Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very nice hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: The restaurant and the quality of the food. Very attentive service from the staff. We enjoyed the quiet peaceful atmosphere of the hotel.
Location: Located at the end of the beach strip, it is slightly isolated which is perfect if you are like us and want peace and quiet. You can rent a bike.
Enjoyed very much that upon receiving my booking, I was assigned a guest relation agent who was available to help with any problems. I very much enjoyed that the check in was done in our room and enjoyed the sparkling wine. The food at the restaurant was superb. The entertainment was elegant... not too loud like in some other establishments in Mauritius. The welcoming gifts were very tasteful. We enjoyed the refined touch of an evening aperitif that was delivered to our room each evening. The stay was sprinkled with a variety of little complimentary touches that defined the establishment. The one little problem was ironed out thanks to the intervention of Melissa my guest relation agent.It is the perfect place for rest & relaxation in a classy environment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Delhi, India

Great Experience Overall

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Great Location by the beach.
Cons: Would appreciate if the hotel offers at least a complimentary bottle of water per table during buffet dinner.
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and were pleased with overall quality. The upkeep of the hotel, rooms is good and the room size was very good. Though all rooms are sea view, but in a few rooms, the view is partial blocked by the palm trees. The buffet was a choice of different menu on all days(06 Nights).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small quiet hotel. Good general facilities.

Posted Jun 14, 2016
All in all a very good professional hotel. A little on the expensive side for snacks and drinks but this is an island wide resort hotel issue as opposed to this hotel alone. Perhaps they could start a trend and offer an inclusive drinks package. The beach is very shallow (thigh deep) for most of the day and there are a lot of spiky sea urchins, and lots of broken coral around. The spa (sauna, steam & not very warm hot tub) is small with only room for six users at once but it was never too busy. The resort is quite far from the main resort and nearest shops but there was not a lot to see there anyway. A taxi to the shops and back is 500MuR. The evening entertainment is mostly live bands who usually play sleep inducing tunes between 8pm and 9.30 then slightly more upbeat tunes until 10/1030. We generally never made it to 9.30, instead retiring to our room to watch a movie instead. All in all though a pleasant hotel with nice large suites.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A recommander sans hésiter

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel très beau. Une arrivée un peu lente car nous avons demandé à changer de chambre et il a fallu attendre 6h. Mais malgré ce petit désagrément le buffet matin et soir avec beaucoup de choix et très bon avec le personnel au service et aux cuisines particulièrement gentils. La chambre est très grande et bien agencée seul la climatisation est vraiment bruyante. Le personnel est très gentil, de nombreuses propositions nautiques sont proposées et toujours avec le sourire. Vraiment à recommander. Merci pour ce bon séjour.
5 out of 5
by GM44

Superbe hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Ebookers
Hotel parfait pour un séjour en couple : Structure de taille moyenne. Calme et intime.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from paris

Un hotel superbe toutes les chambres vue mer

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Un accueil tres sympathique et efficace, une piscine a debordement donnant sur la plage avec vue splendide sur le Morne... Des buffets varies et fins, un orchestre de qualite tous les soirs...tout pour un sejour reposant et luxueux mais sympathique
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2016 by Patrick, Hotel Management
Bonjour M. Carine, Toute l'équipe du Sands se joint a moi pour vous remercier de nous avoir fait confiance en séjournant parmi nous. Nous sommes heureux de constater que vous avez appréciée vos vacances au Sands Suites Resort & Spa. Nous espérons avoir le privilège d'être de nouveau a votre service dans un proche futur. Très Cordialement, Patrick
4 out of 5
by Eli Karine from Oslo

Fint hotell

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
Tilbrakte seks netter på Sands påsken 2016. Hotellets fasiliteter var meget bra, renslig og romslig. Betjeningen var flotte; både serviceinnstilte og lite påtrengende. Frokosten var fantastisk og middagen (buffet) var helt grei. Jeg har kun tre negative/forbedringspunkter: wi-fi'en på rommet var meget treg, sengen var for hard og det var ikke mulig å bade på stranden på grunn av alle korallene (med mindre man kjøper badesko) og grumsete vann. Dette er derfor ikke hotellet for de som ønsker å bade i sjøen, da er Grande Baie-området bedre egnet. Men alt i alt kan hotellet absolutt anbefales, og jeg drar gjerne tilbake dit!
5 out of 5
by Sarah from Washington, DC

Paradise perfection

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
I loved this hotel. The view was amazing, the beach lovely, the food tasty, and my room was enormous. The wifi was good enough to stream Netflx and Skype home. My only quibble was the insanely expensive lunch at the resort, which I avoided after the first $18 sandwich.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cobham, Surrey, England

Beautiful setting for a luxury hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, facilities, newly decorated rooms, good food, free activities/ equipment provided by the hotel i.e. snorkelling equipment use, etc
Cons: Nothing about the hotel, but prices for food and drink are quite high.
Location: End hotel on the road. Flic n Flac village about 15 mins walk, or short taxi ride from hotel. Lots of restaurants, bars in Flic n Flac.
Excellent hotel. Staff always smiling and very friendly. Hotel facilities are excellent and the beach and the views are amazing. Good choice of food in hotel, although lunch menu could have more items. Prices in the bar are very expensive, so guests do not stay in bar after dinner, so bar is quite empty. Entertainment was good with varied selection of music, etc. Hotel is the last hotel on the road, so the beach is quiet and private. There are plenty of places to go and eat around the hotel, but they are about 15 minutes walking distance. Taxis are readily available outside hotel, so is a local bus stop, an experience you should not miss - using the local buses...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel on the west coast!!

Posted Mar 22, 2016
We found all the staff super friendly, which made our stay even more pleasant. Big thank you to the chef, Ashok, and manager, Vinay, for making sure we were really looked after as vegetarians on the food front! We had gone half board, and found that worked really well for the days we were out and about (i.e. flexible for lunch). The rooms are large, spacious and clean. Definitely 4 star comfort, probably not 5 star overall. The pool is 5 star as are the sunsets and the views... we had a great 5 days. Thank you Sands Suites!!!