Ratings based on 932 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Rude staff and gross room

Posted May 21, 2017
The hotel looks really nice at arrival. The lobby was nice and clean. The lobby was the end of the good experience. When we got to our floor, the carpet was disgusting and bleach stained. When we got to our room, it was worse. The bathroom had shampoo/conditioner dispensers on the shower wall that had (unknowingly to me) leaked conditioner into the tub. The tub itself looked dingy so I went to take my 12 month old son into the shower so he wouldn't have to sit in it. We both nearly died getting into the shower. Then the inside shower liner was covered in mold. At check out, they happily charged us $30/day for parking. (FYI, there are lots on either side that charge less than $2/day but we didn't park there because we were unaware of the parking charges as I have never had to pay parking at a hotel). When I asked about the additional charges, the guy at the front desk told me it was written on our valet ticket. I checked the ticket when I got back to my car and there was nothing written on it about charges so I called and spoke to a manager. She was horribly rude. She asked me "well what do you want ME to do about it?!" and told me that "it's Miami and everyone charges for parking so it's just the way it is". Had I known of the charges, I would have gladly paid! She finally agreed to credit a portion of the parking but nothing more and that if I chose to pursue any sort of refund, I'd have to "take it up with Expedia". Awful. I would NEVER stay at a Sonesta hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phil

Very nice and very clean. Great views of the bay.

Posted May 18, 2017
Nice views of the bay. The hotel was very clean and the rooms we also very clean. Front desk staff was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice hotel if coconut grove is your destination

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: There is a bar/coffee shop on a roof with the pool. It is lovely at sunset.
Cons: The roof bar is the only food source in the hotel. So room service is very limited.
For family reasons coconut grove was our destination. It's okay, but not a place I would go to without specific need.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

dissapointing rooms

Posted May 12, 2017
Front of hotel and lobby were nice. Rooms however did not look like the pics. More like rooms with furniture and thermostat from the 60's. Liked the area but if I return I will look to stay somewhere else. Staff was really nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Good hotel close to Cocowalk

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: comfort of the bed and pillows, scenic view from balcony, whirl pool and pool on the roof.
Cons: 4 stains on carpet handled or carpet changed. In one corner of bathroom, possibly not fully clean. Sound proofing. Another room loud & distracting.
Location: Maria & park nearby, movie theater, small shopping area, and on weekends a farmers market close by. Plenty of restaurants.
The hotel is centrally located, a block from Cocowalk. If you want to stay in Coconut Grove, you can't be any more centrally located. It is also 1 1/2 blocks from the marina, 2 blocks from the weekend farmer's market, and plenty of restaurants. The staff at the hotel is exceptional and very helpful. Overall, the hotel was very comfortable. The bed and pillows were really comfy. Scenic view from a balcony. But were about 4 carpet stains in the room. One corner in the bathroom didn't seem completely clean. Also, the sound proofing was horrible. I could hear the bass of a stereo very loudly at night past 1am. The hotel staff said they would send security to get it turned down, but the volume didn't seem to change. In the morning, the stereo was again on with a banging bass. Things were dropped and people were arguing, door slammed and sounds got through. The ice machine in the frig would periodically go on and grind the ice. It attracted attention, but not an overwhelming sound. Aside from that, the exercise room looked in good condition, the pool & whirl pool on the roof inviting with extra towels that didn't run out until later at night. The only other comment was that the amount that I would be charged for incidentals was higher than I expected. There wasn't anything in the minibar/fridge or even travel size shampoo,etc. So a mystery what this charge might entail & were very cautious not to incur this mystery charge.
5 out of 5
by Alisia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Lovely hotel in great neighbourhood

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: location, facilities, including gym and pool
Cons: pool temperature, promote more that hybrid cars get complimentary valet parking; more choice on the afternoon/snack menu
Location: visit parks, shop, great restaurants, there's a movie theatre, close to malls and downtown
We had a great time at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami. Staff were attentive and accommodating. We appreciated the room upgrade for our anniversary trip stay. The meals were delicious and most staff, particularly Edra and Leon, were extremely attentive. The pool temperature was a bit too cold though. We loved the location, ideally located near parks, shops and great restaurants, with quick access to downtown, Miami Beach or to highways. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Deborah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Great location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Close to coconut grove shops and cafes. Hotel restaurant excellent, also good places to eat just 1/2 block away. Staff was very helpful and professional with a quick response time, would recommend this place. The only negative was it had valet parking and wifi was not connected all the time.