miles South of the Star Line Ferry Dock.
Half the outlets did not work, so we couldn't turn on the lights by the bed, only 1 floor light and the lights in the bathroom & entry way worked. No place to really plug in phones unless you unplugged the light or alarm clock. No hair dryer in the room, the fridge that barely got cold. Spider webs all around the floor and rust all along the metal in the drop ceiling in the bathroom. Also, breakfast was at the hotel next door, not easy access especially in bad weather. Indoor Water Park was 2 hotels away. Took a couple of tries to get the sliding glass door to relock, definitely looked like it had been pried open from the outside in the past. Tiny deck could have used stairs for easier access to the lake/water.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo, MI

Older beachside motel next to newer options

Posted Sep 4, 2017
We went to Mackinaw City as an impromptu family vacation and booked online, site unseen. We were expecting a hotel from the photos, and found we were in a quaint (older) roadside motel, sandwiched between two newer hotels. We were forced to prepay online, so we made do with the accommodations. The advertised free breakfast and water park were both at the adjoining hotels. The staff did give us Chamber coupons for downtown restaurants and entertainment, but it small concession for a dark, older room that was slightly musty when we entered. It is on the beach (with was slightly dirty with cigarette butts and trash), and has a small indoor pool and hot tub of its own. It was walking distance from the Mackinaw Island Ferry Dock 1. Overall, it was ok, if you are planning on site seeing and not staying hold up in the motel room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sterling hts, MI

Good location on the beach

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Nice beach right in the water. Hotel in need of updating. Room served the purpose of somewhere to sleep. Had free breakfast but had to walk down to another hotel to get it. Also had the use of a water park but that was down the street at another hotel too. I guess it was cheaper to stay at this hotel and we got to use the amenities of the more expensive hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from webberville mi

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: beach
Cons: modernize it
Location: the location was good not to far from down town mackinaw city
the room was clean, the beach was good. advertised a continental breakfast and the only thing they had was coffee. very old, broken shades on windows.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Staff rude, not helpful. No free breakfast on site. They send you to another Hotel. Place in poor condition.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great Location! Comfortable room.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
The room was fairly nice. It had a few small cosmetic issues, but overall was decent. The location is perfect; on the beach and within walking distance of all the shops and local attractions. We swam in the (icy) cold lake, then warmed up in the hot tub and pool (loved the waterfall-fountain thing). For the location and beautiful views of the bridge, the price of the room was perfect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit area

On the Beach

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The indoor pool and that it is right on the beach. You can walk downtown to the shops but we drove there and found plenty of parking (on a weekday).
Cons: The door knobs are old and our door didn't always lock. They still use the old-fashioned key on a chain.
This hotel is old and needs to be updated but I knew that when I booked it. The room was clean (shower only) and the a/c worked good. The indoor pool was a good size and my kids liked the small waterfall. They also liked the large hot tub. The best part about staying here was that the hotel is right on the beach. My kids had a blast swimming in Lake Huron and we also liked having a view of the bridge and an amazing sight of the orange moon on the water at night. This hotel offers access to the indoor water park that is at a neighboring hotel. The water park looked nice from our view outside of it but we never had time to use it. You cannot use it on the day of check out. Breakfast was at the hotel next door and it was very nice (although very warm inside) with a large room and enough offerings to please everyone. We got a very good price and were happy with what we received for it. If I stayed here again, I would inquire about the beachfront building that is newer and has balconies facing the beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Do NOT book in Waterfront Inn - Mackinaw City

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Reception because that was the only clean place which I have seen in this hotel
Cons: Hire some third party consultant team for it as there are lots of scope in improvement.
Location: beach
- Staff is so rude - Room was not clean - Room phone was not working and reception lady was so rude she didn't even listen to us. - Breakfast was complementary in our booking but purposely reception staff was not giving this information. - Wifi information was not provided. When I asked reception lady she was so unhappy to give it like I have asked for bank password.