Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver, co

Great general manager- Rest of the staff, awful.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
It's hard to narrow it down to 50 characters. We were forgotten to be picked up at the airport, then when we called, we were told we would be charged per person each way. This, all after my mom set up our ride months in advance with the hotel and a fee was never told to us. Then the staff was incredibly rude and not helpful what so ever. Half the options on the bar menu they were "out" of. Collin, the manager was wonderful and made up for the ride mistake by sending us on an elephant excursion. He is the only positive of the hotel. The dinners buffet was also pretty good and the food was tasty. The safaris were wonderful but those aren't associated with the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
It was good accept the shower, the water is not flowing.
3 out of 5
by Leonie from Johannesburg

Potentially lovely depending where your room is

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
The photos on the website led me to believe there were more river facing rooms than what was the reality. We were a couple - the receptionist checked us into a twin bed room that was cramped and no where near any of the beautiful parts of the hotel. We might as well have been in City Lodge (rooms from 300). Spa was great. The rooms need some maintenance re wood chipping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Leonie Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t met at all your expectations. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience. Best Regards
5 out of 5
by Simone from Jupiter Florida USA

Great place, great stay!

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
What an awesome hotel at the Malelane Gate of Kruger Park. Everything was excellent, food was delicious and especially enjoyed having breakfast on the elevated terrace, overlooking the Crocodile River and the park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Simone Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Kruger Hotel. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation. We look forward to welcome you again. With kind regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view but terrible staff

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
This place is outdated. The rooms could use some renovating. The staff is very unprofessional and treat you like you are trying to cheat them somehow from the moment you arrive. The location of the hotel is Excellent but one can't rest on location alone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t met at all your expectations. Kindly accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience Best regards
3 out of 5
by Hayden

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Staff very friendly and helpful. Great service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Hayden, Thank you very much for your comments on hotels.com. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Kruger Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to South Africa. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

APALLING

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
What a shocking experience, 14 years with no renovations. The cleansiness rubbish outside our room. Food was always cold, staff unfriendly and no manners. Location is amazing but over all experience I will never recommend this hotel to my clients
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Anonimo The feedback from our customers is fundamental to us in order to honor our commitment. After analyzing your commentary, We would like to express my regret that we have not been able to live up to your expectations. However we will share your commentary with all our teams, so that we can progress in a better and more positive direction. Kind regards
1 out of 5
by Allan from Guateng

Disappointing hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
The room was handed over in poor condition - no wifi, aircon did not work, globes out in ceiling, broken and torn bedside lamp. food was tasteless and below par. Hotel was generally tired and in need of an upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Guateng We would like to present our sincere apologies since we were not aware of your expectations. Kind regards