Ratings based on 4,293 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for walking, excellent beach

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Had a great stay! Nice place, could use some updates but room was clean and the view was amazing. Lovely beach. Near enough to walk to the Sheraton side of Black Rock and Whaler's Village but less busy. Staff were great. We would stay here again for sure!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from milwaukee

Nice hotel but...

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Waitstaff in restaurant, beach location
Cons: Return to old fashioned customer service and respect for others
Location: Good location, lots to do in area. Recommend whale watching and ziplining
When you do not book through the hotel, they treat you differently from start to finish. Second time we stayed here, first time much much better. Hotel is most defenitely on the downslide. Observed younger staff members very disrespectful to some. did not receive room booked through Expedia, got lousy excuse on arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach with good snorkeling close

Posted Feb 17, 2017
We loved our partial ocean view room from the tower. Perfect hotel fir adults. Kids will like it too, but nothing special about the pool compared to other Kaanapali hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Lanai looking out to the pool and beach

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Had an oceanfront cottage with a lanai which looked over the resort grounds and ocean. Had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Great place with a reasonable room rate. nice grounds and beach views and access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Good Hotel great beach

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Great restaurant with a good menu along with a daily special catch of the day, I had the swordfish it was Great. Also great ocean view.
Cons: You have to pay for parking an the areas closer to the Hotel were Blocked off.
This was our first extended stay on Maui an the Royal Lahaina was a good Hotel. We got with the local Expedia , Julie, and booked some excursions. The first was the Road to hana it was a lot of fun an I am glad I decided to let them drive I saw a lot more. It took all day but was well worth it Walter our drive was a local an added a lot of great stories an flare to the trip. The next day we to a Helicopter flight over the Island we saw whales , old lava flow, and sight you cannot see otherwise. Also breath taking views of several waterfalls .We also went Whale watching and it was fun saw whales an it was interesting loading onto our boat directly from the Beach at Whalers Village. Also go to the older area of Lahaina park an walk along the sea view area a lot of great shops an eating establishments. Great pizza at Prison St Pizza, you will have to see why it is named this. The walk along this older area has a lot of history an a park with a great big Banyon Tree.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Beautiful resort!

Posted Feb 10, 2017
This hotel was absolutely wonderful! Our room had a great view of the ocean and we really enjoyed the lanai. The staff was super helpful and accommodating - they let us check in when we arrived early and they also let us use a shower room after we had already checked out. The grounds were very beautiful and had great access to the beach. We also went to their luau that was very well done - great food and dancing! We had a wonderful stay here, highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family hotel with a beautiful beachfront

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Family and internet search
Cons: The room was sparsely furnished. There was only one chair and no desk. Since there was little surface space items accumulated around the TV.
Location: The hotel is in a hotel/timeshare development. Golf, shopping and tennis are the only nearby activities.
We stayed 7 days. The hotel is in an upscale hotel and timeshare development. Public transportation is available to the local malls and closest town (Lahaina) but you will need to rent a car or pay for a tour to enjoy the natural beauty of the island. The hotel grounds are well maintained. We enjoyed the paved path along the shoreline linking the hotels and time share properties. The hotel has a narrow beach but a wider sunning beach is on the adjacent property. There were high curling waves during our visit so ocean swimming was not for the faint of heart. Winter is a great time for whale watching.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Beach was very clean and quiet and has a nice beach bar close to the water for great views.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fair Oaks CA

Old classic hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2017
The first 24 hours of check in very frustrating. No hand towels or ice bucket in room. Toilet not anchored to floor and safe not working. Took at least 2 trips to the front desk and at least 6 phone calls to get all problems resolved. Every day room was not cleaned until 4 in the afternoon, after I again had to call the front desk. Had to ask for refills of bath amenities. The bellhops were great.