Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not what I expected at all

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: The 'special' dinner. She charged us full price but no salad and salmon as described in the menu.
Cons: A lot.
Location: Nothing.
I just can't believe this is MARRIOTT. I used to stay in resorts in Cancun. I thought all resorts are fancy and comfortable - but not this one! I'd rather stay in Airbnb next time. Super late check-in time - 4pm, but luckily they got the room ready even when arrived 2 hours earlier. Super early check-out time - 10am. So basically you can only stay 18 hours when you paid for 'one day'. The location is just ok. You can see this kind of beach all over Maui so nothing very impressive. Staff - yes very friendly. But we need efficiency more! When you called the doorman for your luggage, you had to wait for 15 minutes but he still left something behind. So another 10 minutes waiting. When we tried use the bath room in the lobby, the cleaning lady broke in and kicked us out "Can you use the other one? I need to clean this one, but that one can be used. It's cleaned." Ok we got our stuff and went to the other one, but there's some toilet paper in the toilet which we couldn't flush down. This is 'cleaned?' Facilities - Honestly? The dryer was burned in the first 3 seconds after I started it for unknown reason. So they replaced an older one (yes 15 minutes waiting) which tangled my hair in the motor. Room Cleanliness - The toilet was leaking, not seriously so we didn't ask to fix it (yes don't wanna wait anymore). Food and drinks - nothing is included in the prepaid fee which is different from the resorts I stayed before. No fancy food place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great pool but limited dining

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Great pool with fun for adults and kids
Cons: Need more variety in food offerings
Location: Lahaina harbor shopping, Ka'anapali golf course
The Marriott Ocean Club is a medium sized hotel in the larger Ka'anapali resort area (also includes Hyatt, Westin, Ka'anapali Golf Course, etc). The hotel used to be primarily a timeshare facility so some of the rooms have kitchens. Ours had a separate living room with fridge and kitchen sink (no stove but there are shared stove facilities across the hallway). The room was great and plenty big for the 3 of us. The main pool is awesome with lots of area and well landscaped so it's not just a big open circle. There are also 2 smaller pools on either side of the hotel. The biggest problem with the Marriott is dining choices. There's one cafe near the pool that has lunch and rotating dinner selections and the pool bars will serve food from that cafe. There's another restaurant onsite but it's not affiliated with the Marriott and you can't charge anything to your room there. My advice is to get a car so you can eat outside the hotel. The selection at the cafe is very small outside of the one dinner special they offer each day. You can walk up the beach to a small mall (Whalers Village) that has some other choices.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale AZ

Construction zone and amenities closed

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The location on Kaanapali is good.
Cons: Construction zone and facility closures.
I knew there was going to be updates being made to the hotel, but didn't expect the main pool to be closed and for construction in our building to be going on from 6:00 a.m. until after 8:00 p.m. some evenings. If I wasn't on a prepaid visit I would have cancelled on check in and moved to another property. Unfortunately I spent a lot of money to stay in a construction zone with out of commission amenities. I would have expected to pay a 1/4 of what I paid under these circumstances. Very disappointed overall.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Beautiful beach but terrible hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016
You can't beat the location but the hotel had issues. The rooms were extremely dated and smelled like mildew. The hotel management was also completely inflexible about the 10 am checkout time. I had to give a talk the morning of checkout and be at the conference by 6:30 am. I asked for special consideration and the hotel management said no. Epic fail, would never have happened at a Starwood hotel. I will not be coming back, and will be telling my friends not to stay at the Marriott.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort just at the beach

Posted Sep 27, 2016
This is a nice resort with good amenities including grills for barbecuing. However, the main pool was closed for renovations during our entire visit of 10 days. This was such a let down for us!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Not ready for prime time

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Rooms are brand new, updated condos. Lovely rooms. Sucks that we went during construction - noise was annoying and it sucked that the pool was under construction as well. We moved down the road to the Westin and boy what a huge difference. The Westin felt like paradise and the Marriott more like a retirement village. Maybe when renovations are complete, the experience will match. Beach walk is nice - connects to other properties and shopping. Food was delicious. Enjoyed the activity center.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Main pool is under construction.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Should have been warned before booking that the main pool is all torn up. The Lanai tower we stayed in was a dated room- just the bathroom was updated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tenneasee

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Enjoyed our stay, but was disappointed that we were not told about the renovations of the pool area. The main pool was closed as well as the most convenient bar area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from StL MO

Attentive staff, beautiful grounds

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Our family of four (boys 10 & 13) stayed here for spring break and had a great time. The food at the restaurants was delicious--not a bad meal anywhere. The only long line we encountered was at Starbucks in the morning but they were very efficient and it was spring break after all. We played in two of the three pool locations--all lovely. We learned too late that the weekly rental for snorkel gear was cheaper through this hotel than through the nearby online-favorite snorkel store. The waves were rough on this whole line of beach but plenty of kids and adults were still in the water, often boogie boarding. Still, tons of great sand to dig in. The best snorkeling we experienced was right off the beach in front of the hotel (not the touted Black Rock or Napili beaches). Lots of coral so lots of fish. Food options within walking distance are essentially limited to hotels (though every meal was great) and they come with the tourist-resort priced tag. However, the outdoor mall called Whalers Village down the beach has four modestly priced and tasty options in their food court plus lots of other high and lower end stores.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2015
I ordered an ocean view suite, I got one on the side of the building with a little bit of ocean view from one side of the balcony. I feel cheated. They won't check in until 4pm, but require to check at 10am. Food there are terrible. Cleaning is done at 3pm. That's when I was back. So I had to skip cleaning for all of my stay.