Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Mar 12, 2018
we have stayed at Novotel Macon for many years on the way back from skiing and have even come to know the manager who is charming. But, as with many hotels of this type everything is done to save money. Cruddy little cardboard cups for tea in the morning. A completely self serve breakfast with soggy bacon and a queue round the coffee machine and toaster. Dinner too has suffered, no longer a proper menu but a laminated place mat with the choices on it. Ludicrously expensive wine (Eu 7.50 per 150 cl) served by a means of a rubber pump device attached to the bottle, 2 squirts! My wife is a veggie and unbelievably there was a vegetarian choice. This arrived- a portion of chips, a dollop of mash potatoes and a plastic cartonette of rice with a few beans. Probably the worst veggie meal ever! Surely a French chef can knock up an omelette? I can.But in it's defence it's cheap. My son slept in our room and the beds are comfortable. Elegant living it aint!
4 out of 5
by Gillian

Good family stopover

Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great location 2 minutes from the motorway. Good family room. Restaurant slightly pricey but good quality.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gatwick

Nice for Stopovers

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Really nice hotel. Close to motorway, excellent stopover for journeys to south of France.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salisbury

Good overnight hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stop off when driving to the south of France and you need to break the journey.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Horsley, Stroud.

Very good hotel convenient for motorway stops.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and staff.
Cons: Shower didn't work, only the bath.
Location: Convenient for motorway stop.
Friendly staff, spotlessly clean and easy to book in. Very generous buffet breakfast. Swimming pool and outdoor eating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best Breakfast, Pool, and Play Area for Children

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
We had 27 members of our family stay here for our family reunion trip around Europe. The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. The family loved the pool after being out all day in the heat of summer. There was lots of green grass for the children to run around and play on the slide & swings. Breakfast was included in our reservation, and was a great buffet with so many choices of hot and cold foods, croissants, Belgian waffles, fresh fruit, juices, etc. You could boil your own eggs to your liking. There is no elevator but it's only 1 flight of stairs up. There is ample parking and a convenience store across the street.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Nice, no elevator although only 2 story so not bad

Posted Jul 8, 2016
We only stayed 1 night comfortable. The breakfast was bit expensive, but shops nearby.
2 out of 5
by robert from London

rubbish food, terrible service and decor.

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
The only reason we decided to stay at this hotel is its proximity to the motorway exit on a stay over for a long trip. This means it took us an additional 45 mins to relocate to another exit. These works are on going and the hotel took our booking without telling us about the exit being closed. When i told the hotel manager she did not care. The swimmingpool is caged in and looks awful from the restaurant. There were some clients in the pool however its proximity to full view from the restaurant in the hotel and the large cage it is in put us off. It is like a hotel that wes converted in the 70's not very nice. The staff at the restaurant were not very nice either. There was an awful lot of them serving four tables and everybods was late served as the staff were chatting. We as paying customers did not matter and we were not the only customers in the same position. Overall i would give the hotel 2 stars and not recommend a stay. Please check ahead to see if the motorway exit has opened.
5 out of 5
by Suzanne from Waterlooville

A Stop over.

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great stay. Secure parking. Will stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Novotel Macon

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
Overnight stay on way through France - ideal for access from the motorway. Hotel was as expected for a standard out of town Novotel