Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Luxury and relaxation

Posted Jun 11, 2017
We chose Mauritius and Sands Suites to celebrate a special occasion. As it was our first time there we hoped that our research would pay off and the holiday would be all that we imagined. In fact, the resort exceeded our expectations and it was quite simply the holiday of a lifetime. The resort itself is set in a fantastic beach location with views of the mountains. The infinity pool and lounging area is very relaxing and great for idling the days away in the sun. The Rainbow bar serves delicious lunches and fabulous cocktails. The restaurant buffet (both breakfast and dinner) is exceptional in its quality (and quantity too if you wanted seconds and thirds!). Last, but by no means least, I have to mention the staff at Sands Suites. Everyone there was dedicated, polite and always happy to help. Above all it was the staff who made our holiday so perfect. A special mention to Selven who always went out of his way to ensure we had the best possible time. I cannot recommend Sands Suites highly enough and we hope one day to return.
4 out of 5
by Anita

Delightful 4 start hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable, large room with large bathroom and decent balcony. Beach towels, bathrobes and slippers provided. Daily cleaning and turndown service at time slots you choose. The food was good, although I would probably have got bored of it on a longer stay as they have loosely themed which seem to repeat during the second week. The main restaurant is buffet style for breakfast and evening meal, and there is a good selection. There is also an a-la-carte restaurant if you fancy sitting down and being served, and the quality and presentation there was a lovely surprise. The staff were always very keen to please – my only criticism being they were not that helpful when we wanted to arrange a tour of the South, so we ended up arranging it ourselves. Good wifi available throughout the hotel. 2 tennis courts opposite the front gates which you can book. Rackets and balls available, but take your own if you are a serious player. We would recommend the Sands to people of all ages who want a pleasant, relaxing holiday. There were couples of all ages there. There were a few babies or very young kids, but not many. There are security guards on the beach, so you feel very safe, and the view is stunning. We had a couple of breath-taking sun sets and saw some beautiful birds and bats. But possibly my favourites were the frogs who live near the pond at reception and who liked to accompany the various bands that played each evening.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Memorable stay at Sands!

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
I really enjoyed our stay at Sands! We loved the snorkeling and the beach area. Mary was brilliant from Reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2016
It was an excellent stay! Would definitely be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Perfect for a quiet, relaxing holiday

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Ebookers
This was our second stay at the Sands and we loved it just as much as our first, five years ago. In terms of facilities there are better hotels in Mauritius, particularly if you have children with you, but what sets the Sands head and shoulders above any other hotel I've ever visited is its team of staff who are utterly superb. If you want to go somewhere you cam completely switch off, relax and unwind, this is the place to do it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very nice hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: The restaurant and the quality of the food. Very attentive service from the staff. We enjoyed the quiet peaceful atmosphere of the hotel.
Location: Located at the end of the beach strip, it is slightly isolated which is perfect if you are like us and want peace and quiet. You can rent a bike.
Enjoyed very much that upon receiving my booking, I was assigned a guest relation agent who was available to help with any problems. I very much enjoyed that the check in was done in our room and enjoyed the sparkling wine. The food at the restaurant was superb. The entertainment was elegant... not too loud like in some other establishments in Mauritius. The welcoming gifts were very tasteful. We enjoyed the refined touch of an evening aperitif that was delivered to our room each evening. The stay was sprinkled with a variety of little complimentary touches that defined the establishment. The one little problem was ironed out thanks to the intervention of Melissa my guest relation agent.It is the perfect place for rest & relaxation in a classy environment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by Patrick, Hotel Management
Dear Mr./s G, Thank you for your highly motivating comments and also for selecting Sands Suites Resort & Spa for your stay in Mauritius. We are happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay among us particularly the quality of the food , the peaceful yet friendly atmosphere and the little complimentary touches offered. We hope that these sweet moments will stay for long in your memories and our staff will be delighted to welcome you back to Sands in the future. Kind regards, Patrick, Resort Manager
4 out of 5
by Aumesh from Mauritius

Short but sweet memorable stay ...

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great food. Great service. Great people. Memorable experience. Felt at home. Peaceful stay. Staff willing to go extra mile to help and advise (Jean Marie @ gym, Eric at resto). Will definitely go again.
3 out of 5
by Caroline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gerard from Dublin

Great but...

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful location, excellent hotel, good staff. The premises is modern and the location is very beautiful. But the quality of food included full board is disappointing - canteen quality. Drinks pricing silly expensive including €3 for bottle of water with meals.