Ratings based on 768 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north pole alaska

Awesome one acre family friendly pool

Posted Apr 21, 2016
My second stay here, loved it nice resort to hang out at , nice rooms big bathrooms,with deep soaking tub
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Nice improvements being made to facility over the years. Restaurant and buffet could improve for sure. Like that they added laundry baskets to each room, but laundry machines smell moldy and need maintenance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

4pm Check In and 10am Check Out -

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: The hotel was clean and bathroom had updated tile.
Cons: Check in and Checkout time should be shorter
Location: Whalers Village was 2 1/2 miles away.
We arrived at hotel around 2pm and the hotel staff pointed out check in is not until 4pm. I replied that it would be great if she could get us in earlier and she pointed to the itinerary and said the check in time is stated on itinerary. I pointed out that most hotels will try to get you into your room if it is available and she shook her head no the entire time I spoke. She was rude. I frankly think that most hotels should be apologetic when they have you check in so late in the day. You are paying to the room for days and not portions of the day. This is why most will try to accomodate you as soon as possible. I also felt this hotel was not very Maui like. It felt more like I was in Vegas with the two pools and waterfalls. The beach are directly in front of hotel was very small and not a place you could lay out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley, CA

Room with a great view of pool & ocean.

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Location was most important when booking this trip and the room was big with a great view.
Cons: More umbrellas around the pool chairs.
Location: Close to Kaanapali Beach and Lahaina close to shopping.
Hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly. Beautiful grounds with lush grounds and waterfalls surrounding pool. A little piece of home in paradise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

My favorite Hotel Property on Maui

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: The old Embassy Suite rooms have been modernized and updated. It's just a darn comfortable place to stay.
Cons: Unless you like the buffet concept, dining at the resort leaves a lot to be desired. The prices are high & the food at Maui Pizza & Deli was repulsive
Location: The best show in town is Warren & Annabelle's Magic Show. The local theatre group Maui on stage at the Iao theatre is very impressive.
Diamond Resorts purchased the old Embassy Suites property several years back and converted it into a time share resort. I did not like the changeover at the time, but on balance, Diamond has done a very good job maintaining the property. It is very expensive to stay there most of the time, and I'm being priced out of the market, so I really treasured this visit, because it is likely my last.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice hotel, great for kids

Posted Feb 27, 2016
That's an older resort but clean with great pool. All the staff was very nice and helpful. On-site restaurants are pretty good for breakfast or quick lunch. Wonderful view from most of the rooms or you can use public balconies for watching sunsets. The beach in front of the hotel is not good for swimming (sharp stones and strong currents - we only walked alongside and I got my feet hurt) but the pool is excellent. Short distance to amazing, calm beaches. My only complaint is about the concierge that signs you up for the timeshare presentation as soon as you arrive. We were 'dragged' to the concierge desk as soon as we checked in. With a small baby, after long trip, hungry and they keep you for around 30 minutes to explain you all the benefits you get from the sales presentation. I think we were too polite so they kept talking....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent Washington

February Vacation

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: The grounds, pool, happy hour is great. The rooms and bathrooms are big.
Cons: They need a better ventilation system because it was really musty smelling.
Location: There are a lot of shops nearby and places to eat. It is a five minute drive into Lahaina.
The grounds and pool are really pretty and it is always possible to find a lounge chair to use by the pool if that is what you want. The beach isn't very big and it is hard to get out in the water because of the rocks, but you can walk toward Lahaina and find better beaches easily within walking distance and a couple minutes down the beach. Plus you can link up with the beach walk that goes for miles toward Lahaina. Our room wasn't great because it smelled musty. They changed our air conditioning filter which was better, but it still smelled musty and the rooms are pretty expensive. We have stayed here four times and this is the first time we had this, however it had been four years since we stayed. I was told the upper floors are being remodeled and we were on floor three. So I would recommend an upper floor. Also, the concierge staff is very aggressive about you hearing the ownership talk about buying into Time-share. We had heard the talk twice before and didn't want to hear it again. They do give good deals on outings if you don't mind giving up two hours of your vacation. They called our room every day and one morning at 8:38 and we had been out late the night before. I thought it must be one of our kids calling about an emergency since it was still pretty early.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Location,location,location. Great spot for windsurfing, kitesurfing. Beautiful pool. Friendly,professional staff. Whale watching from our deck. Breathtakingly beautiful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Excellent Hotel with Helpful Staff

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, beautiful area, lots of activities
Cons: Shower head in our room leaked which made it spray water all over the bathroom. We MacGyver'ed it and did not have any issues.
Location: We went whale watching nearby and spent a lot of time in downtown Lahaina.
My new wife and I came here for our honeymoon. We had a good experience. The staff was friendly and the room was gorgeous. There was a partial view of the ocean and we enjoyed several mornings on the balcony. The hotel had free valet which was a plus. Parking is fairly far away from the rooms. The rooms are very spacey and the beds were comfortable. The only downside to me was that it is a timeshare style hotel which means they tend to be a little pushy toward timeshare buying. As long as you feel comfortable with saying no (or maybe saying yes), the hotel is absolutely excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
Over priced for what was offered. I wouldn't go back. Average age being 60 at the resort.