Ratings based on 1,066 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly located on the Ocean Drive strip!

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Great stay and proximity to restaurants, clubs, shopping, and the beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SW Florida

Nice Hotel across from park

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: The will keep your luggage prior to check in if your room is not ready yet so you can go to the bar or the beach and not have to drag it along!
Cons: The staff works so hard and do such a great job - I'm sure they don't get paid enough! Just sayin....
Location: Beach, clubs, restaurants, foodies, people watching is the BEST!
The Breakwater staff was very friendly and accommodating. They have valet parking which in South Beach is a huge plus! The hotel had a small pool on the second floor that was different and a nice change from the norm. Being located across from Lummus Park is a MUST for my husband and myself when we stay in SB; this hotel was able to meet that requirement, and the room we stayed in on the third floor overlooked the park so that was a huge bonus! The room was clean and comfortable and the only real complaint would be the drink (alcoholic) prices; however, that is everywhere nowadays in SB. Overall, a great stay and I would say that the Breakwater would definitely rival the Avalon or the Beacon which are our usual MUST stay locations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Penthouse upgrade

Posted Aug 24, 2017
I called a few days before my arrival date to advise the staff it was my birthday and to please ensure I had a nice room. I selected an above standard room during my online reservation. When my husband and I arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find we were given a penthouse! Score! It was a lovely room. The rooftop outside lounge area however.. left a bit to be desired.. The what would have been a fun and a good time jacuzzi was out of order and old milkshake cups from I assume the previous guests were left outside. We did not have the best view but it was not a deal breaker. If I had to stay here again, I certainly would. The free bike access was a nice touch. We rode 6 miles round trip on the best bike path directly across the street from the hotel. The staff were super friendly and polite.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kansas city

Long walk to room.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Evidentially there have two areas. Ours was ocean front but we had to walk with luggage out the side door down stairs over a dance floor in front of the band thr another bar thru an ice cream stir then up the elevator. Carpet in the halls were stained terrisbly. Staying at the Tides again next time. Oh when you get there they will charge an additional 23$ for the band pool and amenities. Breakfast was minimal. No fruit.
5 out of 5
by Lynn C Perez

Perfect location on South Beach for fun

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel offers it all! Great location, views, music and food. Free bike rentals and beach towels was a bonus.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Unable to sleep due to excessive noise!

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Cons: Sound proofing!
Huge warning! Do not book this hotel if you plan on sleeping at all! There is an outdoor club next door that blasts music until 5 am every night. The hotel did not do anything to switch rooms or warn us of the noise. We also reached out to them to complain and have not heard a peep back in a week. BUYER BEWARE!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Ok Hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Across the beach, clean and has good amenities
Cons: Staff service & Food quality
Location: All beach related things, bars, food, shopping, everything is nearby...
Over all the hotel is great. The only thing that can be better is the staff service. They are slow and have zero attention to details
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New york

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Horrible and dirty. Horrible and dirty. Please don't go here! Bf was the same thing every single day and cold! Old dingy hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Excellent enviroment.Excellent food. Just the right spot
3 out of 5
by Gordon

South Beach vacation or hip hop video?

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Noisy well past midnight - had trouble sleeping the first night. But the staff was extremely accommodating in switching our room and giving us a more quiet room which worked out well. Pablo, the hotel manager, went out of his way to make sure we had a more comfortable room and stay moving forward. Was very impressed with Pablo's service. Too much hip hop and street rap DJ's & clubs in the area. Not enough salsa, dancing, Euro pop/rock music & atmosphere. South Beach has become too "thuggy". Many drug dealers and loitering in the area. Ocean Drive from 5th St to 16th St has turned into one big rap video - will certainly turn off those vacationing from other parts of the country as well as vacationers from other countries.