Ratings based on 1,541 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Key card entry can be improved, they could get an ice machine, they could stock more towels
Location: There is a lot to do nearby, but other hotels offer just as good of a location and would probably be better.
When I booked this hotel, I loved the location and it looked great on expedia. It's right in the middle of South Beach, it's only a block from the beach, and judging by the photos, the hotel looked great. When we got to the hotel, we were told that there was a parking garage a couple blocks away from the hotel and that the hotel valet service was $40/day. The rooms were very, very small. The A/C in the room never cooled the room below seventy degrees. Key cards to enter the rooms never worked. The hotel does not have an ice machine and they send you across the street to their partner hotel to get ice. They often do not have beach towels; they send you across the street for beach towels as well. The maid service is lagging and twice during my week stay I had to request bath towels. You guessed it - they sent us across the street for them. Overall, I regretted paying to stay in a hotel that was so small and lacked amenities that should come standard. This was disappointing since the location of the hotel is great, but for the price I wish I had just payed more money to stay at a nicer hotel, where parking would have been free, and I wouldn't have to run across the street to another hotel for everything I needed. I emailed the manager, who was never present at the hotel, however she never responded. Overall, I would never recommend that anyone stay here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville

I will never stay at this hotel again!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: The staff was nice, but then again they were not top notch! They did not empty my fridge and did not spray the room for the bad odor.
Cons: Everything needs to be improved... They should have a security personnel at least at nights. Anybody would go in and out of this place
Location: The location was great... very close to the beach and restaurants
The room was terrible and had mold smell. The closet or the night stand did not have any draws to put your t-shirts, socks or underwear. The room key did not work 70% of the time. Sometimes it would take me about 5 minutes to be able to open the door. I stayed 3 days and on my 2nd day I woke up fairly early around 7 am and walked outside. There was a guy sleeping in the lobby and the same guy was still there sleeping even at 3 pm. It seemed like no employees cared about it!! I studied hotel management and worked at hotels for so many years. I can easily say that this hotel was by far the worst hotel I ever stayed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great!

Posted May 24, 2017
Me and boyfriend decided to stay here last minute and it was perfect. Some of the reviews made me nervous but I can assure you they were totally wrong. If you plan on staying somewhere quiet make sure to pick the third floor. First floor is the party floor and the second floor you can hear some noise still. There's also a pool as well you just need to walk to another hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not ver clean

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Not much
Location: Two blocks to the beach, and right in the shopping center
The blanket is soiled, toilet drainage is very slow, the staff not picking up the phone. At 11:30PM, party started in the hotel hall until approx. 2AM. The staff said if it were weekend, it will be even louder!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok stay

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Hotel room was clean. Staff was nice. Room key would not work several times on all days that I stayed there. Great location to visit beach. Wet Willes around the corner. I hate that the water pressure in the shower is so low. But overall it was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alexandria, va

Location over amenities

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Great location but normal amenities. This hotel is in a prime location on Collins and around the corner from fat Tuesdays, mangos, and voodoo. Cons: no pool, fitness facility, or comp breakfast. Also loose hair on linen upon arrival. Cleaning staff must pay close attention.
5 out of 5
by Clover

Great customer service

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
We loved the Shelly. Great location, great bartender for happy hour. The reception staff was eager to help with any issues. Our A/C went out, I went to the desk, they call maintence and they put a new one in, in no time. They take care of you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from TEXAS

Great location and great feel.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Uncramp the rooms.
Location: 1 block from the beach and close to it all.
Rooms were extremely small and very cramped for 3 people to be staying in. Other than that it was ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

It will do.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
If you're looking for a place to just sleep then this may be it. It's location is ideal since it's walking distance to the beach and all the other south beach hot spots (mango's, wet willies, etc) the cleaning staff does a mediocre job. We went out around 11 and came back to the room around 3PM and our room hadn't yet been cleaned. We got a knock around 6PM for housekeeping? The rooms are definitely tiny as well. Not sure how 4 ppl fit into a double bed room in that tight space when it was just two of us and I felt it was like being in a cubicle. I also booked my room for a single bed but when I arrived, I was given a double bed. I approached the front desk about this and I was told to try the next day since there was no availability that night. The next morning I called again and was told that since I booked through Expedia, "my room type wasn't guaranteed" but if I call later in the day after 4PM, they may be able to accommodate me. So, at 4PM I walk over to front desk and they told me that there was nothing they could do. I found this to be rather disappointing since I've booked plenty of rooms through Expedia and never had this experience before. But as I said in the title, if you're simply looking for a place to sleep then this is it. Other than that I wouldn't expect too much else from this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was ok. Nothing too impressive to be honest.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
It was an ok experience nothing too great. There was a free open bar from 7-8 but it felt like we weren't welcomed to it. Over all I give it a 6/10