Ratings based on 3,903 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas,Nv

Posted May 26, 2016
Our trip was amazing the room was amazing. The staff was very friendly. My only slight disappointment was the food at the restaurant. But i would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and would stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

On the beach! Great location!

Posted May 25, 2016
Excellent hotel on the beach. Nice relaxed atmosphere with good facilities. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Quiet & Relaxing

Posted May 24, 2016
We were only staying for 1 night here and then going to another hotel, however I would not have minded to stay at this hotel for the remainder of my time in Maui. If I come back to Maui I would stay here again to get the full experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: - good access to a nice beach - plenty of space and pools, never felt crowded - the "convenient store" at the resort had good assortment of groceries, J&J Baby Head-to-Toe!, water diapers, first aid, etc etc...life saver - solid a/c unit in the cottage room Cons: - I felt the service was 3*. House keeping was fine, wasn't that generous replenishing supplies. Front desk got info for me, but wasn't on point. (I was there for a wedding and needed help sometimes to find where things were happening. They couldn't find 1 event for me and showed me to the wrong direction once to the other event. Got there on second try. Another example was I emailed them ahead of time to have a crib in the room when I got there. I confirmed this when I checked in and they had to get someone to bring it to the room on the night of. Plus is was a playpen, not a crib.....and some fat bug about 1/2" long appeared after I set the playpen up. Can't confirm nor deny it came from the playpen so my toddler slept with me.) - I was in the cottage room/suite. There was a bit of mold, and some ants. No mosquitoes though! - expensive shared airport shuttle that stops at 9pm. Info I could have used when the hotel emailed me about this mode of transport when I asked. my flight came in after 9pm and I was caught off guard and had to maneuver around my predicament after my 10+ hr flight.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from simsbury cr

Great place to stay 5/5 , very happy . I'd go back

Posted May 22, 2016
We asked for a king size bed in a cottage. They offered us an upgrade in the tower ( I don't want to be in an elevator on vacation so We got A newly renovated cottage with nice large shower fridge double sinks safe 2 double beds. The beach was gorgeous 3 miles of white sand close to jumping rock and snorkeling. We stayed 4 night but we were out every night except one and we enjoyed the live music and hula dancer by the pool/ restaurant. I didn't like that we had to get out of the hot tub at sunset but they offered us another to go to by the tennis courts. We are adventurous people out on excursions every day but this hotel made you want to stay and relax which we did for one day. Everything was great although I would have liked at least a queen bed, In hindsight I should I have used the other double bed but it was our 25 Th wedding anniversary . I give them 5/5 and was a little worried about some negative reviews . Parking was always far away but we didn't want valet as people said you have to wait too long for that. We went in May so the island was not busy. I like our own private lanai overlooking the courtyard. We spent our last night in Hana to enjoy the sites there after our road to Hana day which I would highly recommend since the best sites are at the end of the road to Hana but take food or be prepared to pay high prices at the two restaurants open past 7 pm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful resort on Ka'anapali beach

Posted May 21, 2016
Magical resort with friendly staff. If you want to switch off and relax in Maui this place is highly recommended. Don't miss their Luau it is a wonderful experience. Hang loose :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Perfect Honeymoon Vacation

Posted May 21, 2016
Cons: I wish housekeeping kept to a regular schedule. They would show up as early as 8am one day and show up at 2pm the next day to freshen the room.
Upon check in, I asked since we were here in Maui to get married and celebrate our honeymoon, if there was a chance to get a free room upgrade. We paid for an ocean view room, they upgraded us for one night to an ocean front suite at no extra charge! And by golly that room was gorgeous! The attached photos are of the ocean front suite. It had 2 lanais, both of which had amazing ocean views! After the first night when we switched to our normal room, I was wishing we had the suite still. Mind you the views from our standard ocean view room were beautiful, I just miss the large bathroom. I also cannot not say how nice and accommodating the staff were. I was supposed to have my wedding out on a beach up in Kapalua (Ironwoods beach) but the morning of the wedding it started raining. Unfortunately, it wasn't one of those passing showers and instead of panicking I contacted one of the event coordinators at the hotel and quickly coordinated my morning wedding to be held on the property on a covered lanai. The hotel is right there on the beach and it's never crowded! It's like having your own private beach! I love this place and would happily recommend it to all of my friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly Staff

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: The staff were friendly and very helpful. The location is on a beautiful beach. Loved the big bathroom.
Cons: Parking is tight.
From the moment I entered the resort to the checkout, the staff made me feel at home. They were friendly and very helpful. The location is on a beautiful beach. Self parking costs $10/day and available spaces are tight and not too plentiful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Small. not too touristy hotel

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: The people and the food at the bar.
Cons: Keep the bar open until midnight. People are on vacation and want to relax without a curfew.
Location: The hotel has a free shuttle to Whalers Village w/restaurants and shops. There is also a shuttle to go into downtown Lahaina but it never showed up.
Spent 4 days here after being on Oahu for 9 days. Was just looking to relax by the pool. The pools are very small but refreshing for a quick swim in the heat. Lounge chairs are on the lawn, but the view is nice. The best thing about this hotel has to be the staff at the bar. They are the nicest, hardest working people I have ever met. They make it so much fun to have some cocktails, a quick appetizer or even dinner. The only downfall is it closes at 10!!!!!! The food is very good, but everything in Hawaii is expensive. $50 for two people for breakfast is a lot. There is a great coffee shop on the premises that sells all kinds of beverages, snacks, sandwiches, salads, fruit and ice cream. Breakfast sandwich was very good. If you don't want a large crazy touristy hotel, this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First time

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Can't think of a thing
Location: Beach walk, snorkeling near black rock, shuttles to town.
First time to Maui in 45 years (first time ever for husband). We were 100% pleased with all things Royal Lahaina. Looking forward to returning next year, or before.