Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eine reine Enttäuschung

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Wenn sie einen lieblosen Hotelkomplex 'all-inclusive' wünschen der auch an der Nordsee stehen könnte sind sie hier gensu richtig. Wenn Sie einen 'Zanzibar-Urlaub' verbringen wollen, sind sie wahrscheinlich in jedem anderen Hotel der Insel besser aufgehoben. Wir waren leider ganze 5 Tage hier und es gab nicht einen an dem wir kein größeres Problem oder Unzulänglichkeit hatten. Auszugsweise die gravierendsten: Wir hatten darum gebeten nicht in einem betimmten Zimmer untergebracht zu werden. In welches wollte man uns zuerst einbuchen? In genau dieses eine welches wir vorab abgelehnt hatten . Die Bar auf dem Meer hat ganze 2 Stunden geöffnet. Also... Sollte sie. An unserem letzten Abend wollten wir den Sonnenuntergang mit einem Drunk geniessen. Die Bar sollte um 5 öffnen. Um 15 vor 6 kam ein Angestellter welcher die Bar öffnete. Ausser uns waren noch 3 andere Gäste zu gegen. Diese zu bedienen kostete ihn 20 Min. Der Sommenuntergang war bis dahin vorrüber. Das 'Highlight': Als Entschuldigung und Wiedergutmachung wurde uns eine Flasche Champagner auf das Zimmer gebracht. Der Korken dieser war VERSCHIMMELT! Nicht ein wenig. Der komplette Korken war mit Schimmel überzogen. So wurde sie uns ins Zimmer gestellt. Auch der ''Strand'' ist ein Witz. Ja, das Essen war gut und sauber war es auch. Dennoch... Sollten Sie nach Zanzibar fahren, suchen sie sich in jedem Fall eine andere Unterkunft. Sie bekommen für viel weniger Geld, viel, viel bessere
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, Mo

Anniversary Getaway

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: The hotel was thirty minutes out from Stone Town. The shuttle ran in the morning ... for free.
Cons: The wireless network was a pain at times to stay connected to, but not always.
Location: We had the half board deal. It was all the good food you could desire. But 9 to 1 of a day you could take the shuttle into Sone Town. Good food there.
My wife and I travel to Zanzibar about every two to three years. We have stayed on all sides of the island, in and out of town. This was one of the best experiences we have ever had. Understand we were celebrating 40 years of marriage. We have seen all the sights and taken all the tours. This was a relaxing week away from the maddening crowd. The staff are well trained and attentive. I was empressed with not just how they treated us, speaking Swahili, but tourists who were English bound were well attended to also. The grounds were well kept up. The food was very good. The sunsets were romantic. I highly recommend the sea view rooms. We paid the extra for the upgrade and enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Harcourt, Nigeria

Beautiful hotel on the Indian Ocean

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Some bug zappers at the buffet and restaurant would help keep the flies and bees at bay.
Location: Not far from Stone Town and lots of tours available.
Lovely experience all-round - beautiful location with very helpful and polite staff. Even the check-in for our group (we were there for a wedding) was the most pain-free one I've ever had. The attention to detail made the wedding one to remember!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK/Ghana

Beautiful all round

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: The location Facilities Restaurant & food The staff, particularly- the restaurant Manager
Cons: More Chairs - (arm chairs for the Deluxe Bedroom)
It was a beautiful place - by the Ocean, Spice Island, Great grounds and facilities. Services including Spa, Restaurant and rooms were all very good.
5 out of 5
by Imran Fawaz from Nørrebro, København

Bedste og mest afslappende ophold nogensinde

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
Dejlig og afslappende oplevelse på et af de bedste hoteller på Zanzibar i følge hvad vi havde hørt fra andre gæster der havde været rundt omkring på hoteller på øen. Det var klart også vores indtryk. Rigtige søde hotelarbejdere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: The pool and the view. I would have like the pool to get deeper than 4ft, but it was still wonderful to relax in. The bed was very comfortable.
Cons: Food could use a bit of finessing. Speed of service could be improved.
Location: I didn't leave during my stay, so I don't know what there is to do immediately around, though it seems a cab would be needed to go anywhere.
The setting is breathtaking. The view, the pool, the manicured grounds...all lovely and relaxing. We arrived a bit earlier than check-in time, so had to sit in the lounge area for a bit before our rooms were ready...but the view, and the frozen drinks brought to us while we waited helped us pass the time. The rooms were very clean and inviting. Flowers adorned the bed (designs changed daily). I was shown where the fridge and safe were as well as told about laundry services (which I did end up using...nothing properly dries in the humidity there). General service was slow (as I found to be the case everywhere), but staff was very helpful and friendly. The buffet style eating was alright. Lots of options...mostly catered for the western palette, nothing I ate was outstanding...but the food was decent. It's a good idea to get full board, or all inclusive unless you know during the day you are going to be out adventuring somewhere (nothing's all that close, but nothing's all that far away either being an island). We didn't really leave during our three day stay, so having the all inclusive option was well worth the cost. We had a fun and relaxing time. I would return. *I will make the recommendation to use the safe. Luckily I didn't have any issues, but others I was traveling with had a substantial amount of money taken from their rooms. So please, be smart and put valuables in the safe, or keep them with you.*
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic - everything exceeded expectations

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Fantastic stay from beginning to end. The hotel really made a huge effort with our group - a fiftieth birthday. The hotel itself is in a massive plot and has fantastic facilities - I had two spa treatments - both excellent, used the gym, husband enjoyed the golf. Good good, tennis and squash courts, great swimming pool etc etc - really couldn't fault anything.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

OK hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2016
The hotel is ok,quite average. Staff and management are really helpful and friendly but sadly the beach is a let down -most of the time the tide is far out and the beach close to the golf course is very dirty -all the ocean rubbish gets washed ashore and not cleared up. The food is quite average too. I would stay there again because it is close to Stonetown but would not recommend it to anyone looking for a nice beach experience.
4 out of 5
by albail from Albail Sohanpal , Tanga,Tanzania.

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed every moment of our two night stay at the hotel,the hotel had also provided a cake for my wife's 50th,that being the reason of our visit.
5 out of 5
by Marie

ridtur på stranden! ***

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
underbar anläggning med rid och golfmöjlighet!