Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Arild Arne

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Place was just ok. Not sure if it deserves a 4 Star Rating. Staff were not that friendly. Towels were smelling bad. Monkeys on property and NO warning whatsoever regarding these monkeys. Location is excellent for Kruger Park entry/exit.
4 out of 5
by Teresa

Not the Pestana standard that we are used to!

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
The location is excellent but the lodge needs to be renovated. The furniture is old with chips, some doors don't have the safety lock. There are some very uncomfortable chairs in the dinning room.
3 out of 5
by Nafeesah

Only stay in a family room

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Stay in the family rooms and never look back. This time we didn't get one and it was uncomfortable. I already know there is No wifi in the room but the room we got with a double bed had 2 singles pushed together. The air con blew directly onto the bed and into our faces which added insult to injury. Then the tv was tucked in an armoire that wasn't faced near the bed so we had to angle it and watch sideways. Usually we don't spend much time in the room but it was raining and we did this time. I was disappointed with this stay.
2 out of 5
by Wimpie

Worst 4 star Hotel in the world

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
I have read most of the negative comments before we decided to book into Pestana . Like most of you I thought the people were a bit tough on them . I wished we listened . Pestana charge 4 star prices for a defnitely below par 3 star Hotel . The deck chairs was swamped by spider webs . haven't been cleaned for months . The grass was long and you could not make out where the weed begins and the grass ends . The wall had splashes of wrong paint which tried to cover up old drill marks . The receptionist tried to stand in for the lack of a bar man . They tried their best but said there is no bar man . The deck poles in front of our room was broken and by the look at it for quite a while . I think the place needs a new manager as the one currently their is not up to par to run such an establishment . Like I said a below par 3 star hotel with 4 star price tag . Expect exactly that .
4 out of 5
by Marshall

Very, very close to Malelane Gate.

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
Good room in one of the bungalows. Hot water and clean. Check-in was simple. Restaurant staff are very slow and enjoy standing around talking rather than working. All seem to have become accustomed to the automatic tips left behind by guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver, co

Great general manager- Rest of the staff, awful.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
It's hard to narrow it down to 50 characters. We were forgotten to be picked up at the airport, then when we called, we were told we would be charged per person each way. This, all after my mom set up our ride months in advance with the hotel and a fee was never told to us. Then the staff was incredibly rude and not helpful what so ever. Half the options on the bar menu they were "out" of. Collin, the manager was wonderful and made up for the ride mistake by sending us on an elephant excursion. He is the only positive of the hotel. The dinners buffet was also pretty good and the food was tasty. The safaris were wonderful but those aren't associated with the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
It was good accept the shower, the water is not flowing.
3 out of 5
by Leonie from Johannesburg

Potentially lovely depending where your room is

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
The photos on the website led me to believe there were more river facing rooms than what was the reality. We were a couple - the receptionist checked us into a twin bed room that was cramped and no where near any of the beautiful parts of the hotel. We might as well have been in City Lodge (rooms from 300). Spa was great. The rooms need some maintenance re wood chipping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Leonie Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t met at all your expectations. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience. Best Regards
5 out of 5
by Simone from Jupiter Florida USA

Great place, great stay!

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
What an awesome hotel at the Malelane Gate of Kruger Park. Everything was excellent, food was delicious and especially enjoyed having breakfast on the elevated terrace, overlooking the Crocodile River and the park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Simone Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Kruger Hotel. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation. We look forward to welcome you again. With kind regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view but terrible staff

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
This place is outdated. The rooms could use some renovating. The staff is very unprofessional and treat you like you are trying to cheat them somehow from the moment you arrive. The location of the hotel is Excellent but one can't rest on location alone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t met at all your expectations. Kindly accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience Best regards