Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX USA

Great view but some updating is needed

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Great staff but resort is a little outdated. Food was hit and miss... not a big fan of flies around my food. Sea view room had an amazing view. Bathroom shower head need changing and my tv in the room flickered. Also had quite a bit of wifi challenges during our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

Great location, nice staff, average food

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Nice staff, beautiful location.
Cons: Choice of food, don't serve only fish or meat in one day. Include a suttle service from/to from port/airport
Location: We stayed in the resort, the pool and bar are nice.
The location is great, its a paradise. For us to get to the island was a hassle and caused a lot of stress, We are a couple (Peruvian/Dutch) that travels a lot but did not feel comfortable at all with all the aggressive taxi drivers and porters at the port all act friendly trying to 'help' you (off your money). once in the resort it feels save again. a nice welcome is waiting. i guess you should take full board(all in) we did not and a la card is below all standards, for all-in you would maybe except it. The buffet, can we good when you go when it just opens when you go late the food is just old. i don't like fish one day the alternative was only patatos or dry rise or desert. We tried a la cart the next day.. it looked like it came from buffet from an hour ago. The staff is great, at night they spray the room for muscitos and fix the bed al and all very willing to make it a good stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Simple and Effective, missing the WOW factor

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The staff were all very polite and pleasant and the food is very good. Looking out across the peaceful sea to view the sunset is amazing!
Cons: Attention and investment into the detail, ensuring that guests get the service and standards which they've paid for.
Location: Agency is on site to book activities but you can book them for significantly cheaper if willing to travel into Stone Town and barter with guides
As newlyweds Sea Cliff offers a pleasant experience, they do the basics very well but lack the WOW factor to make it an amazing experience. All of the staff were always polite and happy to help, however the pool staff didn't proactively approach guests for drinks/food requests on a regular basis, usually you need to go to the bar or hope that someone is passing. The inclusion of leisure activities for free (pool, squash, darts, bikes, table tennis, tennis, snorkelling, kayaking and other non-motorised water sports) are a good idea however they are of a low quality, for example the snorkels and masks were dirty and not cleaned after each guest, pool balls were missing, darts had no flights and bikes were unavailable. They offer a shuttle bus into Stone Town with little to no information, arriving in town the bus driver simply pulls over and indicates to leave the bus. With men hounding at the window as you pull up and following individuals for 50m to offer 'tour guide services' it was a bit much for the elderly couple who were traveling with us and could have been managed with a simple communication to guests. The list goes on, they set high guest expectations with their prices and fall short of amazing due to their neglect for the details. For our honeymoon and the price we paid I expected more, ultimately it has the ingredients for an amazing holiday and its disappointing that they go 90% of the way and yet fail to deliver due to seemingly a lack of care.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hôtel accueillant petit cocon favorisant le repos

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Voyage magnifique hôtel et personnel au top Je recommande
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eine reine Enttäuschung

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Wenn sie einen lieblosen Hotelkomplex 'all-inclusive' wünschen der auch an der Nordsee stehen könnte sind sie hier gensu richtig. Wenn Sie einen 'Zanzibar-Urlaub' verbringen wollen, sind sie wahrscheinlich in jedem anderen Hotel der Insel besser aufgehoben. Wir waren leider ganze 5 Tage hier und es gab nicht einen an dem wir kein größeres Problem oder Unzulänglichkeit hatten. Auszugsweise die gravierendsten: Wir hatten darum gebeten nicht in einem betimmten Zimmer untergebracht zu werden. In welches wollte man uns zuerst einbuchen? In genau dieses eine welches wir vorab abgelehnt hatten . Die Bar auf dem Meer hat ganze 2 Stunden geöffnet. Also... Sollte sie. An unserem letzten Abend wollten wir den Sonnenuntergang mit einem Drunk geniessen. Die Bar sollte um 5 öffnen. Um 15 vor 6 kam ein Angestellter welcher die Bar öffnete. Ausser uns waren noch 3 andere Gäste zu gegen. Diese zu bedienen kostete ihn 20 Min. Der Sommenuntergang war bis dahin vorrüber. Das 'Highlight': Als Entschuldigung und Wiedergutmachung wurde uns eine Flasche Champagner auf das Zimmer gebracht. Der Korken dieser war VERSCHIMMELT! Nicht ein wenig. Der komplette Korken war mit Schimmel überzogen. So wurde sie uns ins Zimmer gestellt. Auch der ''Strand'' ist ein Witz. Ja, das Essen war gut und sauber war es auch. Dennoch... Sollten Sie nach Zanzibar fahren, suchen sie sich in jedem Fall eine andere Unterkunft. Sie bekommen für viel weniger Geld, viel, viel bessere
5 out of 5
by Parin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, Mo

Anniversary Getaway

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: The hotel was thirty minutes out from Stone Town. The shuttle ran in the morning ... for free.
Cons: The wireless network was a pain at times to stay connected to, but not always.
Location: We had the half board deal. It was all the good food you could desire. But 9 to 1 of a day you could take the shuttle into Sone Town. Good food there.
My wife and I travel to Zanzibar about every two to three years. We have stayed on all sides of the island, in and out of town. This was one of the best experiences we have ever had. Understand we were celebrating 40 years of marriage. We have seen all the sights and taken all the tours. This was a relaxing week away from the maddening crowd. The staff are well trained and attentive. I was empressed with not just how they treated us, speaking Swahili, but tourists who were English bound were well attended to also. The grounds were well kept up. The food was very good. The sunsets were romantic. I highly recommend the sea view rooms. We paid the extra for the upgrade and enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Harcourt, Nigeria

Beautiful hotel on the Indian Ocean

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Some bug zappers at the buffet and restaurant would help keep the flies and bees at bay.
Location: Not far from Stone Town and lots of tours available.
Lovely experience all-round - beautiful location with very helpful and polite staff. Even the check-in for our group (we were there for a wedding) was the most pain-free one I've ever had. The attention to detail made the wedding one to remember!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK/Ghana

Beautiful all round

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: The location Facilities Restaurant & food The staff, particularly- the restaurant Manager
Cons: More Chairs - (arm chairs for the Deluxe Bedroom)
It was a beautiful place - by the Ocean, Spice Island, Great grounds and facilities. Services including Spa, Restaurant and rooms were all very good.
5 out of 5
by Imran Fawaz from Nørrebro, København

Bedste og mest afslappende ophold nogensinde

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
Dejlig og afslappende oplevelse på et af de bedste hoteller på Zanzibar i følge hvad vi havde hørt fra andre gæster der havde været rundt omkring på hoteller på øen. Det var klart også vores indtryk. Rigtige søde hotelarbejdere.